We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!”
Review of Athena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We had a ground floor room at the front of the first block as you enter the (small) complex. The apartment was roomy with a spacious kitchen and a separate bedroom. We had three windows plus a roll down shutter on the doors to the terrace - though it was hot we managed without the air conditioning.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay - the beach is a 7-minute walk away and there is a good supermarket about 5 minutes away. Seven or eight minutes of casual strolling and you reach the main square. So ideally placed...

The owner is a lovely lady who is always happy to have a chat. When the resort was plunged into darkness due to a power cut (and it was raining heavily!) she met us at almost midnight as we splashed our way back to the apartment with a torch to make sure we got into the apartment without any mishap.

The front apartments are close to the road so there is a bit of traffic noise but it didn't bother us - some local wine and a glass of raki and we slept like babies!

We've been to the resort three times, every time staying in a different apartment; we'd check out the Athena for our next visit. We were very happy.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Athena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

The hotel was very clean, the accommodation was comfortable, great pool, great view from our balcony looking out over the fields and the sea beyond. Behind (in the 2nd bedroom) we had a view of the mountains. Overall very nice.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom apartment, sea/pool view in the double room and mountains from the twin room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

clean spacious room over looking the pool with a large balcony, 7 nights stay , staff really helpful and friendly and always willing to have a chat , a short walk to village centre/ Beach, plenty of Tavernas close by and a lovely bakery, had to pay 12 euro for safe key but the air con comes with the price of the apartment , would have no hesitation coming back to the Athena hotel

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SussexSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We had another fantastic time at this lovely friendly family owned and run hotel/apartments. Vasilis his brother George and Mama Athena :-) couldn't have been better hosts. They couldn't have done more and were always happy for a chat as well as giving tips for things to see.
We stayed in a maisonette and it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We really like the location as it is just on the edge of the village but just a five minute walk to the square, close to a small supermarket and a fantastic bakery. It is also close to the road that leads out to Lake Kournas as well as close to the road that runs parallel with the beach the runs East of the village.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay which contributed to another wonderful holiday on the magical island of Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank goanjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We stayed at this Hotel for 1 week in a studio which was very clean.
There was ample wardrobe space and quite a good kitchen area by Greek standards.
If we required air con this would of been extra at 7 euros a day.
The pool area was very small ok to cool off in but that is all.
The worse thing about this hotel is the National Road runs parallel to it making it very noisy.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Bev123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Georgioupolis hotels
0.5 km away
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
#9 of 47 in Georgioupolis
116 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#24 of 47 in Georgioupolis
100 reviews
0.1 km away
Leonidas Studios & Appartments
Leonidas Studios & Appartments
#25 of 47 in Georgioupolis
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#19 of 47 in Georgioupolis
114 reviews
0.1 km away
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
Kokalas Resort Georgioupoli
#5 of 47 in Georgioupolis
239 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Labyrinth
Hotel Labyrinth
#33 of 47 in Georgioupolis
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Price Range: RM146 - RM452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Athena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Georgioupolis, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing