We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit isolated and need a car”
Review of Karavos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karavos
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Archangelos
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This is quite an isolated hotel and if don't have access to a car be prepared for long walks to main town or beach. It is a smallish family run hotel with very friendly and hospitable staff. Weer had a bit of an issue with our room booking but they came to a very good arrangement that kept me and my group very happy. I guess most people would use this hotel as a base and be out most of the day travelling the island and this seemed to be the case. It was very quiet around the pool of a daytime, which good if you like peace and quiet. The hotel is high up a hill and offers fantastic views of the town below. The room I had was very nice (superior) but my friends not so good and looking a bit dated. Overall for the price location and friendliness of the staff I would recommend this hotel for adults couples but no if have children or no access to a car.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank gelloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

We a week at the end of August in Karavos.. We stayed in a basic apartment (not renovated) which was, freshly decorated and immaculately clean. Beds made and towels changed every day, loads of hot water, good shower pressure. Comfortable beds, we requested extra pillows and got them straight away. Excellent aircon unit with no extra charge. Basic kitchen area with with fridge and two hot plates which we only used to heat water for drinks (strangely there was no kettle, but we used a large metal jug, did the trick). Cutlery and crockery adequate to prepare breakfast, light lunch, but wouldn't have tried to cook anything else there. No need to though, as the restaurant at Karavos serves excellent, reasonably priced traditional Greek food. Breakfast (all you can eat buffet style) was basic but very fresh and tasty, i.e. bread, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, toms and cucumber, jam and marmalade etc.
One and only slight drawback is the location, whilst it is beautifully peaceful, it is essential to have a car to explore the lovely island. No supermarkets or bars closeby, but keen walkers could walk into nearby Archangelos where there are plenty of shops, cafes and a few restaurants. This is not a resort, it is a typically modern Greek town,

The pool area is immaculate and well kept; Poolside shower and plenty of sunbeds and parasols. Small bar by pool serves drinks, cocktails etc Staff all friendly, they just make sure you have everything you need and let you get on with your holiday in peace. Ample car parking at the apartments.
We hired a care and visited a lot of the island. Stegna resort (10 minute drive) is charming, typically Greek, smallish and peaceful with a well laid out beach and very clear water.. Tsampika beach is a 15 minute drive away, lovely clean beach for full day out with beach tavernas/restaurants, watersports for hire, plenty of sunbeds and parasols (£10 euro per day for 2). We visited Lindos and Rhodes old town, definitely places not to miss! Even went into Faliraki one night, just for the experience, not as bad as I thought it would be, but overpriced and lots of shops selling 'fakes'.
Overall, there a still many places I would like to see on Rhodes and would definitely stay at these delightful apartments again without hesitation. They provide easy car access to the whole of Rhodes, are tranquil and an ideal place to relax frayed nerves and recharge the batteries!

Room Tip: The updated rooms looked very nice indeed, modern and bright. Original rooms are bright, airy and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughesie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed with my girlfriend for a week in august. Fantastic location close to some nice beaches and with a breathtaking view. Excellent service and comfortable room for amazing prices. Wonderful people, atmosphere and food in the restaurant. Very helpful with information and advice for the perfect holiday! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JonoJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

A Little Greek Taverna in the middle of nowhere, in the middle of the sea. We found this place by accident and were surprised by its warmness. We spent whole day sitting in there, by eating, drinking, watching.
There is a little beach with blue water. Perfect place for kids.
Priced are very reasonable, food is tasty considering the location of this taverna!
Would come back again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank sorrrokina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Amazing location above Archangelos makes this one of the best hotels we've stakes in. It's quiet and secluded but with plenty of life, because it attracts an international range of families it feels exclusive. Great pool, well stocked bar and fantastic food. It's family run too which makes it family friendly. Spotless and rooms cleaned with fresh towels every day.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room if you can for the stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Archangelos hotels
3.1 km away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#1 of 12 in Archangelos
113 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Dimitra Sun
Hotel Dimitra Sun
#3 of 8 in Archangelos
16 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Rosmari
Hotel Rosmari
#6 of 7 in Archangelos
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Antouan Matina
Antouan Matina
#8 of 12 in Archangelos
9 reviews
3.3 km away
Anastasia Studios
Anastasia Studios
#11 of 12 in Archangelos
28 reviews
3.3 km away
Mediterraneo
Mediterraneo
#3 of 12 in Archangelos
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karavos

Address: Archangelos 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Archangelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Archangelos
Hotel Class:2 star — Karavos 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Karavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing