We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”
Review of Orchid Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Tree
Ranked #3 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This is such a beautiful place with an wonderful host! We enjoyed spending time in the outdoor living area and by the pool. Brad made sure we had everything we wanted for breakfast! He made the beginning of our trip great by spending his time helping us with everything from directions, recommendations for restaurants, exchanging money and even dealing with cell phones. The gardens are full of flowers and fruit trees. Such a lovely and relaxing place!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bcspaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful place. Fruit trees everywhere and beautiful outdoor space swimming pool is beautiful. And the owner Brad is just a rare gem. Worth the stay coming from the airport on your way into the country. Only 25 minutes from the airport in San Jose.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Funyfyrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I would highly recommend Orchid Tree, in fact....it was such a great experience that I will most certainly be back. A true outdoor rainforest experience with all of the comforts of indoor private suites. The owner, Brad, is a wonderful host... willing to help teach you about the Costa Rica traditions. Comfortable and very Zen-like retreat is how I would describe this Bed and Breakfast. Breathtaking landscaping with a pool and outdoor gathering area.

Room Tip: Each room was unique with great decor and no noise. Any of the rooms would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We usually either start or end our CR trip at Orchid Tree due to proximity to airport and the finest hosts Brad and Pat. Once again did not disappoint. Thank you Brad for graciously holding down the fort and just the best breakfast ever. Wonderful comfy beds and relaxing living area to wind down the day. All our best and we'll be back.
The Smiths

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank QdP1E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Brad was an excellent host, accommodating our family an extra day when illness struck, giving us great local recommendations, and feeding us fantastic breakfasts. We stayed very comfortably in the family suite, and enjoyed the gardens and a dip in the pool on a hot day. Recommendations for things to see in the area: El Toledo Coffee Tour and Museo Ferroviario.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank sook588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
5.2 km away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
81 reviews
9.2 km away
The Retreat Costa Rica
29.2 km away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
11.4 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
13.2 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree

Address: Calle Oratorio, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range: RM290 - RM552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and intimate bed and breakfast inn, just 20 minutes from the main airport in Costa Rica (SJO) and only 45 minutes from the Pacific coast. We are ideally located in the valley of Rio Grande, Atenas – the perfect base for exploring lush rainforest, enchanting cloud forest, raging rivers, cascading waterfalls, bubbling volcanoes, artisan villages and coffee plantations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orchid Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing