We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting friends in Atenas”
Review of Poco Cielo Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atenas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poco Cielo Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had a great time. It is in a convenient, easy to get to location and the view is great.
The pool and grounds are beautiful and well kept...the room was clean and spacious and the bed were wonderful!! Hand made by the owner with great mattresses. We wished that there had been a breakfast or at least coffee provided at the rancho. We had a coffee maker in the room but no filters so we went into town to get coffee and filters and milk etc. There is a refrigerator in the cabin as well as a microwave (cabin 3) This place is a great value and much lower priced than the fancy San Jose hotels like the Marriott so we didn't mind buying our own coffee and food. The managers were friendly and helpful. I had no problem with the internet connection (sometimes it goes down temporarily during heavy rainstorms but only for a few minutes and not an issue) I did miss having a TV connection with english channels because I am a typical US citizen that loves hearing the news every morning. When you are in Costa Rica it is about nature, not technology, but it still would have been a nice addition. From what I understand, the cable TV is being added soon.

Room Tip: Some cabins have kitchens and some only a microwave for cooking. The rancho has all cooking needs av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We found Poco Cielo on the internet when we were looking for a hotel near San Jose. We lived in Tamarindo for 7 months and had to drive 5 hours to the airport in San Jose. (much cheaper flight) We had stayed in a few "American chain hotels", but wanted to find something better. We were so pleased with Poco Cielo - what a beautiful, relaxing place! We picked our daughter up at the airport, drove the 45 minutes to the hotel, and then relaxed in the infinity edge pool with a beautiful view of the Poas Volcano. Bruce, the manager, told us about a great little restaurant in town for dinner. The four of us stayed in a bungalow, and with the large porch and the beautiful grounds, we really weren't cramped. The next morning we were served breakfast in our bungalow at the time of our choosing ( okay, not the best breakfast I've ever had, but you can't beat the convenience!) We took a nice little hike down to a creek on the property, and then packed up to head on to Arenal.
We stayed there another time, but then we tried to stay again in December and they were full. It's not really a resort, but a wonderful place to stay, for a price that was the best of anywhere we stayed in Costa Rica! We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfsolarcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here as our first stop upon moving to Costa Rica while searching for a rental home. The managers were great. The gardener was very sweet. The setting was just peaceful, quiet and relaxing. Loved, loved, loved the pool - biggest we've seen so far here in CR. The bungalow was nice with two queen beds that were extremely comfortable and the bedding (comforter) was great. Definitely could recommend it to anyone coming in or out of central valley area. We even had bananas delivered to our doors! And we got to use their laundry facilities, too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Hahaha..I have laugh at reviews that complain about things like TV service, especially on trip advisor. We ha No Problem..with this clean place. the giant pool was crystal clear and the adjoining Rancho was unbelieveable it could be a restaurant location if they iwished. we did not have the proper attire or footwear for the trek to the waterfall but you can hear it. We spotted toucans flying around the grounds too. the casita we stayed in was spacious and the bed as perfect for us. Bruce, the manager was friendly, informed, casual and made me feel at home. when we told him we were running out for milk....he brought us some of his and some on-site grown coffee as well....his lady assistant was also super nice....put this resort on your "A List". By the way...the remotes I. The room control the DVD player not the tv....if you are gong to Costa Rica to watch TV...you may want to consider staying home on you couch. costa Rica is all about
The Great Outdoors......NOT the boring indoors. Pura Vida. peace

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasToddness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed the last 3 nights of our trip to Costa Rica in a Cabino at Poco Cielo Resort WHAT?. June 2012 - The Cabin was nice the gardner was nice,the nature was nice--- BUT that was all--- the TV remote would not work so we could not get English stations, we called the person in charge 2 times to check in and she sounded bothered by our call and said she would be there to assist us in a couple of hours-never saw her or anyone but the gardner the whole 3 nights.
No coffee, garbage from the last person still there, had to call the lady again for internet access code ("I got a call from this number" bothered - , no restaurant info or any paper work about the area available. Boot-leg movies by the TV-so we ended up watching our lap-top Youtube movies. Pillows were so very bad like rubber. I would say if you want to bring your bedding, coffee, remote, and scout around the location for food etc, and have to check your bank account and make sure you were charged correctly (no reciept) No person there to give you one-go for it, Not for an out of country stay - maybe local people that vacation. What a shame as the grounds were so nice (only the gardner knows how to do his job) I love Costa Rica and have stayed in great places this one very sad

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jai_Purdy, Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Hello rscaptain and thank you for your comments. Poco Cielo is now under new management as of October and we are trying to do everything we can to follow up on comments and suggestions.

We are deeply sorry for the lack of hospitality during our stay here and hope that you can give us another chance in the future. It would be lovely to have you stop by to check out the changes we are making here the next time you are in Costa Rica. Please check our website for new information regarding the new management team and the email addresses to use in order to contact us personally.

I would like to address some of your complaints and how we are fixing these at the moment.

The TV- All of our tv remotes are now fully functional. We provide a television solely for the purpose of being able to stick a dvd in for a nice cozy night in. We have a small, but expanding, dvd library, free for guest use. We are sorry that we cannot offer cable service at this time. We are currently researching more into this.

On-site manager- I am usually always here to help and answer any questions whenever they may arise. I am here strictly to serve the guests and to make sure they are completely happy and satisfied. The office is open from 7:30 am till 9:30 pm. I take pleasure in being of service and would just like to say that I can personally guarantee all guests with unwavering excellence in hospitality and service.

Coffee- We now provide in all the rooms locally grown, 5th generation, coffee for your enjoyment.

Inn information- There are now binders in all the cabins with a growing amount of information to help you along your stay. Everything you would need to know about Poco Cielo, restaurants, and attractions can be found inside this binder.

Movies- I have done away with all the bootleg movies and have started growing the DVD library.

Pillows and bedding- We now have better quality pillows and bedding for your comfort.

Payment processing- We currently accept PayPal through our website and on-site for all payments. When booking/paying through PayPal they send the customer a receipt to their provided email address. We also have a receipt book here if paying with cash and a receipt is needed.

Once again thank you for your feedback. I hope you give us another chance to redeem our name the next time you stay in Cost Rica.

Best wishes,
Jai Purdy
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atenas hotels
0.8 km away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
80 reviews
4.0 km away
The Retreat Costa Rica
0.7 km away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 7 in Atenas
132 reviews
5.4 km away
Orchid Tree
Orchid Tree
#3 of 7 in Atenas
134 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poco Cielo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poco Cielo Resort

Address: West of the Coope Gas Station on Hwy 3 on the Right 3 KM | next to Futbol 7, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Atenas
Price Range: RM309 - RM350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is set in the mountains of Atenas, overlooking the central valley below. We have 4 private cabins available, two with a kitchen and one queen sized bed, and two cabins with two queen sized beds and small kitchenette. The cabins all have Wi-Fi, 32" LED flat screen TV,DVD player , Cable TV and the rancho has surround sound an iPod dock and once in a while we do a movie on the big screen. All guest have access to the kitchen located in the Rancho pool-side. The "cabinas" are very private and surrounded with tropically manicured gardens and lawns that are frequently visited by toucans and parrots. Sit back and relax in our large Rancho area while you socialize with family, new friends, read a book or listen to your favorite music. There are some wonderful restaurants within walking distance or a short ride to town will provide you with many more restaurants. The grocery store in town is modern with just about everything you will need. Come and stay with us here at Poco Cielo for a little piece of heaven in the beautiful country of Costa Rica. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing