We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
154
64
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
64
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each evening demi pension duck an ideal base tiny village quiet village breakfast room les eyzies big breakfast buffet generations dordogne field terrace
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Our family were staying in a villa near the hotel and visited for dinner on our last night and had a wonderful expereince. Every single dish was lovely and the staff were very attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank edin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We were staying in a lovely gite close to Tamnies and wished to celebrate our wedding anniversary with family.

This is a lovely hotel and the restaurant is a pleasant welcoming place (there are also tables outside if desired). It oozes high class and staff come across as happy and helpful. The food was very high quality, beautifully presented and served.

We could not fault this very pleasant dining experience. It was not cheap but good value for the cost.

Room Tip: We only ate in the restaurant but the hotel appears very good in a quiet tiny village in rural France.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Staying here for 4 days with a groups of friends in old cars. The owner is delightful, the hotel and scenery spectacular. Just back from a gorgeous dinner. It's worth travelling from Yorkshire for this experience. This is our second visit - we will be back!!!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 911sah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We stayed at Laborderie for 2 nights as part of a Headwater holiday. Before we arrived we'd been disappointed to hear that our room had been downgraded but on arrival found our downgraded room to be lovely! It was a good size with a large bathroom, which included a whirlpool bath, separate shower cubicle and twin sinks! There was a fridge in the room with various drinks to purchase, all reasonably priced for a mini bar. The room was clean and bright with a spacious bed. We were booked into the restaurant as part of our holiday. The portion sizes were generous compared to some of the food we'd been receiving on the rest of the holiday, with the added bonus that we weren't restricted on items from the menu as we had been at the other hotels. The portion sizes were more the size of a standard UK pub meal. All the food we had was very delicious. We had the pool all to ourselves and spent a wonderful day relaxing by it on the sun loungers.
Only down sides for us were that as with many French hotels, there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room (and none of those that did provided milk, only cream). This would make a for a greater experience. There was also an error on the bill at checkout. A fellow traveller had kindly offered me a glass of her champagne that she had ordered but on checkout I was billed for 2 glasses of champagne! Also although on the first night we had ordered a bottle of wine for my husband and another Headwater guest had ordered a bottle for himself, only one bottle arrived, which they shared. The other guest ended up with 2 bottles of wine on his bill however! This was due to communication error between the 2 languages though I think rather than any bad service and they removed the extra bottle at checkout from their bill. I think the confusion lay in that we were 2 separate groups at the same table. That said, it was a lovely peaceful spot, with good food and it made a great break in between our walking days.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KarenHamiltonViall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Having returned to this hotel for the umpteenth time, it just, at least, keeps up it's standards, if not surpassing them. Having stayed yet again in the annexe in room 53, our favourite, enjoying the usually quiet end of the hotel, that is not to say that the hotel is usually rowdy, quite the opposite. Fantastic views over a couple of valleys, farmland and the deer park below our room.
The restaurant is still a favourite, excellent menus, well presented and of a very high quality. But be warned, some of the dishes are bordering on a huge scale, Tornedos Rossini falls easily into that category, that said, it is fantastic and an always requested dish. As is the Rhum Baba, again a top notch dessert, especially when it is accompanied with a very decent flask of good rum.
To sum up, this is a very, very good hotel and restaurant and it will not be long before we return again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank le-dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews