We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of W Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Koh Samui
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Obviously the resort is amazing. The rooms, the public areas the restaurants but what was beyond expectations is the people and the service which was remarkable. Above and beyond any normal standard.
We came in with 3 young kids and needed plenty of help during our stay and not only we got everything we asked for but we also got everything gladly and with a smile. from the hostess in the restaurant, to the housekeeper, everyone wanted to help and to go above and beyond to make our stay perfect. And they did.

Room Tip: try asking for a room closer to the ice station where you have water, ice cream and drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WKohSamuiGM, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello Daniel Z,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at W Koh Samui and for highlighting the genuine care and hospitality our service team provides. I am thrilled you and your family had a perfect W escape. The next time you are in our neighborhood please do let us know, our private pool villas and friendly team will be here. Visit anytime.

Best,
Daniel Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

The rooms asr very well equipped , there was not one item that I needed while there. The rooms are large as are the bathrooms ,the beds are super comfortable. I think the best thing is the attitude of the staff. Friendly and efficient.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markgoodear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WKohSamuiGM, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello markgoodear,

Thank you for sharing your experience at W Koh Samui! I am thrilled our rock star team took top notch care of you during your 7 day escape. The next time you’re craving a comfy bed in your private pool villa our friendly team will be here to welcome you back. Visit anytime.

Best,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

First time here with family and even with kids, staff here, K.Nong was super friendly & provide superb service mind to us :) and sure that we will come again!!!

All dessert that we ordered also great taste with free tumyum popcorn. Nice view & great weather even it was a low season :)

Very impress from us, Thai family!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Momo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WKohSamuiGM, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello Momo L,

Thank you for sharing your experience at WOOBAR! I am thrilled K. Nong took fantastic care of you and that you are looking forward to coming again. Our fresh popcorn, fun desserts, and unique view will be here when you’re ready for another round! Visit anytime.

Best,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

October is the off season in Thailand, which means you can get some overcast or rainy days. But the rain never stays long, it's still really warm and it means that the resorts aren't as busy. Which we love! It meant that everyday we were able to get prime position on the sun lounges on the resorts private beach, we had the gym to ourselves most mornings and it was easy to book massages and dinners.

The W really has thought of everything, and it is such a relaxing and luxurious stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the private pool is big enough to swim around and there is a sun bed on the deck (so plenty of space) - you don't really have to leave your room.

There are great toiletries, lots of bottled water and free ice creams that all just add to the luxury of the stay.

We stayed using a Luxury Escapes package, which was great value. For an extra charge we upgraded our massages to 1hr instead of 30mins, which was perfect. We saved the dinner at Namu for our last night, and it was well worth the wait. Delicious and beautifully presented on the plate! The only downside of the Luxury Escapes package is that the dinners at The Kitchen Table have a much more limited menu than other guests have to choose from. So it's worth swapping some of the package dinners for lunch down at The Grill Bar to give you some more variety.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic - with slightly different options each morning. The challenge is not eating donuts for breakfast because they look amazing!

The staff at the resort are incredible and really do their best to make sure you're looked after during your stay. They are even pretty impressive at remembering your favourite things to order when they see you each day. A big thank you Tad and Kampoo down at Sip Bar who looked after us every afternoon, and even organised a special cocktail for us on our wedding anniversary.

For our wedding anniversary we organised an in room seafood BBQ - the team made sure it was a really special occasion. Definitely something we will remember!

It's definitely a lifestyle that's hard to leave behind. We loved it, and we're already on the W website looking at where we could go on our next holiday

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WKohSamuiGM, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hello AW24,

Thank you for taking the time to write W Koh Samui a review. I am thrilled we were able to host you for your wedding anniversary and that you made the most of your escape. X2 Thank you for highlighting Tad and Kampoo at SIP Bar, their charm and hospitality really makes our beach special. In the coming days or weeks if you’re craving another in-room seafood BBQ, morning workouts at bright FIT, or donut temptations at your breakfast buffet we’ll be here. Hoping we can welcome you back soon! Visit anytime.

Best,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful property, the views from the pool and woo bar are both amazing. We stayed in the tropical oasis, and the room was perfect. Plenty of space, very clean, two showers and a huge bathtub. The private pool is also a decent size and the outdoor area is nice and private. I saw a few reviews that complained about the rooms being worn, which is very nit picky and untrue, at least for the room we had. I’m wary of older properties especially where they see a lot of Chinese tourists but this is well kept and very modern. Service was great, they had a special set up in the room for our anniversary which was cute and even had a card signed by various hotel staff! Plenty of events for those who like to be active, paddle boards and kayaks avail by the beach, daily yoga and workouts scheduled and special brunches and bbqs. Shuttles to and from Chaweng Beach were super convenient and can stop off at Fishermans village as well and both are relatively close. Overall an amazing stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank laurenxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WKohSamuiGM, General Manager at W Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello laurenxm,

Thanks for taking the time to write W Koh Samui a review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your tropical oasis and that our service team helped to make your time with us so amazing. Thank you for allowing us to host you for your anniversary! The next time you’re looking for special BBQs, sea kayaking, and inspiring workouts you know where to find us. Visit anytime.

Best,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
10.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
12.4 km away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,445 reviews
8.3 km away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#32 of 185 in Bophut
940 reviews
1.5 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
10.9 km away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Koh Samui

Address: 4/1, Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: RM2,790 - RM6,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Koh Samui Thailand's most pristine beach whose golden sands give way to the Island's most idyllic sunsets, W Retreat Koh Samui is the quintessential escape, with 74 private retreats - each with its own dive pool. Explore new levels of refreshment at AWAY(R) spa, and enjoy insider access to worlds of culinary WOW at our 2 signature restaurants. Then wink your way across Samui's most scenic playground - WOOBAR(R) - where W lights up the night with peerless mixology, live DJs, and signature W Happenings celebrating our passion for fashion, music and design. Whether for a wedding or a wish, Whatever/Whenever(R) has arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat Koh Samui Hotel Mae Nam
W Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing