We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in OK Village”
Review of John's Garden

John's Garden
Ranked #19 of 110 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: John's Garden is a typical restaurant offering Thai and Western food in a warm and friendly place !
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Step into the walled garden of this restaurant & you quickly realise it's a cut above what else is on offer locally.
Friendly staff, excellent food .... the chicken massaman is exceptional, yes it's a little more expensive than it's neighbours but well worth a visit.

Thank Lowsonfordfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsgarden_th, Responsable relations clients at John's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant!

All our staff is looking forward to welcome you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

Perfekt dinning, thai food with love..Go there and enjoy high quality food and cocktails. Sit in the loveley garden and enjoy your stay. Was my 8th visit.

Thank iac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsgarden_th, Responsable relations clients at John's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are really thrilled that you liked our garden and our food!

We thank you as well for your loyalty, it means so much for all our staff!

We are so looking forward to welcome you again for your 9th visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Two weeks into out holiday on Samui, this was the best dinner experience we have had so far. We both had the green curry with shrimp/chicken. This was AMAZING. The deserts were also of high quality.
Service was excellent.

The price (reasonable) was appropriate for the high quality.
Glad we went there.

1  Thank uniquename7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsgarden_th, Responsable relations clients at John's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for your comment, we really appreciate it and we're so thrilled that you enjoyed our garden and your meal!

All our staff thank you as well and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

It's way too expensive for what it offers.
The garden is nice and the food is good.

But you can get a more authentic food just across the street und the small restaurant that looks not so nice, but a real local puts her souls in her food.

Here you pay for the surrounding and the trip advisor rating.

It's more Indian than Thai.

Thank Jens N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsgarden_th, Responsable relations clients at John's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Hello,

We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy our restaurant compare to our neighbour.

We can assure you that our staff put all them souls in our work, and we want to make you have a great time every shift we do. Nevertheless, we are glad if you liked our garden and our food.

About the price, we think we propose fresh and well cooked products and our range of prices isn't overrated. This feeling seems right according to all the reviews of our TripAdvisor account

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

After a half hour taxi ride we arrived at this amazing garden restaurant. The drinks were icy cold on a very warm night which was greatly appreciated and the food was exceptional. Considering we were a large group of 13 the staff were completely unfazed and served us all brilliantly. They also have the best desert menu I have seen so far on the island. Definitely worth finding this little treasure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alisontc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsgarden_th, Responsable relations clients at John's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are so glad that you enjoyed our restaurant and our food!

All our staff thank you as well for your great words!

We are all looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip around here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Garden also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to John's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing