We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing woodland holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Edith R
East Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing woodland holiday home”
Reviewed 23 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019

Just back from a wonderful long weekend with all the family and cannot rate this property highly enough. Fantastic location for lovely woodland and river walks straight from the garden yet a short drive from other local amenities. The house is so well equipped and has loads of space where our family group could spread out so we weren’t in each other’s pockets all the time. The Aga was fab and oh how I loved the massive fridge/freezer!
The outdoor space is wonderful and the trampoline and tree rope swings were a nice surprise for the kids. We spent loads of time outside playing and because the weather was beautiful we used BBQ and chiminea a fair bit too. We will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2019
Great to hear you all enjoyed your stay at Kirkbeag and were blessed with some lovely weather.
Thanks for being such great guests.
Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulAdams...
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great house, great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019

We booked a 5 night break with our family including 4 grandchildren ranging in age from 3 months to 6 years. Its difficult to find suitable accommodation catering for 10 with bedrooms etc that fit everyone's needs. Kirkbeag was perfect, especially for our 6 year old grandson who has just got into football and was very excited to have his own football pitch.
Very comfortable beds , everywhere clean and tidy and very well presented. Large kitchen diner with sofa and TV corner made for a great gathering space and we even mastered cooking on the AGA. Well equipped with plenty ofglasses, plates , cups and utensils and all the other things a good kitchen should have. Living area had plenty of comfortable and versatile seating and very large Smart TV with great selection of DVDs as well which helped keep the grandchildren entertained, if we could get them off the football pitch and back from the play area and trampoline!

The playroom was very popular with the grandchildren, especially the 'bombsite' which was the cubby hole in the playroom which made for great adventures. The room provided a safe play area that the kids could call their own but within easy sight of the adult area, although we all had to visit the 'bombsite' at least once!

Lovely forest walk to rear of house that takes you onto the Speyside Walk. 10 minutes drive from Aviemore, Rothiemurcus Estate and Carngorms. If you are into any outdoor sports your needs are well catered for in this area and Kirkbeag is a perfect 'Hub' to be based in.

Only down side was we didn't see any red Squirrels , despite the owners nice touch of leaving a supply of peanuts and seed to top up the feeding stations.

Throughly recommend Kirkbeag as a house for a family break away, although it would equally be ideal for an all adult group.

Tesco also deliver - a god send as our pre ordered supplies arrived right on time an hour after our arrival!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2019
Thanks very much for your lovely comments and great to hear you all enjoyed your stay at Kirkbeag. My kids miss playing in the bombsite and were delighted to hear it is still getting used!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric1999
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Home”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We found the house thanks to the instructions sent by the owner, and the grandchildren loved the play area which was a great place for them to lo let of steam after a 7hr drive!
The house is amazing, the fixtures and fittings are first class and the location onto the forest is incredible.
Its a short drive into Aviemore where there are bars, shops and places to eat.
There are plenty of places to explore nearby and lots of walks to take in the scenery, if there had been a few sun loungers or easy chairs in the garden for the older ones I think we might have taken up squatters rights and stayed!

The downstairs living space is great, we spent most evenings playing cards around the table. The aga is wonderful, luckily our son has one so the few meals in we had he took over the cooking duties and left me to fill the dishwasher.

Would love to return in the future,

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2018
Thanks for your review and great to hear you enjoyed Kirkbeag. We will hopefully sort out some comfy outdoor seating for your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CateLight
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautifully appointed, spacious home with so many things to see and do in the area”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We just loved every minute of our three night stay here. A warm and welcoming place, furnished to be comfortable for lively families yet still stylish and appealing. We felt secluded as we looked out in to the magnificent birch forest yet we were only a 10 minute drive to Aviemore. The size of the downstairs living area and upstairs bedrooms meant we had some much needed space which is particularly important when travelling with two children. We walked down to the River Spey, explored Loch Insh, Loch Eneilan, the Highland Museum in Kingussie and ate dinner at the fabulous La Taverna. Next time I would invite our English cousins up - there's plenty of room! And there is plenty more to explore!
A review from our 6 year old daughter - "I loved the secret room under the stairs and I loved the playground and the place to kick the ball and I think you will like it too"

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
engrjanl
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic home for adventuring with your family”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My Aunt Jackie booked this place when we found out we forgot 2 nights of our trip. Boy did we luck out that it was available! It is spacious and beautiful. There are trails through the forest behind the house that lead to railroad tracks, streams and country homes in the middle of nowhere, accessed by a one lane road that services vehicles going both ways.

There is a washer and a dryer and the most fabulous kitchen to dine at home. My aunt is a chef, so needless to say, we FEASTED. The stove/oven is on ALL the time. You don't ever shut it off. It warms/cooks/roasts/bakes/sautes/etc. at the drop of a dime because it's always on.

We happened to be in Scotland during the best sunny weather Scotland has ever had (according to ALL the locals). The upstairs was a little warm on the first night. The second night was perfect. We just kept the windows opened so that the air flowed through.

There is wildlife everywhere and Jackie, our host, has deer and bird food stashed so you can put them in the feeders. We didn't stay long enough to do it but I will next time, because next time, I will stay here again!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay at Kirkbeag! And how lucky were you guys with the weather!!
We would be delighted to have you as guests again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.