We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bandara Villas Phuket(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$356
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panwa Boutique Beach Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$303
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
By The Sea(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud19 Panwa(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Panwa Hotel(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$181
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveller rating
827
237
82
30
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
237
82
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillpool villapavilion roomfree laundrypremier sea viewlibrary loungeelectric blindsbuggy servicefree mini barevening cocktailslaundry servicegolf buggymain gatephuket townkids clubour honeymoonrooftop bar
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 1,188 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

We had our own villa and it was gorgeous. Very private, quite and beautiful view.
Although our villa was located on the side of the resort and had a good view of a bay but there was a disappointing view from the main pool. There were many container ships or so in the view all the time.
Villas are very clean and housekeeping services are excellent.
Restaurants at the hotel are good. The food and service is good and didnt disapoint us. Breakfast very good with a lot of choice so plenty for everyone and to try different things each morning. We would recommend the helicopter tour over national park. It lasts 1 hour and you see alot of things. It really is amazing and worth every penny.
Definitely would recommend this resort.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steinbokaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmataraResort, Public Relations Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Steinbokaag,

Thank you for your fantastic review about our resort. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the stay especially from gorgeous and private villa with beautiful view, excellent housekeeping services, very good breakfast with a lot of choices, helicopter tour over the national park. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our resort again soon.

Best Regards,

Amatara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We spent only two nights in the hotel and it was flawless.
The staff was excellent, very professional.

The room was nice and spacious, the bed could be better though.
The spa offers an interesting view of the sea. The swimming pool is huge.

The hotel is very isolated and you cannot do much around within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Adviser970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmataraResort, Public Relations Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Adviser970,

Thank you for your great review about our resort. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the stay especially from excellent and professional staff, nice and spacious room, interesting spa offers, and huge swimming pool. Also, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments for us to improve further including bedding. We have passed these points to our management to work on closely and we do hope to welcome you back to our resort again soon. FYI for the next visit, we do offer scheduled shuttle bus service to town centre, 4 times daily, in which you may pre-book your shuttle to town centre in advance.

Best Regards,

Amatara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We have visited this resort during our trip around Thailand , from the check in to check out, everything was nearly perfect.
The only thing that was slightly annoying was the fact that everytime we left the room, someone would came in and put everything tidy again, we understand that is a good service but a bit over the top, giving us a sensation that we didn't had any privacy in our rooms.

We came from the beach swapped t-shirts, went to the reception and came back. The t-shirts that we just left on top of the bed, were perfectly folded on top of the bed..

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ptbodyguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmataraResort, Public Relations Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Ptbodyguard,

Thank you for sharing your great experience staying at Amatara Wellness Resort. We are truly glad to learn that you enjoyed your time during the stay especially from the check-in to the check-out time. Also, we would like to thank you for raising a concerning point for us to improve about the balance of staff care and guest privacy. We will bring this to discuss with the management to find the suitable balance for smoothen guests' stay experience. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again soon.

Best Regards,

Amatara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Just spent 5 days 4 nights there last week before leaving for another (The Nai Harn). It was planned to be a romantic time with my Mrs for her birthday and pre-celebration of 21 years we went through together.

Pros

*The hotel offered us a complimentary room upgrade to 'sea view pool villa'. It was spacious with a cape (not ocean) view but we were deprived of villas' guest exclusive rights to have breakfast at 'The Retreat'.
*The staff was helpful and resourceful to take care of our needs.
*Good buggy service to and from villas as they scatter over the large hilly area.
*Excellent quality of breakfast at 'The Restaurant' (highly recommended 'poached eggs with salmon and Hollandaise sauce) despite a lack of variety.
*Superb dinner in 'The Grill' - exquisite food, fair price, good service and comfortable settings)
*Relaxing spa (About $300-US for a 2-hour treatment for us in a private suite with a balcony - that needs a bit more privacy) and fully-equipped gym (treadmills are a bit old model though and the touch-screen controls were not very accurate, when compared with newer models)

Cons

*Our villa (no. 19) is showing its age and definitely needs serious renovation/replacement - paint chips everywhere, scratches on furniture, loosened electrical sockets, in particular the bedding and towels always felt 'moist'.
*The ipad (an old model) was provided half charged without a charging cable and the installed exclusive app was not very informative so we returned it on the second day.
*The tennis court was covered by a layer of rubber bricks, which I reckon was done to facilitate play soon after rain (no sweep). But it was terrible for any serious tennis player because of the unpredictable and low ball bounce. And the balls provided were so used/worn that I wouldn't have used them for warm-up at home.
*The 'private beach' is tiny and not maintained well - sunbeds were covered with sand and the dinning area was not in use.

We appreciated the efforts by the staff (keen but obviously inexperienced - some are interns). Our first trip to Phuket was in the 90s and over the years we've witnessed the fading hospitality and enthusiasm by the locals. Somehow they don't seem to enjoy their jobs as much as they used to. Maybe we are too sensitive?

I can see this resort used to be high class but it has past its prime for sure, maybe that's why the price is lowered accordingly.

My wife and I did enjoy our stay despite the faults but we had to look at the good things and make ourselves ignore the not so good things. So in short, I'm afraid we won't be returning unless the whole resort is renovated AND the damp bedding is a deal breaker!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view instead of seaview villas if you can
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank jackey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed at Amatara for 2 nights while in Phuket and absolutely loved my stay. My room was spotless, spacious, with a stunning view of the ocean. The staff went out of their way to help us in any way that they could. The food in each of the restaurants were incredible, and even the massage was fantastic. Amatara is reason enough to have me book a trip back to Phuket.

Room Tip: The view from the Ocean View Villa is to die for!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siffat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews