We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
By The Sea
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
lonelyplanet
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had 9 great days stayed at By the sea resident. The room, they kept very good condition with gorgeous sea view from balcony.
The hotel is really a gem. Birds singing woke us up every morning. We loved sitting on the balcony to hear the sound of nature. The sea always calm made us can do canoe to the tiny island near hotel.
Hotel staffs were polite and always with smiling face. We are appreciating that.
Neighbor checked in on our fifth day. They were really noisy. We cannot sleep at night. We asked for move the room which far away from them. Hotel manager free upgraded us to deluxe room which was superb. That’s surprising us.
Hotel does very good supervise. Even housekeepers had very good attitude. We must go back soon.

Room Tip: block A, 3-4/F, great sea view but far from beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    136
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
95
120
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The food is fantastic, as are the cocktails. Literally right next to the beach. I stayed on the 2nd floor and was very happy with that (close to the beach and pool, but not "at" the pool on the ground floor). Scooters can be rented from the Novotel next door - at a cost of 350bht/day, which is ludicrous. There are also no spas/massages/shops around so if peace & quiet is what you're after, this is the place.

A highlight was the Bar on the Beach, a local haunt only 50m or so to the immediate left when walking out onto the beach. Very cheap beer, and the food seemed quite good too.

All round, a very decent place, but it was a bit too quiet for me. I would stay here again though.

Room Tip: Try the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ju8ular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Wonderful location Cape Panwa with beautiful views over Chalong Bay from each room. The rooms are large each with its own kitchen etc. Two bedroom units are available for families travelling with children.
Manager Jack and his staff made us feel very welcome from the time we arrived. Cleaning and Restaurant staff provided excellent service and always provided a special smile. The property is well maintained and was always very clean. The quality of the food at the restaurant is very good, with good portions at a reasonable price. Pool facilities are right by the beach and are of a very good standard.
Unless you are reasonably mobile the steps leading down to the pool, beach and restaurant will create problems however the hotel does provide golf cart type transport down the hill to these facilities.
The hotel is in a very quiet location some 12klm from Phuket City. The hotel does however provide a twice daily shuttle service to Central shopping centre. Unless you want a very quiet holiday it is better to hire scooters, which we did, or arrange a hire car.
We stayed for 3 weeks and overall were very satisfied with our stay at By the Sea.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALAN123064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

I always relied on photos of tripadvisor.com when i select hotel, I was hesitated by its 5 out of 7 ranking. Sure I would be very regret if I did not book By the Sea.
We were travelled in a group of 8 and we all very satisified, hotel is very new and cleaned, rooms are big (smallest is 56m2) all with cooking facilities, breakfast is adequate. I recommend boiled rice, we all had at least 1 bowl every morning.
There are free shuttle bus to major shopping centre 2 times a day (10am and 2pm), should use this service.

Room Tip: Choose either Bedroom/Living Rm facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PrincessCaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

I would like to thank for my up gradation to deluxe room. Really nice suit, with 2 bed rooms, sitting room, kitchen, and wonderful balcony. From the balcony you can see the nice greenish-blue sea and the beach. I liked a lot the hotel, although the look-wise the hotel is not nice. It's a rather small hotel, without any nice architecture or decoration. But location wonderful. So, it's your choice what do you want.

I had a small problem over there. The reception girls are not able t speak or understand English properly. So, I was about to miss my flight, as she didn't understand I asked for a cab. But they will always say "OK", without even realizing what you are asking for. So, always double check. To the hotel manager I would request to look in to this matter.

Food is OK here, and a bit expensive. There is nothing near by in around 3 kms, so, you are bound to take food from the hotel. Although there is one more hotel, just beside this, so you can try over there too.

The beach is so beautiful when high tide. That's the amazing place which force me to recommend for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RitayanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSeaPhuket, Assistant Operation Manager at By The Sea, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Dear Valued guests, Thank you very much for your comments and your recent stay with us. Your comments are very useful and were brought to The Management meeting in order to improve our service. We hope to welcoming you back to By The Sea in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Management
By The Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Panwa hotels
2.8 km away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
2.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
2.2 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
2.1 km away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
3.3 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea

Property: By The Sea
Address: 7/6 Moo 6 Soi Bor-Rae | Sakdidech Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price range (per night): RM174 - RM492
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By The Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Cape Panwa
By The Sea Phuket/Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing