We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in June 2010, sorry I havent written this before ;-)
The staff was all over nice and helpful, the standard very good and we really loved the beach at this hotel. Relaxed and nice athmosphere. Also perfect distance to Taormina, only a few meters walk to the cableway.
We are coming back to this hotel if we visit Sicily again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 375 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

A word of thanks to the reviewers who have slated the service as it has clearly led to some positive changes. The only area still lagging was the lunch salad bar area, which was a little disorganised but everyone else we came across was friendly, helpful and efficient. Special word of thanks to Toto, definitely Sicily's "Senior Waiter of the Year".

Our room was extremely comfortable and the complementary minibus service to the Timeo led to a lifetime moment - enjoying a martini on their panoramic terrace watching Etna smoke.

My only gripe is being charged €7.70 for a plastic bottle of still water by the pool - come on guys - in the formal restaurant maybe (?) but not by the pool!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NosherLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

When we booked this hotel appeared to be simply marvellous, based on all reviews we had read at that time. But, just as we left for Sicily we read the latest two reviews and those made us slightly worried. Well, those worries vanished completely when we arrived. Wonderful and warm welcome at reception and personal tour of the facilities, including a simply stunning room, made us feel at home after just 15 mins. With smiles on our faces we sat down for a late lunch at the terrace bar and from thereon, a week just went by with us enjoying ourselves completely. This hotel does not have the conservative luxury feel about it if you compare it to the Timeo hotel up in Taormina, but for us, this was fine. The Sant'Andrea has more of a sea side villa style to it. Being located right on the beach was more what we were looking for than a luxury hotel up in the town. But we recommend popping up to the Timeo for a pre-dinner drink at the terrace with views over Etna.

In our opinion, the Sant'Andrea has some fine tuning to do before it can be regarded as a 5 star luxury hotel. For example, if you order a pizza and a sandwich at the terrace restaurant, you can get your food with 15 minutes in between as, according to the explanation given, the two kitchens are completely separate (pizza oven and kitchen apparently) and no communication exists between the pizza oven staff and the kitchen staff... We also thought that paying a EUR cover charge pp when sitting down at the Sant'Andrea's lunch restaurant, being also a hotel guest, was a bit steep.

But to conclude, we would go back to the Sant'Andrea without hesitation and can highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Best terraces appeared to be furthest from the reception area on the third floor but amazing balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pettele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Make sure when booking you request a room in the main building. We had booked a junior suite, upon arrival we were shown to our room in the old building at the back of the hotel. I complained immediately to reception and the useless girl informed me they were fully booked for the entire week. I asked to speak to the manager, who appeared after 20mins.

The manager informed me they could move us on the 3rd day of our stay to the main building, which I said was fine.

We returned from dinner to a room that was hot as the AC had broken down whilst we were out. Could not sleep that night as was too hot, slept for 2 hrs total.

In the morning I complained and as the reception are useless I asked to spk to the general manager who came after an hour. He accompanied me to the room and rudely told me that the temperature in the room was comfortable in his opinion. I reminded him the idea of AC climate control is so people can adjust it to their comfort. Anyway after some argument he put us in a room in the main building... Surprise surprise they were not fully booked.

The new room was great and large (junior suite) with large balcony over the water.

Swimming pool is great. Restaurant is average, beach is ok but difficult to walk on due to large rocks, and one day could not swim due to jelly fish.

Any way to get anything done in this hotel takes a long time as staff are rude and plain stupid. Ask to spk to manager if you have any problems and persist as they lie about being fully booked as I heard from 2otherparties at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenno12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient-Express_Italy, Direttore generale at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Villa Sant’Andrea.
We are really sorry to hear that you suffered some inconveniences during your stay with us. We can guarantee that the aim of the whole staff is to be helpful and to do whatever is possible to make our guests happy, as you can read from the other comments we have received so far. We regret to notice that the words used in the review sound a bit over the line.

The booking was made for a Junior Suite Superior which is a beautiful accommodation with two bathrooms and sea view, located in our annex, a part of the Villa which has been renovated last winter. Once available, we complimentary upgraded the reservation to a Junior Suite Deluxe although the very high occupancy of this period of the season.

We thank you once again for your comment and we can ensure we will do our best to improve our service.

We remain at your complete disposal for any further information.

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Villa Sant'Andrea is a stunning property located directly on the Taormina beach. Having stayed at numerous Orient-Express properties, I expect nothing less than perfection. The grounds, pool, beach, and rooms are lovely. As typical of the OE brand, the infinity pool is an institution. The water is perfectly heated and it offers stunning views of the Mediterranean.

The newly renovated rooms are charming and luxurious. When making a reservation, make sure that you ask for a room up to OE standards- you will be disappointed if you are placed in an un-renovated room.

This hotel was recently taken over by the OE brand and unfortunately it shows. The service is spotty, and the staff has not yet been trained up to my expectations. All meal service is very slow and a lot of mix-ups happen. I'm crossing my fingers that these issues are fixed in the coming months. Even with our disappointment in the service, I will be back next year to enjoy the location and facilities.

Perhaps I’ve become a little spoiled after experiencing the best hotels in the OE brand…

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pink0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.2 km away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.9 km away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
1.1 km away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,225 reviews
1 km away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range: RM1,951 - RM8,828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exclusive location on the Bay of Mazzarò, considered one of the most beautiful in all of Italy, the elegant Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea nestles on its own private beach with new luxurious cabanas, facing the dazzling aquamarine sea. Built by an aristocratic family in 1830, surrounded by lush, subtropical gardens, the hotel retains all the charm of a private residence, enriched by paintings and antiques. The décor of the 64 rooms and suites reflects the nautical character and marine location of the hotel, with ample use of local stone and Sicilian materials and fabrics, creating a light, relaxed and serene atmosphere. The Oliviero Restaurant, on a panoramic terrace overlooking the gorgeous sea, is known for its fish and seafood specialties and traditional Mediterranean cuisine. The Bar, located on the outdoor terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a drink, a snack or a light lunch by the beach. A Beach Bar and a Pool Bar in the new pool area are also available for a refreshing drink after a swim. Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the centre of Taormina, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The wellness centre offers a range of exclusive treatments for the ultimate of relax, while the fitness centre is fully equipped with the latest technology. The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. Guests at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea can enjoy all the facilities of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, its sister property located in the centre of Taormina next to the Greek Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing