We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad in the maze of Taroudant”
Review of Riad Maia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Maia
Ranked #15 of 49 Taroudant B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

One of the best Riads on our trip around the south of Morocco. Owned by a friendly Frenchman whom we spoke to on skype. The hostess was a lovely lady who served us breakfast on the patio. Although the riad is in the middle of the maze the Marrocans call Medina ;) it was very quiet. The rooms were lovely decorated as was the rest of the Riad. Our only little comment is that the bathrooms annex toilets had no doors which I find a bit difficult especially when you need a sh.. noisy, smelly :)

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Alie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2015

The riad itself was thoughtfully decorated, and meticulously cared for, but it was the hosts (Henri and Lutz) that helped make it such a memorable stay for us in Taroudant. From a delicious breakfast each morning, to good advice on what to see (nearby pottery village, Berber souk, tannery, etc.), to help in arranging different types of transportation for us, Henri and Lutz could have not been more helpful. And at the end of a day's activities, it was great to relax on the small, third floor terrace, among all the plants, and just soak up the sun. Thank you as well to Mina and Jamila.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ElderTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We are doing well so far with our choices in Morocco, and Riad Maia was no exception. The thing that was so cool about it was the way the Riad was set up: little nooks and rooms here and there, and the terrace is like three levels high, taking stairs up to one, then another, then another… We had the room Amon, which had the little balcony and table outside. It was a great place to sit. The room was smaller, but enough, with two storage closets and four open plugs for charging. The WiFi was slower, but worked. They greeted us with water and showed us the city on a map. Maps are available to buy. We just explored without. It was very difficult for me to find the parking as noted on the website, especially since the traffic pattern has changed due to mosque reconstruction. You might want to email them for directions first if you take a car. Guarded parking (Lot P2 on the map) cost 15 dirham up front, then 20 to get the car, and our car was fine. It was easy to get to the Riad from the parking. The Riad was very clean, good shower, right in the old city so easy to walk everywhere. Ask and they can tell you where to get a great dinner (like eating art) across the street, and if you desire a cold beer or perhaps a glass of wine, look for Hotel Tarroudannt near the town square. Good coffee at breakfast (when you are in Morocco you will see. Bad coffee abounds). Fresh yogurt, rolls.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nothing to say about this riad appart that is was perfect!
One of our favorite during our 3 weeks stay in Morroco. It is a beaufifull riad (and the terrasses, wow!), the hosts were absolutely helpful and friendly (although we came for a few nights with 2 grumpy grandmas), it is located in the Medina not too far from a carpark and it was spotless clean.
Henry made sure the restaurant he suggested for us was still open, they organized transportation to the airport for one of us, made us great morning smooties, etc. Little pluses that won our hearts!
Here, attention is in the details which makes all the difference between an ok place and a place where you want to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseeCV-Bouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at Riad Maia (3 nights).
We discovered the region and the city of Taroudant. The owners gave us detailed information about what to do in the city, but also about the possibilities in the region.
They arranged a taxi driver from Imlil, but also gave us adresses to rent a car or where what to buy (and not to buy).
The Riad has something of a "boutique hotel", is decorated with a lot of taste, is very clean and is certainly worth its price.
If you need to relax and/or if you have back problems, Lutz will give you a (professional) relaxing or therapeutic footmassage.
But, above all, we appreciated the warmth and hospitality of the owners. We really felt at home !
Thanks again and we'll certainly come back.
Peter
By the way: about how to find the riad: contact the owners and you won't have any problem to find it. The location is unique and really in the center of this sympathetic city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterMechelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Hotel Dar Zitoune
#1 of 16 in Taroudant
875 reviews
0.7 km away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#14 of 16 in Taroudant
290 reviews
0.7 km away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 16 in Taroudant
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 16 in Taroudant
488 reviews
0.1 km away
Dar Fatima
Dar Fatima
#6 of 16 in Taroudant
92 reviews
0.5 km away
Riad Taroudant
Riad Taroudant
#11 of 49 in Taroudant
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maia

Address: 12 Tassoukt Ighezifen, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Taroudant
Price Range: RM195 - RM268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Maia 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maïa located in the "Medina" of Taroudant offers 4 pleasant double bed rooms each with a bathroom en suit, 2 patios – one open air and the other one with a conservatory and several terraces. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing