We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute luck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairnbaan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairnbaan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Last minute luck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I were travelling to a wedding in the area and had originally booked into another local venue. We were recommended by the owners to eat at the Cairnbaan and when we arrived at the hotel, being impressed, we asked if they had accomodation. A quick look at the room and our minds were made up. A change of venue was in order.
We were lucky to get the last room. Ground floor twin. Nicely appointed with good, clean en-suite, comfortable beds, TV, tea, coffee and water. A good value cost was agreed with no fuss, no swiping of cards just the trust and good humour of the owner. How refreshing is that?
The hotel boasts a cosy bar, conservatory lounge, restaurant and even a function room.
The bar and restuarant were lively and busy on that Friday evening but the helpful staff ensured my wife and I got a good table and were served without delay from an extensive menu.
Now, I ask you to remember that we had arrived during the hours of darkness. After a good night's sleep in the quiet room we enjoyed a full scottish breakfast and ventured outside - to find that we were right alongside the Crinan Canal. We had never heard of the place but what a spot. With a perfect morning to fill we set off along the canal, fascinating, picturesque and with quite wonderful Loch Crinan at the end a few miles away.
The Cairnbaan is not five star but it's all you need for a short break, walking, cycling, whatever.
Another quiet night after the wedding and another quality breakfast.
Good location, good value and great hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onetedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    88
    36
    27
    23
See reviews for
42
131
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed here on a business trip and couldn't believe what a lovely place it was. My room overlooked the Crinan Canal at the front of the hotel and was beautifully furnished with a large bathroom. The food was delicious - I thoroughly recommend the game pie. My only critisism was hard pillows but this didn't stop me from having a great night's sleep. Due to lack of time I only managed a quick walk along the canal but I will definitely be back to explore this area further!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Service from all the staff was friendly and everyone happy with nothing too much trouble.
We were given a lovely room which was spacious and clean.
The setting of the hotel is just stunning right on the canal, we went straight out and explored with plenty of cycle and footpaths to walk. Food was perfect in everyway with a delicious home cooked breakfast and an extensive menu to chose from. Evening meals were of the same high standard as the breakfast. Fresh and presented perfectly.
If you are anywhere near the area it is a must to go to and eat and if you can afford more time a stay in the hotel is a perfect break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Staff were friendly and couldnt do enough to help. Setting just perfect.
Food was delicious with excellent choice of seafod and superbly cooked. Definately go back again. Room was large and bed comfortable. Had a relaxing stay with beatiful walks and countryside around.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here as part of a Classic Car run - 21 of us nearly filled the hotel. We were well looked after, The staff were good ,the food was good. Everyone had a great time.
Sitting by the canal locks in the evening sunshine enjoying the scenery was memorable

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frasermunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnbaan
19.4 km away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
6.6 km away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
31.2 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
15.7 km away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.6 km away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairnbaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairnbaan Hotel

Property: Cairnbaan Hotel
Address: Lock 5, approx halfway along Crinan Canal, Cairnbaan PA31 8SJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairnbaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Price range (per night): RM452 - RM660
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairnbaan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cairnbaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing