We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Precious memories in a wonderful setting.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Drumalban

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

stevo2908
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Precious memories in a wonderful setting.”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I stayed at Drumalban with my partner and my extended family, as we accompanied my elderly mother on a weeks holiday in Ardfern. The house provided a wonderful base, with the 1 mile long off road track to gain access, it gave the impression that we were very remotely placed, yet we were only a short distance from the village. The gardens are natural rather than manicured and provide a wonderful playground for children. The house itself is a gem. Yes, the en suite bathroom is a little dated, but its clean and functional. The house was not pristine, as it appeared in photographs, but this was a relief as we had small children with us, which meant we didn't have to watch their every move. The house is clean and well presented and ideally suited to large family groups. My mother is disabled, so the access to the lounge was awkward, but we had two strong chaps to lift her. Otherwise all facilities were accessible on the ground floor. Try the Galley of Lorne pub, just down the track for a friendly reception and a lovely meal. The area is very scenic and peaceful and autumn is a particularly colourful time to visit.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan ground floor and the views.
Liked least: The smokey chimney ( needs a clean)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you. I'm so pleased you had great family gathering- the house lends itself well to large family groups. I noted your comments about the fire and instead of a "when needed" we have switched to a regular programme of sweeping the chimney, which seems to work better all round. Should you choose to holiday on the west coast of Scotland again we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated and helps our future guests get a feel for Drumalban and all it offers. I'm glad the celebrations for the big birthday went with a bang! Should you choose to holiday in Argyll again we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view down the loch - and the special touch of a decorated Christmas tree
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we really appreciate your kind comments particularly since you have had a lot of experience in booking self catering houses. We are keen cooks ourselves and have made sure everything we would need for our own kitchen is in place in Drumalban. As for the view, you're right it is fantastic! We would love to welcome you back to Ardfern again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning setting,and feeling of remoteness.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Drumalban - we really appreciated this as it helps future guests get a feel for the house. Should you choose to visit the west coast of Scotland again, we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maurertown, Virginia
Reviewed 23 December 2011 for a stay in July 2010

Date of stay: July 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no internet service at the time of our stay but I understand it is now available
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Drumalban and even more delighted that you will be with us again in the summer of 2014 for more golf and another visit to the west coast of Scotland. See you then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.