We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are health and safety issues at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thien Hai Son Resort
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Reviewed 25 February 2011

There are health and safety issues at this hotel that the management need to act on. There is a major problem with flies in the dining-room. Food is displayed for hours with flies infecting the food, plates, cups, cutley and set tables with tablecloths on.
This is due to the wide open windows with no fly screens and open doors as their is no air con. Smoking is being allowed in the dining-room while guests are eating. The water quality in the swimming pool is cloudy and murky due to the pool not being chemically cleaned sufficently. The bed matteress are made of a hard latex rubber material which is most uncomfortable, along with the rock hard unpadded solid wood armchairs in the bedroom. If one is looking for a hotel with bed, sitting comfort and basic hygiene conditions, FORGET STAYING HERE! Most disappointing indeed and not up to an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairandsquareChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Thien Hai Son Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

We had a 'garden view' villa, but we could still see the beautiful beach from the window. This resort of villas and apartments is located right in the middle of Long Beach which is a fantastic location in Phu Quoc.

For the money we paid for the resort, we expected perhaps a slightly higher quality of decor. They were perfectly liveable though, with air-con (albeit a little noisy).
The bar on the beach is a good spot to watch the sunset, but again, a little overpriced for the area. Although, most of the places on the beach appear to be charging similar prices.

The main complaint would be the pool which was a little dirty and sometimes filled up with locals.

Overall, I wouldn't tell someone not to stay here, but I would probably try somewhere else if (when) going back to Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simoncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I was apprehensive before arriving at Thien Hai Son, since my first choice was to stay at The Sofitel La Veranda which was booked out. The agent had booked us 2 bungalows, each had a queen and single bed@ $75US per night per room. After some mix up at reception regarding our booking, we were taken to our bungalow. All the bathroom menities are available , flip flops for the beach, laundry service available but no in room iron. But, opposite the hotel there are little convenient stores where you can buy snack and drinks are laundry services at about $1 a kilo of washing. We had a welcome basket of tropical season fruits.
We just had lunch at the Sunset bar, and we thoroughly enjoyed the ly back atmosphere. Our waiter was informative and accommodating . I had my Vietnamese coffee fix and seafood fried rice and salad, washing the surf gently breaks , and sun bathers dozed.
So much value for money, the hotel is old but has a certain charm of old french colonial that I can't help but fall in love with. I would skip the pool and just hang on the beach.... All day alll night...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TramTranTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in November 2010. We paid 80 USD for a beach bungalow. The room was spacious but the building quality was disastrous and the bathroom was infested with mold, mosquitos, cockroaches and geckos! We had to continuously spray the bathroom and room with insecticide, which the reception did provide when we asked. While killing the bugs, even the insecticide did not cover the smell of mold in the bathroom. The location is good and the beach is rather nice, though. Breakfast was decent although the atmosphere is not very pleasant.

The hotel is mostly visited by Vietnamese people it seems and many young couples seem to spend their honeymoons here as well. Service was not of the same quality as in Saigon Phu Quoc hotel next door, although prices were a little lower as well.

So our beach bungalow had serious problems with mold and mosquitos, but we saw the odd cockroach in there as well. I also spotted one running down the corridor in the hotel building so for those who like their hotels clean and insect-free, should consider twice. All the bungalows are built in the same way so I reckon each of them had the same problems as ours, but cannot be certain, of course.

Awful value for money at 80USD in my opinion, considering the quality of the room, but Phu Quoc seems to be on the expensive side in this respect.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finlander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic trip away in Phu Quoc staying in the Thien Hai Son hotel. It was a very relaxing trip and the Thein Hai Son hotel was a good choice to stay in.

When we arrived on the island, we thought that there would be a pickup service representative however not seeing anyone we were told to get a taxi. We got a taxi to the hotel, 10 mins, it was only when we actually got to the hotel that the hotel would pay the driver. Staff were friendly and looked after our bags for us, as we arrived early and our bungalow wasn’t yet ready.

The hotel has a main building (set back from the beach) but also bungalows. We opted for the later and had a clean, spacious bungalow over looking the beach…bliss! It is definitely worth paying extra to stay in one of these. Ask for the beachfront ones if you can.

The hotel breakfast is ok, good for what you pay for but don’t expect an amazing array of food, it’s quite basic. Make sure you get there early though as they do run out of some food and breakfast is served from 6-9!

The beach is a minute walk away and the hotel provides free loungers and towels. Compared to other places we have visited in Asia there is very little hassle from people trying to sell you things on the beach which is nice.

Just outside the hotel on the main road you can rent motorbikes to explore the island with. We paid 120,000 vnd (4 pounds) for the day, petrol is extremely cheap bargain! We drove to Bai Sou Beach and ate fresh seafood at the Nha Hang Restaurant. The food is amazing and you can sit on the beach to eat with the water lapping at your feet! We then drove on to see the waterfalls, definitely worth a visit too!

We ate for two of the three nights at Caroles, go there! The food is great and there is nightly live entertainment! Also the German B Bistro Bakery Bar on the main road does great bangers and mash! (and has wifi).

Hope you enjoy your stay there as much as we did!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yazzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.2 km away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#19 of 47 in Duong Dong
248 reviews
2.4 km away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#9 of 15 in Duong To
536 reviews
6.4 km away
Vela Phu Quoc Resort
Vela Phu Quoc Resort
#15 of 47 in Duong Dong
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
#9 of 47 in Duong Dong
666 reviews
0.3 km away
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
#19 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
509 reviews
0.1 km away
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
#88 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Hai Son Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Hai Son Resort

Address: 68 Tran Hung Dao street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#16 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: RM210 - RM328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Hai Son Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Hai Son resort comprises 100 rooms: 43 hotel-rooms, 32 garden view bungalow rooms, 06 Seaside-bungalow rooms, 02 VIP-Bungalows 15 garden view-hotel room and 02 VIP rooms. All room have their own private balcony with all amenities and comfors of a 3-star resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Thien Hai Son Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Hai Son Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Thien Hai Son Resort Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing