We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stunning!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Spanish Fort, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Cocobay Resort is located on a beautiful piece of property with gorgeous panoramic views. I would doubt that there is a lovelier place on the island. The service was excellent from check in to check out and really placed Cocobay apart from other hotels we have visited. The staff was very attentive and wanted to ensure that you were happy and having a good time. The manager O'Neal was very visible and wanted to know that you were well taken care of. The concierge Melissa was the sweetest woman I have met on a hotel staff hands down. The food was okay but seeing as we haven't stayed at any other all-inclusive resorts, we don't really have much to compare it to. It was definitely "middle of the road" in my opinion (but I am a little picky). I did like that dinner was a la carte as I am not a big fan of buffets. I also liked that you could get a sandwich from the pool bar at lunch! There is a restaurant located on the Cocobay property called Sheer Rocks. We had dinner and drinks there on our last night and it is not to be missed (even though it is not part of the all inclusive plan). We had a seafront cottage with a plunge pool and it was definitely one of the best locations on the property, right on the water's edge. Our plunge pool was a bit cold because it didn't receive much sunlight but that didn't stop my husband from enjoying it. The room was nicely appointed and clean. I have read other reviewers' complaints about bugs but we did not find it a problem. You are in a tropical location with mild temperatures year around...you can expect bugs. We brought bug spray and never even opened it. I went with very moderate expectations and they were exceeded. The is not a five star hotel or restaurant and does not claim to be one. It is however a gem on the island of Antigua and the Cocobay staff and management make this hotel shine.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    479
    139
    59
    59
See reviews for
90
1,714
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Cocobay is in a wonderful location! It is stunning.

The staff are lovely - particularly jermaine who works in the restaurant.

Reception were not very helpful regarding the courtesy room at the end of the week. (don't offer a courtesy room to everyone if not everyone can use it). Everyone else was so lovely and helpful though.

I can't believe people would complain about the food - it is delicious. The portion sizes are generous (perhaps too small for some Americans, but it might do them some good to eat like the rest of the world for a change ;) ) that's just a joke folks! Come on - it is funny!

We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckymewentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Cocobay and we are already planning our third. It is a little piece of paradise where nothing is too much trouble. They have infact raised their game since the last time we were there (although they really didn't need to!) and we had the addition of a new pool, and a new staff member bringing drinks down to the beach all day - which was a lovely touch. O'Neal, the manager was also a lot more visible this time around - not that we had anything to say to him apart from how much of a wonderful time we were having! As I said in my previous review - if you want an all singing all dancing resort, with hundreds of guests, marble floors, buffet dinners, karaoke and wristbands the don't bother with Cocobay - Jolly Beach is the place for you. If you want peace, tranquility, rustic cottages, staff who know your name, and to fall in love with your other half all over again then give Cocobay a go - the only thing you'll regret is having to budget for it for years to come!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

we stayed at the coco bay hotel for the first time,at chrismas and new year 2011.had a great time,fantastic weather,plunge pool room was great,as was the view of the bay from the room.all the staff were great,especially,sasha,and thanks to robert,who kept us supplied with drinks,while we were sunbathing on the beach,also mr gore was a very nice,and funny man.sonia cooks lovely eggs at breakfast.the buffet at breakfast and lunch was the best.the grounds could do with a bit more light on an evening,as it was dark going back to the room.food on an evening was very nice,but the food was not what we are used to,and was not to our taste,would have preferred more of the food like we had on a lunchtime.would have liked another light in our chalet for reading in the evening.would we go again?already planning a return visit for next year.

Room Tip: book a cottage with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hullbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just returned from a simply fantastic couple of weeks at Cocobay, truly the first holiday we can remember where we REALLY did not want to come home! The resort is excellent, the food great and the beach so good that we were there almost everyday.

However, the one thing that ‘made’ our honeymoon so special was the attitude of the staff. From arriving at the resort to the time we has to leave, everyone made us feel welcome throughout the stay, Names to many to mention went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and service was always delivered with a smile, from chalet maid to mangement. And to have breakfast served with a smile every morning was the perfect start to a perfect day; and every day was perfect!

The attention to detail on arrival and departure went above what could have been expected.
Mr O’Neal should be proud of the crew he has on board. We are already planning when we can some back.

Room Tip: Have a room overlooking the ocean, it's a must. If you afford the extra plunge pool rooms, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.4 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
9.3 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,144 reviews
22.9 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price range (per night): RM1,978 - RM3,823
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing