We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Idyllic beachfront location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Cove B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Cove B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic beachfront location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed one night on honeymoon in September but would have loved to spend longer here.
Location was amazing - literally across the road from the beach and we could hear and see the waves from our room. Somewhat remote so would need a car to get there but plenty of parking.
Breakfast was hearty and Bridie was a lovely host and extremely accommodating.
Wifi worked well in our room. Pets (small dog and cats) provided additional entertainment!
We missed the Skelligs due to bad weather but hope to come back and try again, would recommend this B&B to others!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cirie, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

If you look for a quiet B&B, in a great position and with an outstanding view, just over the beach of St Finan's Bay, convenient to visit Valentia Island and the ring of Kerry...well, Beach Cove is exactly what you need.
We had a very large room with sea view, all was so clean and perfect. Breakfast is lovely, with a wide choice from Full Irish to Pancakes and many more. Mrs Bridie has been so helpful with her hints about Valentia Island, we really enjoy our stay and we would like to thank this people to let us feel home so far away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francy578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I spent 2 weeks in Ireland, staying at about 8 different places (yes, we were crazy), most of which were B&Bs. This was definitely our favorite. The drive there was nothing short of spectacular. We didn't have a problem finding it because, as other reviewers mentioned, there is a CHOCOLATE FACTORY less than a mile from it. Oh yes, it was delicious.
Anyway, Bridie was very sweet and just let us do our own thing, but was very helpful if we asked questions. The room was very cute and clean. Since the ocean is literally across the street, it was awesome to leave our window open at night and listen to the waves. Bridie also helped us book a trip to Skellig Michael the next day (absolutely recommended---my favorite thing I did in Ireland).
We loved being relatively in the middle of nowhere. We drove to Portmagee at night for dinner, and yes, the drive was a tiny bit nerve-wracking (especially in fog) but it was an adventure, right? One thing to note: the nearest ATM is 15 minutes away, so plan accordingly.
Overall, this is a darling place to stay, especially if you are planning a trip to Skellig Michael. It's an out-of-the-way gem.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank empado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Beach Cove B&B is located outside of Portmagee, on a lovely cove with a view of Skellig Michael. Our room was lovely, breakfast was varied, made to order and served in a bright sunroom. Bridie O'Connor is an excellent hostess, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Beautifully decorated rooms, good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeF60895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

A very nice house, and we were given a whole suite, that is a bedroom, a separate large bathroom and a spare room! The bedroom had a large, modern bed with very comfortable mattress and a view of the beach. The bathroom was tidy and the shower had great water pressure. Breakfast was excellent with a few different options and very tasty. Our hosts were friendly and keen to discuss our plans and local attractions. They even helped us book a boat trip for Skellig Michael Island. Overall an fantastic stay in a beautiful part of Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinskelligs
0.0 km away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.0 km away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 km away
Seaside B & B
Seaside B & B
#3 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Skellig Hostel
Skellig Hostel
#1 of 3 in Ballinskelligs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 km away
Tig an Rince
Tig an Rince
#1 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 km away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 11 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cove B&B

Property: Beach Cove B&B
Address: St. Finnian's Bay | Beach Cove, Ballinskelligs, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballinskelligs
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ballinskelligs
Price range (per night): RM439 - RM709
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Cove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Cove Bed And Breakfast
Beach Cove Hotel Ballinskelligs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing