We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kast Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Langaholt(Snaefellsbaer)
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Breidafjordur(Stykkisholmur)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Egilsen(Stykkisholmur)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Westfjords(Patreksfjordur)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breidavik Guesthouse(Patreksfjorour)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
59
49
28
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
49
28
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightslambgreat locationnational parkbreadthe ownercoddining roomthe main roadsnaefellsnes peninsulabare bonesnew buildingno doubthot potsoupguest housespent two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic stay here. There was a problem with a change we had tried to make to our reservation, and the folks at the guesthouse were incredibly kind and accommodating. Great location to explore the peninsula and see the northern lights. We'll be back!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia Fannberg G, Owner at Kast Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Rob,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and saw some northern lights (coming very early this year) in our place, it is always something special. Hope to see you when you´ll be back in Iceland !

Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Kast Guesthouse is situated a bit away from the main road. There is nearly no traffic passing by. The guesthouse is in a quiet place with a great view on the hills nearby and the sea by the horizon. The rooms are simple, there is no TV and no fancy extra stuff, what you do not need in my opinion as there are better things to do there than to watch TV. The rooms were clean and staff was helpful and friendly. Just across the road, there is a hot pool where you can relax and spend great time. It was one of the most beautiful places we have been and I will return for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zonkeydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia Fannberg G, Manager at Kast Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hello Zonkeydonkey,

I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. I´m always very happy to see than someone enjoyed to stay with us. We also think that a TV is not necessary in this place surrounded by a beautiful nature, we want our guests to go outside and enjoy our country, especially when the northern lights season started.
We hope to see you again traveling in our amazing Iceland!

Lydia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed one night at the Kast Guesthouse and were very pleased with the experience. The staff are super friendly, which significantly enhanced our visit. The rooms are very simple, bare-bones, but new, modern, clean and bright. It feels a little like staying in a camp in Antarctica or something... almost trailer-like buildings... but we enjoyed the feel and the atmosphere of the place. The food in the restaurant was not camp-like at all, however, but DELICIOUS and well presented. We went for a ride the next morning and thoroughly enjoyed that too... again, very nice, helpful and young staff and very pretty, easy horses. The surrounding scenery is beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeghanSGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

The guesthouse is simple but clean, modern an has an excellent staff, mostly of young people. The family spirit is everywhere here and the location is excellent to visit all the peninsula of Snaefellsnes.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank commissairebourrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The Kast Guest House is just a couple of KM of the main ring road and not more than 30 mts by car from the foot of the famous Snaellfellness ice capped volcano. It faces the ocean and is backed up by incredible lava rock cliffs behind. No road nice at all by the way, super peaceful!

The rooms are simple but comfortable with walk in showers and toilet rooms, and the bedrooms with comfortable twin/double beds. No other luxuries, no TV etc but none of this is necessary considering where you are....bring your own hairdryer and shampoo if needed. ( they have a liquid soap in the shower room)

Breakfast is continental, with fresh baked bread and jams/marmalades, a small selection of cereals and yoghurts etc. All fine.

If you stay for dinner (possible without reservation) you will get the chance to get 2-3 items off of the small and limited menu, but again with lamb, fish or soup most will find it is suitable for a one night stay as they travel the country.

Overall, a nice stop.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews