We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
69
56
32
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
56
32
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb bread the owner northern lights national park the main road guest house cod snaefellsnes peninsula dining room bare bones coffee and tea new building no doubt hot pot potatoes soup
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed by this place which looked amazing on their pictures but is just a rip-off: an average new guesthouse with no charm, a bit dormitory alike. We wanted to please ourselves by spending more, what a waste of money! Room was average as well as the breakfast, we had much better in other places. Price was outrageous for the room and service offered. Not a bad place, just overpriced for Icelandic standards.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank eloa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We ate at the restaurant (stayed elsewhere) Absolutely recomendable. Nice and friendly staff og good food. We had lamb and fish of the day.
We did not make a reservation, just dropped by. Given the size of the restaurant a reservation might be good.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Joemcvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We stayed here for two night during our road trip through Iceland. We had a room with a private bathroom in the fairly new building accessible through a wooden terrace. The room was spacious, quiet and clean. Breakfast is fine with delicious warm baked bread! The second night we had dinner at the Kast Guesthouse which was also delicious.
Only disadvantage was that there was a light sewer odor in our bathroom (#25), so not completely 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linny-NL-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Off the beaten track and very isolated. Like others, we wondered what we had got into as pulled up in our car especially as we were the only guests to have arrived by that time (approx 1830).

Our two rooms were clean but very small and with no facilities (TV or drink making) and the table was someone's 2nd hand computer desk. Almost complete lack of hanging space, not a problem as we can live out of a suitcase, only problem was, once we had opened the suitcase on the floor we had to climb over the bed to get from one side of the room to the other.

This was made up for by the excellent food in the restaurant and the chance to see the Norther Lights. Another downside was the communal facilities closing down at approx 2200 - not good when you have no TV or anything else (drinks included) in your room. Funnily enough, our two sons said this was their favourite stay of the 10 days we were in Iceland, no doubt due the quirky atmosphere and exceptionally friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We were so excited to visit this part of Iceland - it is amazing. This hotel is clean, friendly, comfy and nice. All hotels in Iceland tend to be minimalist in terms of furnishings, which I really like and appreciate so don't expect it to be lavish or frilly. NOTE: You will have sticker shock regarding the rate if it's high season but that's the simple reality all over Iceland in August. This was a good value relative to the other 4 hotels where we stayed.

The hotel is very close to a hot pot down the road (super fun) and the breakfast and dinner were very, very good! Great coffee. The restaurant options in the area are quite limited so plan ahead when thinking about meals outside of Kast Guesthouse. We had a great dinner at the hotel by the way (Cod and Lamb). The staff folks are quite jovial and kind too. I think we made a great choice and had access to beautiful locations around the peninsula. I would absolutely stay here again.

One small note - You can hear noise from other people; we had a (out) family next door with kids who were playing and the parents didn't do a darn thing - not the hotel's fault of course.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the coast - it's gorgeous and adjacent to horses and a beautiful field / view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lbagot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews