We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a beautiful setting, warm welcome...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GROVES HALL

Groves Hall from the lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Hallway in your accommodation with original art on walls
Your Art Deco bathroom en suite
Georgian fireplace and view of bookshelf
The River Esk at the bottom of our garden, where you can fish for Salmon and Trout
Sunset over the River Esk
Fishing for Salmon on the River Esk at the bottom of our garden
The weir on the River Esk in full force!
Groves Hall entrance hall
Groves Hall mirrored lobby
Autumn in our field
Groves Hall Front door with parking area for three cars
Christmas at Groves Hall
North York Moors Steam Railway goes past four times a day in the summer
Butterflies in the garden
The top terrace, a great sun trap where you can have breakfast in the summer
Our Quince bushes from which we make Quince jelly
Cats on the lawn, Charlie and Mummy..
Near the herb garden
Tulips on the terrace
Spring flowers
House front overlooking the lawn and Badminton net.
Steam trains from North York Moors Railway which goes past the house.
Dressing table in the bedroom
View of Groves Hall from the roadside
View from mezzanine window
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tina B
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a beautiful setting, warm welcome and great breakfasts”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend break at Groves Hall. The house is great , full of quirky things and set in gorgeous countryside but very close to Whitby. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable.. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious,. Thank you

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Hi Tina,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. The garden has undergone some more transformations this Summer, and will be looking superb next year. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APHOxford
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect rural getaway”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just spent the weekend at Groves Hall in Sleights near Whitby. If you are looking for a real country house experience next to the drama and beauty of the North Yorkshire moors and only a short drive or busride in to famous seaside resort of Whitby, then this is the place for you. Lovely house, amazing interiors, your own private garden and stretch of the River Esk for fishing, cat therapy, good food and company, I can't think of anything critical to say about the place...except perhaps that the water takes quite a while to heat up when you want to have a shower! So I went for a swim in the river instead. Alan Harding 10/6/15

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Great to meet you, and hope that the marathons aren't taking their toll.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoadRunne...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcome Retreat”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A beautiful unique property, very peaceful with amazing views and hosts, unlike any other bed and breakfast. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast! Will definitely visit again if we are in the area. Good Luck with the gig Charles!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
It was lovely to have you stay.Good luck with the baby..get your beauty sleep now!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa36200...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely friendly owner...excellent service from booking to checking out!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked Groves Hall for the night as we were visiting Whitby for a friend's birthday. My friend checked us in as he was there before me and told me Numi had given him a detailed tour of the grounds which were lovely. The room was very clean and had lots of character. Breakfast was amazing...toast, full English for me and scrambelled eggs with smoked salmon on toasted muffins for my friend. Excellent customer service. I was allowed to use the landline to call home as unfortunately I had no signal. I would highly recommend and most certainly would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Lovely to meet you both and glad you had an enjoyable stay.Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Numi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda T
1 review
“Bliss”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Have just returned from a fantastic stay and cannot recommend highly enough. Whitby was busy as you would expect and it was bliss to return to such a tranquil haven. Numi and Charles are perfect hosts, the room was comfortable and the whole place was peaceful, with the added bonus of a very occasional steam engine in the distance. Will definitely come back and would definitely recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thanks Amanda.
Really nice to meet you both and look forward to having you stay with us again! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing