We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast out of hand”
Review of Hotel Nixe Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nixe Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The hotel is in a prime spot beautiful, majority of their rooms have balconies facing the ocean. ALL staff is great in helping with everything you need. Well kept. The only reason they did not get a 5 starts is because of their breakfast. They charge you 20 euros per person a day. There are no other places close by for breakfast so they can get away with it. Plus to top it off the buffet is awful especially coming from Vegas witch they now what a buffet is like. Very disappointed with that aspect. Other than that loved the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLindsey1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Nixe Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your contribution with your comments to the trip advisor users and thank you for have chosen Nixe Palace for your recent stay.

We celebrate that you have enjoyed our facilities, situation ads very specially the service received from all of us.
We can not feel totally happy if we have not fulfilled your expectations about our breakfast and we take note of this point to see how can we improve it and bring it to the tastes of every of our guests.

We hope to see you back very soon at Nixe Palace and we will do our best to provide you five stars experience.

Kindest regards

Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Visited the hotel for a week in mid-September, as a couple. From the moment we walked through the doors we knew we’d made the right decision.

Staff - attentive and friendly. More than happy to help with restaurant bookings etc. We were greeted with a bottle of cava on arrival as our trip was for a birthday. All in all fantastic

Location - perfect! Atop a beautiful sandy beach and a 10 minute (15 euro) cab into the centre of the city. A great blend of a beach holiday and city break

Food - the only let down. We ate at all three restaurants at the hotel (The pool bar, Popo and the terrace restaurant) and the former was the best of the lot, surprisingly! Lovely views from Popo and the terrace but pricey and average food. The saving grace was that Il Paradiso and Parador del Mar are both located very close by and offer fantastic grub!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank reigate246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Nixe Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very positive review and for the time and effort you spent to publish your experience at the Nixe Palace on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have chosen us for your stay on Mallorca and that you knew you made the right choice at the moment you have entered the hotel.
Thank you for kind words about our staff and the hotel facilities. We will share it with all the different departments.
We really hope to welcome you back again in the near future and to have another opportunity to change your opinion about our restaurants.
We remain at your personal assistance for anything you would need to arrange in advance, during or after your stay.
Kind regards,
Nina - Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Couldn't wait to leave this hotel. First and foremost this is not in our opinion a five star hotel. Nixe is in Cala major, an unattractive, noisy and run down resort with little to do or see, small overcrowded and polluted beaches and a busy and very noisy through-road. Only benefit of staying at nixe is its proximity to Palma, but it would be better to just stay in Palma itself as Cala major is equally as noisy and the roads are really busy. Cala major is a truly ugly resort. Quite depressing actually. Chose to stay at nixe because we had a four month old baby and wanted to be in a clean, pleasant, quiet and safe environment with our parents near to Palma. We did not experience this at all. Nixe did not provide adequate security for our family when a drunken Russian guest in a room next to us became aggressive and abusive towards my husband and I whilst having a party on his balcony at 1am. We politely asked him to keep it down because we had a baby in our room. He refused, and instead directed foul language at us and told us that he "knew the manager".
We reported the incident to reception three times but were told there was nothing staff could do and that we should understand that it was a difficult situation for them. At 2am the abuse from our despicable neighbour (room 614) worsened. He threw items at our balcony doors, shouted, swore and screamed at us for reporting him to reception, he directed vulgar language at us, banged furniture off the walls in his room, screamed and played excessively loud music. We reported his behaviour several more times but reception staff were obviously too scared to confront him and consequently our abuse continued for hours. We got zero sleep and were concerned for our baby's safety. Perhaps in hindsight we should have just contacted the police.
We were, the next morning, offered a different room and so we moved. This room had a sea view but the balcony directly overlooked larger balconies below which ruined our privacy when sitting outside. There was also lots of noise from the busy road in our new room which ruined our peace and quiet and disturbed our baby's nap times.
Champagne, obviously not meant for us, was sent to our room by mistake with a card in German wishing us a pleasant honeymoon. Not very personal and a bit of an insult after what we'd just had to endure. We were however given a bottle of cheap cava to compensate for the abuse from the drunken Russian guy for whom there was, as far as we were aware, no consequence.
Rooms at nixe are dated, particularly the bathrooms. Carpets have seen better days.
The pool area is very dated and unusable for those with mobility issues. The baby pool is inaccessible to babies and too cold for young children. There were insufficient sun-loungers for the number of guests and most were reserved with towels but were unoccupied. Same old.
We could not swim in the sea because the lifeguard was advising people not to do so because of the presence of high levels of bacteria from dog excrement (people walk their dogs on the beach at night).
Room service food was of a particularly poor quality and was cold.
There was an awful smell of sewage on the terrace outside of the spa (the only place we could ever get sun-loungers).
Breakfast was just ok. Not five star. Service was slow. Had to get up and ask staff for simple tea and coffee.
The hotel advertises that its rooms are soundproofed. If only. They absolutely are not, and we tried 3 rooms. The constant noise from banging doors, housekeeping and road traffic is enough to drive anyone mad. Our baby's naps were disturbed every day.
Lifts are dated and tiny, far too small for luggage and a pushchair. Long wait times to use them all the time.
Positives....... the pool towel guy is absolutely lovely. The concierge guys (Jose was one) are also great. The view of the sea is lovely. But honestly, in our opinion, that's it.

This was our first family break with our baby and we're gutted we chose to spend it at nixe. We feel we wasted our money on a hotel that did not meet our expectations. You would expect in any hotel to at least be safe, but we were not at all safe at the "palace".

If you're considering a five star in Mallorca, don't stay here. Spend your money and precious family time somewhere special.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 1,720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Nixe Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Customer.

We regret to read your comments and knowing that your experience at Nixe Palace has been negative.

We understand that the incident with your room neighbor was an unpleasant event. We did what it was in our hand by bringing up our night porter on the three occasions you requested us to speak to the Scandinavian guest close to you. In each of these occasions he did not open the door but we have to say that no other room complained about the noise and we were not present at any moment when you refer he was violent with you. If you considered that it was necessary to notify the police because you or your family was not safe we would have not hesitated to immediately do so. You did not request so at any moment.

We understand that this incident can be disturbing specially when travelling with a 4 months old baby, therefor the next morning the hotel manager requested to inform the particular guest that his behavior was not acceptable and we took the measures we thought necessary for this occasion and for the future, but we considered these should be not exposed to anyone. In this situation there is little more that we can do.
In Nixe Palace we are accustomed to receive clients with an exemplary behavior towards the workers and other clients and who come to spend a few days of rest and relaxation in an environment that invites peace and tranquility. Unfortunately both here and in any other hotel or public place, regardless of its category, we can find exceptions that tarnish the coexistence between people. It is hardly detectable when someone makes a reservation and we are forced to trust that everyone knows the basic rules of behavior.

We understand that as a result of this unpleasant incident your perception of the hotel has been negatively influenced.

Considering the feedback of our clients, either in the hotel or on any online channel, we never received that the rooms with sea view were noisy due to street traffic, having between these, windows with special enclosure, a corridor and a soundproofed door.
The beach to which you refer as small, polluted and overcrowded is one of the points that have more positive references on guests’ comments.

The statement that the beach has been closed to the public due to the presence of dog droppings, because the residents walk their dogs at night is simply mistaken. Fact is that the beach is cleaned every morning by the city council maintenance staff and that during two days in September the beach was closed because the torrential rains occurred could have brought "potentially" unhealthy rest of some near flooded drainage. Once the relevant analyzes were done with negative results it was reopened to the public.
Our rooms were refurbished and we have wooden floor and walk in shower rooms in some of them. There is a project to refurbish the bathrooms in the near future.
Our swimming pools (adult & baby pool) are not heated but used during the summer months as the outside temperature is very high. Nevertheless, I would consider other hotels on Mallorca if the priority for your vacation is large and heated swimming pools.

We agree, the hotel lifts are too small to be used by two adults, a baby pushchair and big suitcases, but this has never supposed any trouble as our porters do as many trips as necessary to bring your luggage wherever is needed.
We accept every critic that you may have about food quality or variety as in the end is a question of personal taste. Anyhow we check regularly our quality standards and raise them up if any recursive comment or suggestion is made by our guests.

We are very sad to know that a guest whom has trusted in Nixe Palace leaves with such negative impression. Of course we accept every comment and we appreciate them the most when these are done at the right time so we can do every single gesture to solve these issues and take any possible actions that provides a disenchanted customer a better stay and make him/her forget as soon as possible any possible negative experience they might have lived in Nixe Palace.
We are sorry that Nixe Palace has not fulfilled your expectations and would appreciate if you would give us the opportunity to make it better, if you would visit us again.
Please feel free to contact us at any time in order to assist you.

Sincerely yours,

Mario González.
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had an amazing one-week stay at the Nixe Palace. From the moment we arrived hours before check-in, the staff was friendly and attentive to all of our needs. The location is great, with plenty of quality restaurants within walking distance in Cala Major, and it's quick and easy to get a cab to the famous old town area of Palma (about 10 Euros). A sea view room is a must, with picturesque views of the beach that you also get from all of the hotel terraces. The pool area is great and we were happy with all of the food and drink we got from the pool bar. The hotel beach access is very convenient and nice to get down to the beautiful water and public beach. The breakfast buffet is a must-add for your stay - breakfasts on the terrace were an incredible way to start the day, and the live music throughout the hotel during the evenings was a beautiful way to end the days. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Nixe Palace and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Mallorca.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Nixe Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your outstanding review and for the time and effort you spent to publish your experience at the Nixe Palace on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you have chosen us for your stay on Mallorca.
Thank you for kind words about our staff, the food and the hotel facilities. We will share it with all the different departments.
We really hope to welcome you back again in the near future and remain at your personal assistance for anything you would need to arrange in advance, during or after your stay.
Kind regards,
Nina - Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This hotel has very comfortable beds fantastic views from the balcony and great service the restaurant is also a fabulous place for a lazy lunch overlooking the bay. The only thing we didn't like was the price for breakfast which was €24.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Nixe Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Nixe Palace for your stay on Mallorca. Thank you for your time and effort to publish your comment on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the the views, room, restaurants and the location.
For breakfast, we do also offer our breakfast express, or small breakfast at the lobby bar for less, and you may go for coffee / tea, juice and some pastry instead of our breakfast buffet.
We look forward to welcome you back again and remain at your assistance.
Kind regards,
Your Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
2 km away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,765 reviews
1.4 km away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 180 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
1.6 km away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
11.7 km away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
389 reviews
1 km away
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
#21 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nixe Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nixe Palace

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 269, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range: RM481 - RM1,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nixe Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located front row from the beach and very close to the heart of Palma, in Hotel Nixe Palace guests can enjoy can enjoy the cultural, commercial, sporting and maritime atmosphere of the city. In our hotel you can choose from a broad selection of possibilities, whatever adjusts better to your needs. All of this is complemented by the exquisite personalized treatment that will make your stay here an unforgettable moment. Luxury is not limited to just the views, its rooms offer the latest technology. Whether you want to work, rest or practice sport, the Hotel Nixe Palace offers all the commodities and installations needed, even to be able to do it all. Also we have at your disposal a combination of dreamy interior and exterior areas in which to hold meetings, weddings, made to measure celebrations which will impress even your most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nixe Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nixe Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing