We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, well-equipped villa in stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mas Darre la Foun

Welcome to Mas Darré la Foun - house, pool and garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Mas Darré la Foun - house, pool and garden.
On the edge of the village - secluded but not isolated. Somewhere to relax.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Welcome to Mas Darré la Foun - house, pool and garden.
On the edge of the village - secluded but not isolated.
Somewhere to relax.
Welcome.
Shady outside living on sunny days.
A view from the garden over the vineyards towards Limoux.
Lofty and light even in Winter when the travertine floors are heated and logs burn fragrantly.
Or cosy now for an evening in.
Bon appetit!
The table extends for parties.  Where is that Blanquette?
King size bedroom downstairs. Doors open to allow a turn round the  garden  in the morning sun.
Pretty garden-facing double downstairs.
The downstairs bathroom is sparkling clean and tad posh.
Somewhere quiet to finish that book in the petit salon adjoining the downstairs bedrooms.
Upstairs bedroom overlooking the lane up to the vineyards and oak forest.  Shower and dressing room.
Twin bedroom upstairs with views over the pool to the village and beyond.
Somewhere sheltered for breakfast, lunch, dinner...
A pool with a view.
A view of the village from a point on one of the many walks through vineyards and oak forests.
Exquisite morning mist over Villelongue d'Aude
July near the Lac de Montbel (20 mins)
February at Camurac (1 hour away). Civilised people ski just for the afternoon.
Gruissan and the lagoons: the calm before the windy surfy beaches round the corner (1 hour)
A Winter day out at Ax-les-Thermes.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Limoux, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire W
1 review
“Beautiful, well-equipped villa in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Mas Darre La Foun in July 2016 for a week with our two young children (5 & 8) and my Mother. It was an area of France we had never visited before and we thought it was beautiful. Driving from Toulouse you pass fields full of lavendar and sunflowers, and vineyard after vinyeard punctuated with gorgeous hilltop villages.

The villa itself is lovely. Very new and well thought out. The layout worked well for us as we were able to be at one end of the house with the children in the two upstairs rooms, leaving two double downstairs rooms and a bathroom for my Mother at the other end of the house (well away from our early risers!). The villa is surrounded by a beautiful garden and the pool was lovely and warm and a good size. The kitchen was well equipped with everything that we needed. We had a couple of days of coolish weather but the villa was so comfortable that we were quite happy to while away a couple of afternoons on the terrace or in the sitting room.

We did a couple of walks and runs in the surrounding area, as well as venturing to the bar in the village one night (an experience!). There is an amazing supermarket in nearby Limoux that had everyting we could possibly need, and a good bakery and mini supermarket in a village about 9km away, all easy enough to get too.

We loved this area of France, it was very peaceful and friendly. We had a lovely stay in Mas Darre La Foun and hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Would have been nice to have a bakery/shop a little closer to the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
It's so lovely to hear that our guests have had a good time. We try very hard to think of everythin. We are really pleased for Claire and her family and hope that they too face fallen in love with this corner of France. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
docaird
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous property, stunning location”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Recently spent 2 weeks at Mas Darre la Foun. This was our family holiday - consisting of myself and wife and 3 grown 'children' aged 23 , 21 and 17. We have stayed in a lot of rented holiday properties and all agreed that this was the most comfortable and well equipped house we have stayed in. Kitchen was superbly well equipped with modern and new appliances. Living area equipped with wi-fi , satellite TV and DVD. UK TV channels available if required but reception a bit dependent on the weather.
Bedrooms spacious and comfortable - 2 were en suite the other 2 downstairs bedrooms shared their own bathroom.
Outside there is a great pool which is really well maintained by Barry who also is a mine of really useful local information
Location of the property is truly exceptional, Set in the midst of rows of vines with excellent views to the village of Villelongue d'Aude close by. The village is easily accessible on foot and has a delightful bar that is open for 2 nights of the week, Thursdays and Fridays with free musical entertainment - a great meeting point for locals and tourists. We were lucky enough to be there when it was the summer fete with a market selling local produce.
Villelongue d Aude is also ideally placed for exploring neighbouring towns and villages with excellent markets such as Mirepoix and Limoux. Also within 30 Km is the fabulously historic Carcassonne with its medieval Cite. Top tip - at busy times of year to avoid horrendous traffic and parking take the local train form Limoux - only 1€!
All in all this is a really exceptional house in wonderful area that would be worth visiting at any time of the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property and facilities, location
Liked least: liked it all - only minor gripe was only 4 sun-loungers for property that can sleep up to 8
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CR_UK
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect…loved it!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A wonderful property in tranquil setting and amazing view. Incredibly well equipped, clean and works well with extended family, giving everyone space to enjoy . Great indoor to outdoor living layout and possible to have BBQ and eat outdoors whilst viewing the thunderstorm! Incredibly helpful and friendly owner. You have to plan your shopping though as cannot nip down to a shop for forgotten items. Would love to return and stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home. Worked well with extended family.Wonderful view and garden.Tranquility.Exceptionally helpful owner. Well equipped. Cleanliness. Food to use on late arrival giving time to get to shops
Liked least: That we had to leave! Should have booked longer !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris2500...
2 reviews
“Utterly amazing”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked this for a 5 person trip and the house was perfect. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to cook up some great meals, and the fire was very welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Di H
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastique! Beautiful house and garden and great location.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A fantastic house, very well equipped and a lovely garden and pool with brilliant outdoor seating. The weather was superb and we made full use of the pool and bikes. Great area for exploring with lovely market towns of Limoux and Mirepoix close by. Great information provided about the house and the area. Highly recommended for groups, couples, and families both young and old! Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and outdoor space
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing