We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house, amazing owners, amazing views!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Slightly different angle Calle San Antonio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Slightly different angle
Calle San Antonio
Calle San Antonio and view to the sea
View of Mount Teide from the sun terrace with winter snow
View of the sea from the sun terrace
Pathway leading to the front door
Lounge area showing television
Front door
Kitchen and breakfast bar
Archway through to the kitchen
Double bed
Stairs
Upstairs shower room and toilet
Double bed and sliding doors out to the terrace
Barbeque area and seating
Plants on the terrace
Another seating area on the terrace
Dining area on the terrace
Sun terrace
Sink and utensils on the terrace with stairs leading up to sun terrace
The Lido - Puerto de la Cruz
Playa San Marcos - Icod
Church of the Virgin of Coromoto
Las Aguas
Teide National Park
El Pinalete - communal barbeque area near Casa Carmela
Vilaflor
Vilaflor
Vilaflor
Orotava
Orotava
Orotava
Orotava
San Juan de la Rambla coastal walk
Famous Drago Tree in Icod de los VInos
Town Hall in Icod de los Vinos
Plaza in Icod
Old wine press in Garachico
Coastal path view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
La Guancha, Tenerife, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Theo L
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing house, amazing owners, amazing views!”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Both Jorge and Karen made us feel really welcome as soon as we arrived at their house! House is a traditionnal Canario house with a lot of caracter and lovely paintings from Jorge who is a very good painter! So much attention was put and we had free wine, plenty of Christmas sweets to enjoy and the whole house was decorated with a christmas theme :) The 3 terraces are probably the jewel of the house especially the top one, there you can relax and enjoy the sun and look at both Mount Teide and the sea!! So lovely, you can be sure I'll be back!! Thanks so much once again, one of best stay ever :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: terrace, house caracter
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2013
Thanks for your review of Casa Carmela. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views, lovely sunsets.
Liked least: Living room was just a bit dark but it was November.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Dec 2012
Thanks. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your satisfaction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Reviewed 26 October 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky B
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing holiday with amazing views”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My brother and I and our partners stayed here for a week in October 2012, the villa is lovely, set part way up a rather steep hill amongst banana plantations and vineyards. The views from the terraces were truly spectacular, the ocean from one side and Mount Teide the other. We had the annexe as well as the main house for the sake of privacy but the house was easily large enough for a family. We were met at the property by relatives of the owner who were lovely and very enthusiastic, informative about the house and local area. The kitchen area was very well equipped and we spent most evenings eating in, it was lovely to eat on the roof terrace overlooking the ocean. The house is close to a small shop and butchers that sold most of our needs and we spent a couple of happy days in the local town relaxing in the bars and cafes, all within walking distance, though uphill.
I would recommend hiring a car at the airport as we did, the drive took just over an hour, mainly on the motorway. We used the car a lot to travel to the beach and around the Teide national park, you need strong nerves for some of the mountain roads but it is worth the effort! When we got back to the airport at the end of the holiday we found that the car hire for the week had cost us less than the taxi fare to the airport would have.
Having only visited the south of the island previously I was surprised how much greener and lush the north was, the weather was still hot, though became cooler and misty in the evening.
i would recommend this property to anyone wanting a holiday away from the crowds in a beautiful, quiet area of the island, I wish I could go back tomorrow!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property, quiet area
Liked least: No pool, not close to the beach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2012
Thanks for reviewing Casa Carmela and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajforeman
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Home With Amazing Views To Experience the REAL Tenerife”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Carmela is a beautifully appointed traditional Canarian home that has been lovingly cared for. The roof terraces come with amazing views up to Mt. Tiede and down to the coast and it's great to sit and have your morning coffee in the sunshine.
The home is perfectly situated to explore the north of the island with lovely drives in all directions. Jorge and Lala were very welcoming and Jorge's paintings that adorn the walls give an interesting look at the local lifestyle.
Complete with all mod cons, Casa Carmela is one of the nicest holiday rentals we have come across and definitely head and shoulders above the same same holiday villas you usually encounter.
Thanks again to Karen, Jorge and Lala for a holiday to remember

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The individuality of the property
Liked least: Nothing really but WiFi would have been handy
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing