We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent vacation at Villa Rosa”
other traveller has booked this property
View of sea from Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of sea from Terrace
View of Villa Rosa North Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
View of sea from Terrace
View of Villa Rosa
North Living Room
View to the north from terrace
North Kitchen
North Bedroom King Size
South Front Room Sleeper sofa
South Bedroom Queen Size
South Kitchen
View of shower and face bowl
Hammock in front garden
Guest cottage
Guest Cottage
Sea view and front garden
North Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Zaton, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ColibriSM...
Utila, Honduras
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not what we expected....”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We reserved Apt 1, but checked in 2 days early and stayed in Apt 2, with the agreement to move to Apt 1 in two days, as Apt 1 has no view to speak of. When I said this to owner he was rude and remained so during our entire week. We didn't change spots because we were in Dubrovnik the switch day, but Michael continued to be rude, although the guests who went into Apt 1 would have "had words" as they stated about the crummy view of Apt 1.

Apt clean, but trashy like your spare kitchen drawer. Open cereal boxes and spice packs, towels and sheets not folded, but stuffed into closet shelves so that no personal items could be put away. The bed was uncomfortable with a rail on one side that made it impossible to get out, needing to either crawl over partner or worm way out the bottom...we never figured that out! Nice pics on walls, but one as you enter has broken glass.

The water is more than a couple of minute walk, across a VERY busy street, then locals told us no one swims near because of boats, so need to walk further for swimming areas.

Owner does not recommend nearby restaurants, but they were pretty good and friendly. Also there are apartments to rent directly on the bay, better prices. And almost everyone in Croatia speaks English, so language is NEVER an issue.

Found a fan because didn't want to use a.c. Unit in bedroom during hot afternoons, but it was filthy and husband dismantled and cleaned.... The apartment needs to be de cluttered, cabinets and closets cleaned and junky stuff removed to show off nice things there.

Bus service across from villa nice.

Keep looking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bus service to Dubrovnik
Liked least: Fudging of details advertised, trashy closets, drawers, kitchen leftovers, bed, owner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
If you read the other reviews, you will see that this person is in the minority of one. She was unhappy and unpleasant upon her arrival. She complained becasue she did not have the view that the other apartment has; I explained to her that as she had come two days early< I had done my best to accommodate her and that she could move to the other apartment on Sunday, as reserved. When her husband came down he said he was sure I'd be surprised that they'd decided not to move to the other apartment. After our initial encounter with her, I never saw her again yet she says I was rude to her the entire week. She says I did not recommend restaurants; not true; There are at least five restaurants in the village and the next which I recommend to all guests - in fact they are listed in a document I send to guests ahead of time, THINGS TO DO.
The apartment was clean. Yes the bed does have a bit of a side board but she is the only person who has ever even mentioned it. And yes the fan was a bit dusty. Please see photos of the apartment - you will not see any clutter. And yes one photo has a broken glass - but it is not loose in the frame; i keep it as a memory of my first earthquake in LA where it was broken.
I honestly don't know what issues this woman has, but they are beyond my ability to address. I am sorry she had such an unpleasant stay. Please read the other reviews. 1 vs. 25 - you decide.
Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana W
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent vacation at Villa Rosa”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had an incredible stay at Villa Rosa for our honeymoon. We spent as much time relaxing on the terrace, enjoying the beautiful view, as we did exploring the old city. We would walk across the street in the mornings to go swimming and enjoy wine in the evenings overlooking the sea. Very simple access to the attractions, a quick bus ride.

Michael is wonderful. He will direct you away from the gimmicky tourist spots and will tell you what shouldn't be missed. Our most memorable experiences were based on his recommendations.

Villa Rosa is not to be missed! Do yourself a favor and book this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the host!
Liked least: Nothing to complain about here
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
It was a pleasure hosting you. Thanks for the great review. I enjoyed meeting you and hope you will return.
Best Regards,
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Bay of Delights”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

You may be trying to figure out whether you should try and get a room in Dubrovnik or stay outside the city. We were in this position not long ago and I am so glad that we decided to rent this lovely apartment which overlooks perhaps one of the Mediterranean's most glorious bays.

Dubrovnik is a wonder of the world and definitely worth exploring but in the scorching summertime the streets are like the racks of a toaster. Zaton, just a short bus ride away, offers astounding beauty, warm, clear waters, a selection of excellent restaurants and welcome tranquility.

A half hour walk around the bay through wooded trails leads to magnificent cliffs where it is possible to find spectacular yet sheltered coves which teem with beautiful fish. Pack a snorkel and some swim shoes and look forward to some of the most incredible sights of your life.

A special mention should also go to the host, Michael, who is an Irish-American with a fascinating life story and a gift for real hospitality. He gave us a very welcome ride into Dubrovnik on our first day and we enjoyed drinks with him on his spectacular verandah.

Getting to the bay from the house involves crossing a busy road. This can be a little hairy but plans for a major new road mean traffic should fall off dramatically in the future. It's important to note that there was absolutely no problem with road noise at night and it was not obtrusive when sitting on the balcony.

There's a great supermarket nearby with a superb bakery section and a good service runs from the bus stop outside the house. Excellent air conditioning in the bedroom ensures you can stay cool no matter how sweltering the summer gets.

We'll treasure memories of our time in Zaton, and this well-equipped apartment was a brilliant base for our adventures.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas...
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Restful Holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Villa Rosa on our honeymoon in early July. We absolutely loved every aspect of our visit. First and foremost, Michael the host and owner is gracious and very knowledgeable about the area (He put fresh lavender from his garden on our pillows). He is a tremendous resource for any questions about local activities and he is very professional in communicating about booking of the accommodations.

The descriptions of the apartments at Villa Rosa are all very accurate. The apartment is perfect for a couple trying to relax and enjoy each others company. The village where the apartment is located, Zaton, offers a little bit of everything one might desire while vacationing on the beautiful Croatian coast. There are a few restaurants of every type from fancy seafood to more simple bar fare. If you would rather eat in, a small grocery store is located nearby with reasonably priced food items, some fresh produce and full selection of beer and wine. As far as swimming, there are two quiet little pebble beaches that are great for laying out catching some sun. The Old Town of Dubrovnik is 20 minutes away by cab and a bit longer via the bus which will pick up a few doors down from Villa Rosa. My wife and I enjoyed the distance from the crowds and peaceful atmosphere of Zaton.

The most endearing aspect of the apartment is the incredible terrace. We loved to start every morning outside with a fine cup of coffee (Croatian coffee is excellent) and to finish every evening we enjoyed watching the shimmering lights as they danced on the bay.

The inside of the apartment has everything a couple might need to enjoy a comfortable vacation. The kitchen is fully stocked for cooking your own meals. The bedroom is spacious with a comfortable bed and the air conditioner was greatly appreciated.

All in all Michael and Villa Rosa make for an enchanting holiday. We would recommending a stay there to anyone considering visiting the Dubrovnik area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our host
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thanks so much. I am happy that you and your wife had a romantic honeymoon here. I enjoyed our meal together and getting to know you. Come back!

Best,

Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DigJones
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot outside Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I staying at the Villa Rosa apartment for 5 nights in July 2015. Though the unit is right off the main road it really is a perfect location. Short walk to the water and to the port Zaton which has more than enough good restaurants to avoid requiring a drive into Dubrovnik. However, if you want to go to Dubrovnik it is a short drive or bus ride into the old city. Bus stop is conveniently located across the step. In addition a small, but very busy market is a few steps away. The apartment has a full kitchen thus easy enough to stay in and enjoy the view from the balcony.

Few other positives: (1) washing machine was very critical as it was very hot during our stay and (2) an air conditioner in the bedroom as once again very hot during our stay. As noted right on the main road, not really a highway, so if you have a car you immediately head north/south to a number of destinations. There a literally hundreds of places to stop along the road for a swim.

Micheal was a great host and it was a 100% no hassle stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location with easy access to just about everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind words. You and your wife were great guests and as I said, if you had stayed another week, you'd know the area better than I. I gave recent guests some tips for swimming, you had told me about - the island you can walk out to. They loved it.

Thanks again,

Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$77
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing