We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for holiday with toddler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a brilliant holiday here last Sep/Oct with our little boy who was nearly 2. It was absolutely perfect and I needn't have worried about the very mixed reviews. My main doubt was the dogs as we really don't like them at all but most days they didn't bother us, there were a couple of days when the weather was a bit cooler and they were more awake and slightly annoying but it really didn't spoil our holiday.

Our favourite thing about the holiday was the play areas in all the bars and restaurants. We also loved the toddler pool, beach, playground and indoor soft play at the hotel. Some of the evening entertainment was ok but mostly we didn't bother. we didn't use the creche either as there was loads to keep our little one entertained and he had a big sleep every afternoon. The worst thing was the beds which were really hard.

We didn't find the resort expensive at all for eating out (although we didn't really eat in the hotel itself).

I would definitely recommend it for families with toddlers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KatieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 815 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Alykanas is a great family resort, everything is close by, and reasonably priced. You must try the mini golf in Alykes at the iris bar, 2 18 hole courses, nice bar etc. Plenty of restaurants within a short distance, child friendly beach and rooms ok by local standards. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Depends - Sea view block 100/200 - restricted to sun though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simsgoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed here for a week in october 2011. Have to say i thought it was a really nice hotel, nice friendly staff, nice pools, loads of sunbeds, even a nice bit of grass to sun bathe on! :) The beach is a small walk off the hotel, and when the sea is calm the water was absolutely crystal clear and beautiful. Me and my partner went here just for a nice relaxing week away and i loved it. The restaurants and bars in the resort of alykanas are expensive, i would advise you take extra money with you as we didnt realise just how expensive everything is now and we ended up withdrawing cash from an ATM which is never a good move. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a calm, relaxing escape away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelexboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This was our first stay in a Thomson Family Collection, after hearing raving reviews of other properties in the programme I had no reservations about booking this property. Firstly the reviews about stray dogs are exaggerated, in one week we saw 2, and they just walked away and back out of the hotel if ignored. Facilities for kids are fantastic, 3 pools, beach on the doorstep and a play park, this is all before the excellent kids clubs and fun poolside games come into it. The entertainment around the pool is easily avoided if you don't want to be involved by going to the quieter pool which is right on the beach. The entertainment and kids reps do a brilliant job, without being to forceful, they just come round for a chat most of the time!! The rooms are sufficient, spacious enough for a family of 3 in a studio but for 4 or more an apartment would be essential. The self catering facilities are lacking, however I rarely use them for more than a cup of tea and breakfast a couple of times so we didn't struggle but if you normally cook lots on a self catering holiday it would be fairly difficult I think as there is hardly any space in the kitchenette. As I think is the case with most of Greece they could do with modernisation, a lick of paint etc but definitely 3* standard. The resort of Alykanas was lovely, delicious family restaurants with little play areas in most, a few quiet bars are dotted around too, most of which looked fairly modern. We only did the one trip to smugglers cove, booked through Thomson, 'Pirate Playaway', it was a lovely day out, and again the kids reps that accompany you are fantastic. Overall a fantastic family holiday, I would gladly reccommend to families with kids of all ages.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid being over the main pool if kids have a nap through the day, we overlooked it and somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hillibobs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Spent the last week of the season at the Alykanas. Staff were amazing and could not do enough to help, especially Gloria the Manager. As we were leaving, it looked liked all the rooms were being emptied as modernisation was due to take place on the rooms. So what I am about to write could be totally different next season when the hotel opens again.
Clean spacious rooms, facilities included a fridge, microwave, 2 electric rings, lots of cutlary and crockery. Rooms were allocated on ground, first and 2nd floor, although no lifts unless you stayed in the rooms which were over the bar/reception area. Lovely clean pools, one close to the beach, the other on the opposite side with a children pool too. lots of sun loungers at all pools. Beach towels can be provided for a refundable deposit. A snack bar which is open from breakfast until 6.00pm serving food/drinks/ice cream etc. Entertainment was down stairs in the main building, although perhaps in the summer it may be elsewhere. A mini market on site to get any essentials. Lots of clubs for the children provided by Thomson. A park/play area at the far end of the complex to keep the little ones amused.
We were told that a water park is going to be built on the complex for next year, but not sure how true this is. The brochure will advise. Gardens and surrounding areas, very clean and well kept.
A short walk along the beach will bring you to a couple of bars and restaurants. A MUST is "The Mill" Julie and Spiros are the owners, at the back they have a fabulous pool area with sun loungers, so you have to visit this bar, the hospitality is amazing, they do a Greek night once a week, this should have finished as it was the end of the season, but as we managed to get enough people, Julie very kindly arranged to do one for us and what a fantastic night it was, such a special night and great memories. Many thanks to the two of them, making a lot of people very happy.
At the front of the hotel, you will find horse and carriages which will take you to other restaurants or just for a ride.
There are a selection of bars and restaurants and a handful of shops just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and about 3 super/mini markets too in the resort.
The resort is small and not a lot going on, but enough if you are looking for a relaxed family holiday. The surroundings area is mainly fields with crops and olive trees, it is very pretty. I would like to return and expect the rooms will look great too after the work has been completed, that is of course if this is the plan. The rooms may have been emptied as the hotel was closing for the winter. Either way, no problems, the rooms were clean and comfortable and everything needed was provided.

Room Tip: No lifts to floors unless you are in the main block, so request a ground floor if you have mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anita_and_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.3 km away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
0.8 km away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
441 reviews
2.4 km away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Elegance Luxury Executive Suites
Elegance Luxury Executive Suites
#159 of 277 in Zakynthos
42 reviews
8.6 km away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,301 reviews
15.0 km away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Address: Alikanas, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: RM46 - RM340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing