We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alykanas Village”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykanas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Would like to say that me and my family had a amazing holiday here, The locals was so friendly. Hotel was very clean lovely and friendly... Staff was lovely too.. had no problems at all. pools was very clean... as for the dogs, yes was there but no bother, sometimes barking but didn't bothers us... lots to do for kids Thomson club was really good and nite time too.. Thomson staff was lovely too.. lots to do out side hotel, lots of trips to go on, bonkers bar was our best place, which is just near the hotel, More then enough restaurants in Alykanans... lots of lovely restaurants with kids play areas, A few shops to.. All in all had a lovely time.. went in oct 2012. had really lovely weather.Rooms was a little noisy... plenty of room in them tho, For the money it was really good.

Room Tip: All rooms had some sort of view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa1971kemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
There are newer reviews for Alykanas Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 672 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

This place was a disappointment from start to finish. They have all the main things you need for a holiday (central location, good pools and right by the beach) but all the small things such as customer service were completely lacking.

Our room was fairly well equipped however on arrival our bed sheets had reddish-brown stains on them which we reported to reception. The receptionist's response was not to offer an apology or a solution, only to tell us that the maid would change them later. We just wanted to chill out so we left the room and went out for the day. The sheets were replaced later with more stained sheets which said a lot for their quality standards. We decided to remove them and sleep with no sheets in the end.

There was also no iron in our room which was fine as I wouldn't usually need one - but the reception did not seem to have one either. When we contacted them to request one, they treated us with the same aloof manner as they had with our sheets and said they would call back sometime if they got hold of one. After not receiving a call all afternoon / evening I had to speak to the Thomson reps who sorted one straight away - the reception had just not bothered to contact us. It was such a simple thing but the fact that this four star rated (according to Thomson) hotel could not even sort out an iron was ridiculous.

We also had a problem with some dirty towels as they were not changed for three days and were not dry enough to use after showering. Trying to get some extra towels from reception (the same person again!) was like trying to get blood out of a stone, she initially refused to give us any saying we had to wait until the next day, which was the day that we were leaving the hotel. Eventually we convinced her to allow us one small one each to which she made out she had done us a massive favour as she took them off the pile she had out the back. It was ridiculously petty and rude and I am surprised that so little attention is given to the comfort of guests.

I did send a text to the Thomson helpline about the attitude of the person on the check in desk, which is not normal behaviour for me to do on holiday, but after the third time we had to deal with her I was furious. Thomson's approach to dealing with this, for some reason, was to send one of the Reps to tell the woman that we had made a complaint about her, which clearly would not resolve the situation. We found this out on our last day after check out when she approached us while we were enjoying our last hour before the transfer to say she knew that we had made a complaint about her and asking us what our problem was. It was not a nice situation to try to resolve and I am put off by Thomson because of that.

Apart from this poor service, the other major problem was the constant noise at the hotel. There were stray dogs barking constantly at all hours (I usually love dogs but these just wouldn't shut up). There was a chorus of fire alarms every morning as whoever designed the kitchenettes in the hotel rooms had decided to put fire alarms about the hob (no bacon or toast could be made without setting them off!). There was also loud music played throughout the day and night coupled with screaming children. I wouldn't mind but the songs were on repeat and there is only so much Justin Bieber and Cheryl Cole I can stand. The reps were all very young and clearly only trained to deal with young children and elderly people as their behaviour was extremely condescending and irritating.

I think this is a hotel has a lot of potential but it is targeted at those that are looking for a Butlins style holiday. Whilst there is nothing wrong with this, it's not exactly what you would expect from a four star rated accommodation that is described as 'a laid-back break' in the brochure. I would not recommend this place to anyone (especially couples) unless the main priority for a holiday was non-stop cheesy entertainment in which case this place is fine.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the higher floors to get away from some of the noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lydmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 with Thomsons who rated the place 4 stars which is way off the mark as it is only just 3 star if that. Rooms are clean but noisy as they are in blocks of 12 all with tiled floors and if your in the lower floors as we had the pleasure to experience and some kid wants drag a chair across their room for 2 hours you knew about it whether it was in the room above or at the side. Talked to the rep and receptionist about a room change to a higher floor thinking it might save someone lugging a pram and kids up the stairs but they could'nt be bothered nor oblige. The pool bar food was reasonably priced and the 3 pools also looked ok but didn't really stay around the hotel as we found the mill pool bar 100m along the beach which gave excellent food and service and basically rescued the holiday.
On the plus side the restaurants in alykanas are very good we tried several different ones and didn't have one bad meal, just watch the mosquitos at night in this resort as they are vicious so cover up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hugo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The reason we booked this hotel was it was very cheap on an offer we had. We expected that the price had reflected the quality but were proven wrong. It was a very pleasant place to stay. I believe that had we gone at peak season, there might have been to many children around, but in October it was fairly relaxed and not too annoying.

The beach is very shallow but if you want along it opens a little and the sand becomes softer.
The sea was warm in October, and remains shallow quite a distance from the shore.

Nearby are some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sprthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 wk during the October break. The hotel was very quiet at this time. Clean rooms with cooker, fridge and microwave. Beds weren't the best but had linen changes every other day. There are washing lines on the balconies which came in handy and also hairdryers and tv in the rooms. Excellent choice of 3 swimming pools. The hotel is situated right on the beach but the beach isn't up to much, very narrow and not a lot of sand - as sill as that may sound, the water was crystal clear though. There are water sports and boat hire available on the beach just outside the hotel. The snack bar was great with a fantastic selection of British and Greek food. There is a mini market on site which is open very late. My only complaint would be that the Thompson holiday entertainment team weren't the best and no where near as friendly as they probably should have been. We would definitely go back as it was a great all round value holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetoholiday33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.3 km away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
237 reviews
14.9 km away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,705 reviews
8.6 km away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
257 reviews
12.6 km away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#59 of 73 in Laganas
67 reviews
0.7 km away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Address: Alikanas, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: RM54 - RM377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing