We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Week”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykanas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Just came back from a weeks stay at the Alykanas Village (June 2nd-June 9th). I have to say it was a fantastic weeks holiday for my family and I. For families with young children I would recommend this hotel very highly indeed. For kids it has everything they wanted from a holiday, 1 huge pool, 1 smaller pool for the little ones, one where kids/adults can play pool volleyball, and one right next to the beach, which is deeper than the others. There is also a tidy sized kids play area. The reps worked tirlessly to keep them occupied throughout the day (through the 3 kids clubs), and special mention must be given to "Boogie Baz", "Clairy Fairy" and "Amazing Amanda", and of course Thomson the Dog!!!. To me it says a lot that both the kids club reps and the kids were crying when there were the departures yesterday.

The location for the hotel is perfect too, it is right on the beach, with stunning views out to Kefalonia. The beach too is very safe for kids, shelves very gradually over a long distance. There is also a tidy snack bar on site, in my opinion quite reasonably priced, and serves everything to keep the little ones happy.

Rooms were tidied every day, and for the week that we stayed, towels were changed 3 times. In fact the whole holiday complex was kept spotlessly clean.

The complex also has its own mini market, again prices compared quite reasonably with supermarkets in Alykanas.

One thing I will say is that for excursions within Zakynthos, such as the Water Village, Turtle Spotting and the Shipwreck tour etc, is that you can get a better deal with travel operators in the town, they are half the price of the ones provided by Thomson, with no decrease in quality. The one I would recommend, is quite close to the complex (as you come out of the Alykanas Village walk down towards where the horse & carts are, turn right, and they are just by the Hotel Letsos. It is run by 2 British women (they also hire out quads and mopeds).They have just set up their company, and I can honestly say, they really looked after you. They have a web site called www.specialoffer.gr . I can only speak as I find, and they are well worth a try.

My only regret about the holiday was that we did not book 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
There are newer reviews for Alykanas Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,041 - 1,045 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

I stayed at this hotel along with my partner and 2 children (aged 7 & 4) from May 30-June6.
The hotel is very well presented and was kept clean and tidy. There are three pools. Two inside the main complex and one is in front, literally a stones throw from the beach. The entertainment is very lively around the main pools and the front pool is a lot quieter. The reps do a fantastic job and they are so helpful and friendly, and always have a smile. Our children did not attend the kids club but it seemed very popular and parents had to queue the day before to register for the next days session. The snack bar was expensive and we only ate there once, food was ok though. Minimarket on site was good and the lady was very friendly.
The rooms were quite basic and not up to their 4 star rating. However, they were clean and quite spacious and that was the main thing. We were on the bottom floor and looked out to the pool.
The most annoying thing was that despite being asked not to, people were reserving sunbeds at the crack of dawn. If you are anything like us and enjoy not getting up too early then it can be a problem!!
The hotel setting is absolutely stunning. The beach is beautiful. Shallow and warm waters so very safe for children and it was never crowded at all.
The resort of Alykanas is small but has quite a few restaurants and bars. We found the Apollo to be the best restaurant. The food was excellent!! Busters was great for breakfast. Also Ammos (right past Dilema Bar) was excellent for pizzas and salads in a lovely settting next to the beach. The guy that runs it was so friendly and gave us free cocktails. The Lemon Tree restuarant via horse and cart was also very nice.
We only went on one trip to the Waterpark which was a great day out enjoyed by us all.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definately return in the future!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

This was our first holiday with our 3 yr old daughter. The rooms were good and cleaned daily. I did feel however that 50 euros for the safety deposit was too much but it was handy to be able to hire beach towels so that we did not have to take our own, and to have a good hairdryer. The television had limited channels and a childrens cartoon channel would have been helpful. The pools were lovely, safe and clean but sunbeds were reserved from 830 onwards and when we couldn't get one it was frustrating especially when people were not using them for hours at a time. The snack bar was quite expensive but we bought lunch at the hotel mini market which was well stocked and reasonable.The entertainment was really good and our daughter loved thomson storytime and the evening show. Kids zone was great and she loved this, but during the 2nd week we had to queue up to pre-sign which was a bit of a pain. I found the resort itself lovely, quiet and family orientated, would recommend apollo resteraunt for value for money and the chinese/indian for its lovely food. The staff at the hotel reception were always helpful and the barman very friendly. Maybe more than one washing machine would reduce big queues. We would definatly return to the alykanas village in the future.

Stayed: May 2008
3  Thank may08_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Zante with my family consisting of children aged 7 & 8. The hotel is well presented and situated just off the beach. The hotel room was clean, well equiped with plates etc and had a good view over the swimming pools. I was however not impressed with the cost of the safe deposit box (50 euros!) The room was regularly cleaned 6 out of 7 days with regular clean towels.

The entertainment throughout the day was good with things to do if you want to. The kids club was over subscibed most days and there were long queues to pre-book. The childrens disco was rubbish as it had two songs and one game that lasted 25 minutes, the kids got bored and just wanted to dance to some music!

Two of the hotel reception staff were quite miserable and had trouble raising a smile and even removed pages from the hotel comment book that were not to their liking.
The friendlist person was the woman at the mini market as she was always friendly and chatty.

We had 3 excursions through Thomsons, a trip round the island in a coach where we had a fantastic guide called Kay who was extremely knowledgeable and the trip included some wine tasting. We also went on the off road safari in a 4x4 that allowed us to see other parts of the island but also covered areas already seen in the previous trip. Lastly, we went on the turtle island cruise that was brilliant fun and included swimming into caves and learning about the preservation of the turtles.

The village had various restaurants and bars with our favourites being the Nerada (lovely setting on the beach), Apollo (free half 'kilo' of wine!) and the Lemon Tree.

Overall, we thorougly enjoyed our holiday mainly due to the fantastic weather and the beauty of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stucoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

on first arrival, was given a dungeon of an apartment,water all over the kitchen floor, blood on the shower curtain, mosquitos flying everywhere. generally a first class pit. every room supposedly has a pool view, yes if you craned your head around the corner. we complained and refused two other apartments, because we looked where they where on the complex map. eventually got one with a seaview. the view was brilliant , but the rooms were nothing to brag about. facilities were alright, it depends what you want from your holiday. all in all it wasn't a 4 star resort, i don't know who thomson are trying to kid. i would not recommend this place to any body. if you do go here ,make sure you get one of the rooms with a seaview,as these are the ones which have been refurbished. other people there at the time also got moved from filthey rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amyb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.3 km away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
237 reviews
14.9 km away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 73 in Laganas
1,709 reviews
8.6 km away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
257 reviews
12.6 km away
Portego Hotel
Portego Hotel
#59 of 73 in Laganas
67 reviews
0.8 km away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Address: Alikanas, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: RM55 - RM378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing