We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late summer holiday ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Once again we were looking for a family holiday not too far with a 3 years old. When we found this one looking good as we were quite late booking it.
The hotel is located by a beautiful sandy beach but there are no sunbed down there. You have to get up early morning to manage to take some from the pool area.
We were there in September and it might be the timing but the pools water were freezing cold. There are some kids pools with only 1 lifeguard who sat on the big slides. The slides had their water falls going down so hard would knock an adult down let alone a child.
Our room was located on the ground floor which we liked only till the first night came and some alarms going off for a whole night in the cleaning cupboard just across the aisle. Asked next morning the cleaner just turned it off no problem. Going back from breakfast the alarm was going off again. Had to call reception every time this happening. The tui rep couldn't care less when complained they said we need to talk to the reception. So you can imagine the state after this holiday I was in need for another one.
We booked all inclusive, food average, went out most night to eat freshly prepared food not something sitting under the lamp for who knows what. The staff made it better very kind quick to clean up the tables.
So after all not impressed at all. I wouldn't go there again but talked to people saying that's their 4th holiday there.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Szabina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Visited here for 1 week mid September. Prior to arrival I emailed the hotel and asked for a sea view room which to our excitement we got given - thank you! The room was spacious, clean and well equipped, even had tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water in the mini bar fridge, all complimentary. Food was good, slightly repetitive but this is the norm with all inclusive, I am pregnant and never had a problem in finding something to eat, lots of fresh fruit on offer too! We did eat out a few times as some of the surrounding restaurants looked really good! Food outside the hotel was cheap and tasty. Location was perfect, right on the beach and close to the town, only about a 20 min taxi drive to Zante town which cost us $22 each way. Staff members were friendly, Alex and Adam who worked for Thompson were great. We booked excursions via a shop outside of the hotel rather then with Thompson which we saved a lot of money by doing. All in all a very lovely place that seems very family friendly, we would love to return with our little once once he\she arrives. Thanks for a great holiday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kayleigh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Knew when we booked that season was winding down. If as a couple you want a lovely relaxing week then it's brilliant.
This hotel is geared up for families and the facilities for such are excellent. The place is spotless and there are plenty of pools and sun beds. Can imagine in height of season it's hectic but still well organised.
Staff all friendly and helpful.
Resort worth a venture out. If going at this time of year, all inclusive very good but be prepared to go into resort in the evening as hotel very quiet.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank nuttynel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I don't know what's wrong with everyone in respect of some of the reviews I have read on here. We went at the end of September with our 2 and 4 year olds, and had a wonderful time. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the facilities are completely geared towards young children and having the beach right up against the hotel is fantastic. The water is shallow such a long way out that you can pretty much observe the kids from the sun lounger, and the kids pool is also great.The food was great, it's true that you always get a spaghetti bolognese option, but I assume this is what a lot of customers want. They also had Greek food, fish, fresh grilled meat, a selection of desserts, cheese etc. I wasn't drinking but am told the beer was nice. You get 2 hours a day of kids club for over-3s included in the package, and pay extra for under-3s. All the Thomson reps were very helpful, perhaps a bit annoying that they changed their day off from childcare at short notice so we couldn't use up our prepaid under-3s vouchers, but I also didn't really go into it. The rooms were clean, although I have to say the beds were very uncomfortable, which may just be because I'm pregnant. They could also do with refurbing the bathrooms, but crummy bathrooms are such a generally Greek feature that I wasn't particularly suprised.
I would not come here if I did not have young children though, as there is such a huge volume of children it would probably be annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Freya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Returned to Zante for an AI holiday as love the Greek hospitality. This Hotel is based in the village of Alykanas which was around 1hr 10mins from the airport with 5/6 stops on the way. Noticeably the roads haven't improved in recent years, there are just more potholes and pavements come and go.

Good friendly reception and allocated a room with a sea view and overlooking the far pool, Room was large but basic with double wardrobes and several useful cupboards/drawers but the bathroom needs refurbishing. The shower was not very powerful and the hot water came and went. Beds were very comfortable and the maids seem to come in every day to clean and tidy. Useful tea/coffee making facilities and a good size fridge. Balcony reasonable size, TV had only BBC world news.Useful safe which was free as was the A/C.

Dining was a bit of a disaster. Chose between the school canteen and the local café which had paper placemats. Generally there was a very good variety of food but as usual not always as hot as would like but there is a microwave which helped. As this is a family resort there were a lot of children being independent when getting their own food and as a consequence accidents happen which weren't always cleaned up quickly. Certainly not a pleasant dining experience in the evenings and dress code very casual.

Several pools to chose from and plenty of sun beds which were very comfortable. Large play area and great pool area for the children with a variety of slides. Two pool bars, one serving snacks mainly baguettes but some hot food for a couple of hours mid day. Zorba beer ok but White and Rose wines not very drinkable. Found a Prosecco type fizz which was ok.

Lots going on for the children with several Thomson/TUI helpers but very little entertainment for the adults in the evening, just 3 times a week and unfortunately the night of the Greek dancing it rained.

The Dining area (pink building) which is fairly new is alongside pink apartments which are the TUI side of the hotel whereas the older larger areas belong to Thomson and there is an obvious divide

All in all this is a great family hotel which is focused on families. Wi-Fi was the strangest ever but was strongest in the reception & dining area but never in our room. The main bar was handled by Oddy who was great. Very efficient and never seemed to be stressed despite the queues for drinks in the evening. AI lasted til 12 midnight but the bar remains open until 2am but drinks had to be paid for.

Would we return - NO, unless its with small children who will have a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JeanChris39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.3 km away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
0.8 km away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#4 of 8 in Alykanas
182 reviews
0.8 km away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#13 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
2.4 km away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
8.6 km away
Zante Maris Hotel
Zante Maris Hotel
#7 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Address: Alikanas, Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: RM49 - RM310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing