We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,270)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveller rating
491
438
229
68
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
438
229
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomson reps kids club alykanas village lemon tree snack bar evening entertainment water park beach pool next year family resort self catering ice cream air con stray dogs soft play area young children horse and cart
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

This is quite a good clean hotel, but one of the pitfalls is that the local area is not great. It would s mainly restaurants and bars....unfortunately the environment around the hotel is rather untidy and run down. There is quite a foul smell at various times, but you get used to it. The pools are very good, clean and well maintained. There are plenty of poolside beds which means there isn’t a mad rush in the morning. For all inclusive the drinks are OK...nothing special. The snack food is pretty basic and the breakfasts and evening meals are better. The hotel fronts onto a narrow beach but you need to know that the beds are rented by the hotel at 5 euros x 2 per day. There are the usual water sports etc available. Extremely warm at this time of year.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Euge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

home from a 2 week holiday with friend and our teenage daughters. Firstly this will be a honest review and a comparisson to other 4 T rated hotels visited previously
The Hotel itself is lovely and on the beach ( strip 6 foot wide of sand ) the sea and views are truly relaxing and beautiful. The pools, bars and resturant are lovely areas. Thats the 4 T bit. The bathrooms are already mentioned in reviews, just put the shower on for 5 minutes before you go in to get rid of the smell and keep the bath mat over the drain and you will be fine!
The resturant is always busy and not enough staff to lear up quicky, we ended up setting our own table at times, the food is basic , there is a grill area but in the 2 weeks we were there it was not used, so no fresh grilled fish, meats, carvery or kebabs. All food was on trays and either sloppy or dried out, also not always replenished when empty. No hot puddings or choc fountain as a treat. Also so slushies for the kids Generally poor choice and standard for a 4 T.
Entertainment, unless you are going into the kids club there is nothing for families around the hotel or pool. the evening entertainment TUI advertise is singer every night with same songs,and finishes at 10pm, spent every night in bars in the town for entertainment
Dont book the TUI trips, go to the one next door to Jammin bar for half the price, Also go to Jammin bar at 10am to book the land train for the morning trip and the saturday evening Greek dancing experianve which was simply barking mad amazing fun
hotel staff lovely but the TUI rep and the standard for the price was very poor and overpriced
ps take mosquito spray !!!!

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank billetdoux16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel 10th-17th August 2018 and can honestly say we have had such a great holiday! We are a family of 4 with two children age 4 and 7. We first stayed here last June and after leaving our holiday plans this year until last minute and debating long and hard where to go in the world we decided to return to alykanas as our girls throughly enjoyed it here last year.

Please don't read too much into the negative reviews. Go and have a fab holiday. You will not be disappointed. I have never left a review before on trip advisor but I felt I needed to as some of them aren't a fair representation of what this hotel has to offer.

I will start with the entertainment (or in some reviews-lack of)
The negative-
There is an open air stage/seating area which appeared to be used by the reps of the Norwegian/Scandinavian side of the hotel (newer development) with Bamsi mascot. A mini disco is put on for the little ones at 7:15pm 5 evenings a week. I would say aimed at under 5s. Varied between the Norwegian and English language. My youngest enjoyed but 7 year old wasn't too impressed. We knew this from last year but it didn't put us off as we enjoyed venturing out into alykanas resort and neighbouring Alikes. Would highly recommend The Mill bar, jammin bar, bar Zeus (has a secure play area with swings, Bouncy castle) the lemon tree which you can access via horse and carriage. At the stage area there is no outdoor bar open in the evening which is such a shame. It has so much potential to be just like other family hotels we have stayed in.

The positive!!!! And it's a BIG one!

On our first evening we were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled accross entertainment in the bar area of the hotel. From 8til approx 10pm. It was their first night-
so we fell lucky! We then learnt it was a young duo (singer and guitarist) called ' Acoustix' from the UK. You will not be disappointed. By all means, Google them before you go. Fantastic talent and the hotel are lucky to have them-their names are Katie Brisbane-(singer) and Sam Cheshire (guitaris) Amazing! I can honestly say I would pay to go and see them here in the uk. We couldn't believe it as it changed the dynamics of our evenings as last year we were forced to venture out at night but this holiday, we looked forward to listening to their music which varied each night (from 60's classics right through to the current chart toppers such as Adele, George Ezra, take that, Amy winehouse to name a few. Lovely lovely people who will be entertaining each evening for 5 weeks in total. Our girls were happy singing along whilst we played countless games and dominoes and cards as a family. The quality of their performances was far higher than what you would expect/ever see on any another package holiday so I would say it was a privilege to listen to them for 6 evenings (Tuesdays is their day off as its Greek night where you can join in with all things Greek/dancing etc).

When we did venture out we enjoyed the horse and carriage rides. A lovely activity is a ride up to the lemon tree restaurant and last year, at sunset, we were also taken into the sea at an extra cost which I would highly recommend. Plenty to do...like I said-a holiday is what you make it!

Hotel/house keeping-
Excellent/friendly staff (same as last year i.e reception desk, front of house, restaurant, snack pool bar and evening bar). Our room was clean, modern, what you would expect for a hotel on a Greek island. On arrival to our room we had a fridge with bottled water which was a pleasant surprise, more than enough towels, changed daily etc, air con-added bonus and free use of a safe. Bathroom again as expected bath, shower with glass screen and never struggled with hot water which we have had problems with in other hotels. Our room was cleaned daily apart from the Sunday as it was the maids day off. Again, lovely staff-can't fault.

Pool area- excellent. Spotlessly clean. Two chaps work all day cleaning, maintaining the pools as well as the beach which is a stones throw away from the the hotel. There are 4 fantastic pools in the main hotel area and then a kiddies splash park which my girls loved. Only lesson we learned from last year is my girls wore socks when in the splash park as the tiles we so hot to walk on last year so I went prepared with old socks! Did the job. Not a negative, I hope just a helpful tip. Lifeguard was on duty everyday in the splash park. Bins emptied around hotel regularly and sun beds tidied etc everyday. Didn't have problem getting beds-no mass panic at 6am and tbh we are on holiday so don't stress about sun beds. We always found beds around the pool and on the beach which I found to be a pleasant surprise considering it is peak season.

The beach is absolutely beautiful-one of the real advantage points to this hotel-shallow, calm, clean, warm sea which even my 4 year old could walk out a fair distance and it would still only be up to her waist. The sand is raked daily by the two chaps who sort pool and maintain hotel. Very friendly-happy to engage in conversation etc. Only change from last year is that you can now hire two sun beds and a parasol at a cost of 5euros a day which we felt was reasonable considering prices on different holidays we have been on. We prefer the beach and did not mind paying for beds as the location is superb. Easy distance to pool side bar so nipped back for drinks and snacks etc throughout the day. The usual 'lucky lucky' guys operate selling hair braids, bracelets, bags, the usual stuff you would expect. Again, caused no problems, all friendly and weren't pushy. There are the usual watersport activities available. This year, we enjoyed the pedlo boats with slides at a cost of 10 euros for 30 mins or 15 euros for an hour. Great fun! Perfectly safe, clean, beautiful beach with amazing view of kefalonia.

All inclusive-
Restaurant-large indoor/outdoor seating area which was always spotlessly clean and the staff were always friendly and on the ball with clearing/cleaning and serving guests. More than enough choice and each day the choices changed. Every morning, a chef would make fresh pancakes to order which was very popular. Quality of food was what you would expect in a buffet style restaurant. i would say it was better than other tui/4+hotels we have stayed in the passed and I am a fussy eater!

Pool snack bar was open daily from 10am til 6pm, again can't fault the efficiency of the two chaps that work there each day. Happy, friendly etc and keep the place clean and tidy.snacks include the usual pizza, burgers, hotdogs, chips, pasta, toasties, sandwiches.

Kids club/reps

I can't really comment on this as it is not something we have ever used for our daughters but all the tui reps were friendly, consistent and approachable. Daytime kids club sessions available for all ages. They had themed evenings for the children so I suppose this was maybe the compromise for little evening entertainment? They held 2-3 hour parties which included chocolate parties, pizza parties, pirate parties to name a few in the evenings, which seemed to be well received. usual daily party in the pool type activities, but again, didn't use so can't really comment etc.

Trips-
Lots to go and explore-would highly recommend turtle spotting, boat trip to smugglers cove etc. We had a bus ride to Zante town. Too much to type so all I would say is go and explore this beautiful island.

Go and have a fabulous holiday in a fabulous hotel with fabulous staff. I can honestly say that we had the best time and wouldn't hesitate in returning. A holiday really is what you make it and I hope by me writing this honest review you will stop stressing and look forward to your holiday. I am back home now and would go back in a heartbeat!

Until next year Alykanas village hotel-'Yamas' for a wonderful holiday!

We will be back soon

The Leigh's-room 754 x

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
15  Thank theleighs0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed her at the beginning of August. The hotel was clean, the rooms were great, we had a 2 bedroom suite, and the staff go above and beyond to make you welcome. The location is superb. Right on a sandy beach with warm clear waters to swim and feed the fish in and it's nice and shallow for the kids. The pools are great and the kids loved the splash park. None of the pools ever felt overcrowded and we could always get a sunbed.the food is your usual all inclusive stuff, buts you like and bits you don't. The only thing lacking is evening entertainment but don't let that put you off this really is a fantastic place to stay and we will be going back. Thanks alykanas village for the best holiday we have had

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We stayed here for 10 nights in July/August 2018. Booked through a First Choice travel agent, although it’s a TUI hotel. 2 Adults, 2 Children aged 10 and 6.

Summary
----------------------------------------
The hotel is clean, tidy, generally well presented. Excellent pools, decent food if a little hit and miss. Alykanas is fantastic with lots going on, but quiet enough for families and couples. Due to this we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is seriously let down by a lack of family entertainment, particularly in the evening. We were particularly upset about as we’d been sold this as a TUI Family Life holiday. We would definitely go to Alykanas again, and would consider this hotel if it wasn’t priced as a 4-star all inclusive, because the lack of family entertainment means we’d be prefer to eat and drink out.

If you’re interested in learning more, detail is below.

Location
----------------------------------------
- Hotel is about a 50 minute transfer from the airport.
- Set right on the beach with gorgeous views over the sea.
- It's a 2 minute walk to Alykanas center, which has lots of bars and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed Sakisfaction and The Mill. The center was generally full of families and older couples, and the atmosphere reflected this. Lots of shops to buy souvenirs, clothes etc. Horse and Carts run up and down the main street. The hotel is in a great position as it’s set back slightly from the main centre, meaning it feels quite private but without being secluded.

Facilities / Pools
----------------------------------------
- There are 3 good-size swimming pools, plus a toddler pool, a splash pool, and a volleyball pool. There are also a couple of ‘swimming lane’ pools for those who like take it seriously. The splash pool has a good mix of slides for toddlers and for older children, and is manned by a lifeguard. The others pools do NOT have a lifeguard but do have a gradual depth. We particularly enjoyed the volleyball pool, although it was disappointing that there weren’t more games organised by the reps (I think there were 2 in the 10 days we were there, and they weren’t well promoted). On most days at about 5pm the reps did a ‘party in the pool’ where they danced with the kids and this was enjoyed by all.

- On-site supermarket is well stocked with souvenirs, snacks/drink/beach wear/pool equipment

- Reception is manned 24 hours a day.

- Rooms include a safety deposit box at no extra charge.

- Generally plenty of sunbeds, providing you weren’t too fussy about where you wanted to be. Many people put towels out at around 07:00am so get up early if you want to secure a spot!

Rooms
----------------------------------------
- We had a family room. It was a reasonable size with a decent amount of storage, but definitely in need of some TLC. The bathroom in particular was old and grimy.

- Beds were ROCK HARD. If you like a soft mattress, don't stay at this hotel!

- Fortunately our room was in a great location for the pool, we could just jump over the patio wall and we were there. Most rooms are close to one of the swimming pools

- Maid service everyday and towels were changed every 2 days. More towels could be requested from reception.

Food and Drink
----------------------------------------
- This in an all-inclusive hotel. The restaurant does breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast and lunch were both generally good, with the usual choice of English and continental dishes. Dinner was more hit and miss. Sometimes great, sometimes very bland. Many other guests seemed to be of the same opinion.

- The pool bar does snacks in the afternoon, including help-yourself ice cream (which the kids loved) and sandwiches. You can also order hot snacks from the bar.

- The drinks are all served in plastic cups, even in the evening! Tip to the hotel – buy some more glasses! Drinking wine from a small plastic cup is not good! If you’re quick enough you may manage to get one of the half a dozen glasses they have. We ended up buying our own from the local supermarket, and the bar staff were happy to fill them up (they were always very friendly!). It’s well-worth doing this as it will save you many trips to the bar!

- The beer is a local one, fairly weak but OK. The wine is also drinkable. There is a choice of local spirits but you have to pay for branded spirits.

Entertainment
----------------------------------------
- The entertainment was a HUGE let down. We were sold this as a TUI Family Life hotel. I still haven’t been able to verify if this is actually true or not. We specifically requested a hotel with family entertainment in the evenings. There was nothing like this whatsoever. There was a singer each evening, who was good, however this was certainly not going to keep the kids entertained. We ended up either playing cards (like many other couples), or going into town. Fortunately the town had lots going on, but of course this involved spending money when we’d paid for all-inclusive. There is a stage and they put a mini-disco on for the very young children at 7pm each evening, but nothing else. VERY DISAPPOINTING!

- Our kids were aged 6 and 10. The kids club had a couple of things that interested the 10 year old (the chocolate party was great, albeit an extra charge), but generally it was aimed at younger children. There is a football pitch and my son took part in a match, but it was poorly advertised and very few children showed up as a result.

- Very little entertainment during the day except for the daily ‘party in the pool’ (lasts about 15 mins) and an occasional volleyball game.

Stuff to do
----------------------------------------
- The beach (which is right next to the hotel) has lots of leisure activities going on, including peddle boats, jet skis, banana boats and para-sailing. All chargeable of course but reasonably priced.

- Just down the beach there is a fantastic english-run bar called ‘The Mill’ who do nightly entertainment, including tribute acts (we saw “Oli Murs”). They have a Greek night on the Friday which is fantastic for families/couples. Our kids loved watching the plate smashing, fire show, and got involved in all the dancing. Would definitely recommend you check this out. The branded lagers/ciders at The Mill are quite expensive but the jugs of wine are good value.

- Right outside the hotel there are loads of horse and carts that will take you to nearby towns. There is also a horse and cart trip from right outside the hotel that will take you into the sea and to a local farm. This was 20 euros and was very good value.

- There were quite a few excursions offered by the reps. We did the half day turtle trip which cost 96 euros for a family of 4. No doubt this was much cheaper in town (some friends of ours did a full day trip for less) but we wanted the security of booking it through the reps. We enjoyed it, although we barely managed to see any turtles due to the sheer volume of boats that surrounded any turtle that dared come up for air!

Spending Money
----------------------------------------
- This is always a tough one to call on an all-inclusive, so I thought I’d share our experience. We stayed for 10 days and spent around 800 euros. Last year in Spain we spent barely 300. There are two reasons for this. First, Alykanas had far more things to spend money on (we were in a quiet part of Spain). Secondly, because this hotel has no evening entertainment, we were forced to go out into the town much more often.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews