We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,827)
Filter reviews
1,827 results
Traveller rating
1,210
453
119
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,210
453
119
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantcorfu townkontokali bay resortbay view roomprivate beachhalf boardindoor poolbeach barfive star hotelbreakfast and dinnerwonderful hotelwater sportsgreat facilitiessandy beachesat lunchtimebed and breakfast basissea water
Filter
Updating list...
1,003 - 1,008 of 1,827 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We are just back from a week here at this lovely hotel and have absolutely no complaints only praise.
We stayed in a deluxe suite which was large, modern and had all the amenities we could ask for. It had a fantastic view over the pool out towards the mainland and although it was located over the top of the main dining room it was also very quiet.
The whole hotel was well kept, the beach was great as it was reasonably sized with plenty of loungers and sun cover and you were only ever a few steps from the sea.
The food again was very good. We ate at the A'La Carte restaurant on the first night but found that the buffet was just as good. I particularly liked the lunches at the beach bar/restaurant with freshly griddled seafood/meat of your choosing.
I think that the welcoming and friendly attitude of the staff is what really makes this hotel. Everyone makes you feel at home and I must thank Doukas and Lambros in particular who were Maitre D's in the restaurant. We felt like we had been here before. It is obvious that Kontokali does receive a lot of returning guests but unlike some other comments on here rather than a criticism that should be admired. Those returning guests were welcomed like old friends but it was not to the detriment of us or others. i just wish it would have cracked a smile on some of the Russian guests faces but you can't have everything.
We will return despite the miserable Russians and look forward to it. Thanks again Kontokali!

Room Tip: Deluxe suite is the size of 2 guest rooms with a seperating sliding panel and larger balcony. TV and mini bar in both rooms. Ideal for us (2 adults and 1 three year old)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Explore802980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

“Dear Neil&Amanda,

Thank you very much for your great review posted on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your Suite and all its amenities as well as our food in our restaurants.

Thank you also for noticing the friendliness of our personnel and I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Doukas and Lambros. I am sure they will appreciate your kind words. The high percentage of repeat guests we have at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa is because of our personnel, which is the ‘heart and soul’ of our values and it has been cultivated over decades.

We, at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa are continuously striving to meet or even exceed the expectations of all our multinational guests. We greatly appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at this pleasant,relaxing,but quite impersonal hotel. Room and general amenities good and what one would expect from a 5 star hotel. Staff polite, but did not find them particularly friendly,welcoming or helpful. No information provided about surrounding area or places of interest to visit. Hotel itself is pretty remote with nothing going on in walking distance. Stayed half board, food was OK, but really nothing special. Great if you just want a few days to get away from it all and relax in the sun in beautiful sorroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank femaleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

“Dear femaleone,

Thank you for your positive comments on our property. Great customer service, unique holiday experience (quality food and accommodation) are our #1 goal and we are so pleased that you gave us the opportunity to serve you.

I am very sorry that your experience / interaction with our personnel were not as positive as that of other guests comments posted on this site. Fairly often guests comment that one of our greatest commodity or competitive advantage comparing with other properties is the friendliness of our personnel.

We appreciate it very much for taking the time to write about our services and facilities of our property. Your comments are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa soon."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Spent a week at the Kontokali Bay Resort starting 18.6.12. Got to say it was the best Greek Hotel we have ever stayed at. The hotel was extremely well run, with very friendly staff.The meals were excellent especially the lunchtime barbecued fish and shrimps. There were plenty of watersports available, but we were there for the sun loungers on the hotel's own beach(which got plenty of use)!.
Our room was well presented and very clean, with a beautiful sea view. It was pleasant in the early evening to sit on the balcony to look out across the bay toward Corfu harbour.
The hotel is approximately 15 mins out of Corfu town which can be visited by using the hotel's own bus or by taxi (15 euros) . Corfu town is definitely worth a visit for its cultural and historical sites.
I would definitely visit the hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackbag_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

“Dear blackbag_1,

Congratulations on discovering us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa!

We are appreciative for your frank and candid comments posted on Tripadvisor. You have been kind enough to point out the many little touches that our guests seem to appreciate. It is always nice to receive positive comments about our services and facilities, but more important for the friendliness of our personnel.

Thank you once more for your very positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming back soon”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

As we both work in the hospitality and retail industries my partner and I have high expectations when it comes to our holidays and service. We are both so impressed with our experience at Kontokali Bay this last week that it was a no brainer to share our thoughts, particularly as we used the site to review before going!

Every member of staff made you feel very welcome as soon as we arrived (we were expected!!) and throughout the stay the team were smiley, friendly, exceptionally helpful (we had a mini problem with sports channel for the US Open!) and always remembered you - even to the point of remembering the drink you ordered from the first instance.

We'd like to mention specifically:
Polys who was always efficient and friendly in the Beach Bar and Ben in the hotel Bar who makes a mean Tiramisiu
Dinomachi - who's welcoming smile and conversation at breakfast and dinner was always sincere
Loukas and Xenia who looked after us in the A La Carte restaurant. The 2 of them are a slick team our glasses were never empty, the recommendations for meals was spot on and the surprise birthday cake topped it all!
Doukas and the other maitre'd who as well as making a point of introducing themselves and offering their help, ensured everything ran seamlessly
Roula and the Spa team - I had a fantastic Paradise Massage and back massage during our stay and we regularly used the gym and spa facilities which are some of the best I've used.

Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and it made our stay completely stressfree. I'm not surprised most of the staff have been there for many years their cohesiveness as a team is clear.

As for the hotel, it was always spotlessly clean both in the public areas and rooms. The Pool and Beach area is fantastic (pictures shown are real!). The Spa is to a very high standard, plenty of treatments available and the gym is well equipped. The food in the buffet was great and varied and the A La Carte much higher standard than you might expect.

The location is great, quiet but also only a short walk to bus stop into Corfu town (every 30 mins) and local tavernas, marina and shop.

We would definitely consider returning to the hotel in the future and offer the highest recommendation and would like to thank everyone for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: The main hotel has views of both the beach or car park!! The Garden rooms which we had were quieter and had options for plunge pools with beach view. Beach view rooms get less sun into early afternoon.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lawsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Lawsathome,

Thank you so much for your superb comments posted on TripAdvisor.

We pride ourselves on the service and facilities we provide to our guests and this is only made possible by the great team we have at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

I am personally going to pass on your compliments to the team members and I am certain your kind words will encourage them to continue their hard work to provide unique experiences to all of our guests at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

Thank you for being such a good ambassador of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa – Brand name and certainly we look forward to welcoming back in our resort”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Really enjoyed our week at this hotel - we thought the food was particularly good and we had breakfast and lunch every day and 2 dinners in the a la carte restaurant. Our only real complaint was that there were only just enough sun loungers for guests and we seemed to get the last 2 every day. We also thought the spa treatments were very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

“Dear jlancaster,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kontokali Bay Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post your comments about your recent holiday with us on TripAdvisor site.

I was very happy to see that you enjoyed our food in our various Food outlets.

We rectified the temporary shortage with the sun-loungers and there are plenty of them for all our guests. As far as the Spa being expensive guests can always take advantage our daily special offers.

We hope that we may welcome you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at manager@kontokalibay.gr, so I may take personal care of your booking.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews