We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good staff, something is missing.”
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Karfas
Reviewed 13 September 2016

this hotel has all the right things: very nice staff, fantastic view on the best beach of Chios, rich breakfast, a pool.. but something is still missing. Some sort of a finesse. Maybe the way the rooms are furnished, maybe the bar. Anyway - not bad at all. Satisfying and nice. You will need a car to go around, but you can just stay and enjoy the view.
The restaurant of the hotel is quit good, better than many restaurants outside and not more expensive. I'm vegan and the chef made me some vegan food, but I had to buy the ingredients.

Room Tip: first floor is 1 minute from the pool and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KerenOr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Sand beach is nice but Hotel , service and foods are poor. We stayed there 82€ for 2 people but it is expensive vs. Alternatives in Chios. We used booking to make reservation but they cancel our reservation accidentally and did not inform us , we realised it when we got cancellation notice from booking which was a big unpleasant surprise for us. I called them understand why this happened but they just denied their fault and asked me to fix it through booking etc.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Oktay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

this hotel has a very nice swimmingpool and poolbar, friendly staff. Sand beach is next to the pool, you can easiely walk more then 100 meters in the sea water.
Rooms are nice and arround are enough restaurants and shops. Capital city Chios is only a few km away. We like tis hotel and place very much and will be back in this friendly place.
A pitty of daily arrival of refugees from Turkiye border(Syrie)

Room Tip: ask seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank victorbruggeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

It is an average hotel, we spent the previous weekend. The rooms were a bit old and dirty. The hotel has a long beach in the front, and the sea is amazing. The service was very good, the staff were very helpful. There was a problem with the wifi. It was not working in the room. We could only use it at the reception or on the beach.

Room Tip: You should choose the rooms with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siminb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Hotel is rated 4+ which we found to high.Some bad cleaning and old rooms with 11"television with few channels.
Karfas is a quit ,small town with supermarket and restaurants and an ok beach.Advice is to rent a car and explore the island.Lot of nice pbeaches and ancient towns.People of Chios is very nice and polite.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor and in the building with the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karfas
4.4 km away
Grecian Castle Hotel
Grecian Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chios Town
205 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea View Resorts & Spa
0.4 km away
Erytha Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Plaka Studios
Plaka Studios
#2 of 6 in Karfas
45 reviews
5.8 km away
Sea Breeze Hotel Apartments
Sea Breeze Hotel Apartments
#1 of 1 in Agios Emilianos
55 reviews
5.1 km away
Chios Chandris Hotel
Chios Chandris Hotel
#2 of 7 in Chios Town
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Address: Karfa - Agias Ermionis, Karfas 821 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Chios > Karfas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Karfas
Price Range: RM245 - RM495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing