We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
282
115
25
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
115
25
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing getaway the hotel offers breathtaking views main building spello km unmade countryside luigi privacy
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We took apartment 34 in cottage house located 0,7 km from the hotel. The reason was we were together with our dog and wanted to have some privacy.
The apartment is big with kitchen, so you can prepare breakfast on your own. Good choice as you start your day whenever you want.
There is a really big space in front of the house, so you feel really alone.
In front of the house there are chairs and table where you can relax and Have lovely view on Umbria landscape.
There is a swimming pool area nearby (0,3 km) with good infrastructure, including showers, bar and restroom. Of course with nice view on surroundings.
Also there are some animals, which make the vacation even nicer- horses, cows, donkeys and boars.
And many, many thanks to service staff. Really helpful and friendly.

Few hints:
- Do follow hotel's recommendations how to reach the destination (once you get to Assisi follow the road signs to Gualdo Tadino and then take road to Armenzano)
- I was surprised that we paid half price for cottage house vs hotel price. It is 3 stars standard, but good enough to enjoy your vacation in the way you want to
- the hotel offers various discounts so you can use it
- the road from Assisi or Spello is twisted and narrow, so plan 30 minutes for driving before you reach any town
- there is a restaurant near by the hotel with breathtaking views

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank aa884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_sirignani, Proprietario at Le Silve di Armenzano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for this very good review and for information about our hotel, cottage and road for our next guest! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We stayed here for 4 days during early September and it was the perfect escape into the beautiful Umbrian countryside - incredibly views in such a serene setting. During the day we honestly felt like we were the only people around. We explored all of the walks across the estate, enjoying the woods, meadows and various wildlife (a couple of the walks are pretty serious trails). The hotel itself is beautiful and our room in the main tower was charming and comfortable. Food in the restaurant was very good - we enjoyed dinner on several nights with plenty of variety and excellent local wines. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Day trips driving out to Assisi, Spello and Montefalco completed a wonderful trip. There were just a couple of areas of the immediate surroundings to the hotel (e.g. the tennis courts) that looked somewhat tired and in need of refurbishment. But this is a minor point. We would very happily return.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_sirignani, Proprietario at Le Silve di Armenzano, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your review! We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location in nature, the style of our facility, the facilities and the kitchen! We are waiting for you in Umbria for more holidays in the Le Silve estate. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We re-visited this hotel where we stayed on hour honeymoon in 1998. We're glad that little of the atmosphere had changed. The property is a centuries old inn where pelgrims could stay on their way to Assisi.

Highlights of the hotel are the stunning, panoramic and outdoor dining area with views al the way to Perugia (1 hour by car) and the new pool which is a 15 minutes walk on the estate (or 2mins by car). Indoor dining when its calder is also not bad, by the fireplace.

The hotel sits on a 200ha (400acres?) private estate, 12 km's from Assisi. The road from Assisi to the hotel is very narrow and steep so it will take you at least 30 minutes. But it is a beautiful ride. The estate offers various walks or horse rides. The hotel offers massages, which were really nice.

The remoteness of the hotel means you will find yourself wanting to have diner at the hotel. The menu is excellent and they provide good choice and advice on (local) wines.

We stayed for a week and took various trips in the area (Assisi, Spello, Perugia, etc) in this historic area.

Romantic, rustic, historic. Don't hesitate to book.

Room tip: Take a room in the main building and suck up the "In the name of the rose" atmosphere.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotman_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_sirignani, Proprietario at Le Silve di Armenzano, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks very much for his kind words of praise! we are pleased to know that staying at Le Silve has given to you the emotions! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

This country retreat is in a national park -a beautiful spot to recover from the crowds of Assisi. (It is a good 20 minute drive up narrow, winding roads.) The buildings are lovingly restored. The chill of the fall day was erased by the warmth of the fires in the fireplaces which added to the charm. The beds are stiff and the pillows flat and the combination did not provide a restorative sleep.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WarmHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_sirignani, Proprietario at Le Silve di Armenzano, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you very much for your review! your praises and suggestions we need to keep improving to give emotions to your stay at Le Silve! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This hotel is part of the Romantik chain of hotels. The location is very peaceful, sitting high on the hill. The breakfasts are wonderful with plenty of pastries, yogurt, eggs, ham bacon, etc. Dinners were also quite nice if you do not want to venture into Assissi. The road getting to Le Silve is narrow and sometimes difficult. However once you arrive, you are able to relax and enjoy!

Room tip: The place is very rustic, having used original beams from when the structure was first built many many years ago!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peterjc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_sirignani, Proprietario at Le Silve di Armenzano, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you very much for your review! your praises and suggestions we need to keep improving to give emotions to your stay at Le Silve! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews