We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,947)
Filter reviews
1,947 results
Traveller rating
554
716
372
169
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
716
372
169
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschagres rivermonkey bartour deskaerial trampanama canalswim up barcaravan tourhammock on the balconygift shopall inclusive packagenight tourorchid gardenfree nightrainy seasonriver viewembera indian villagenature lovers
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,947 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Poor service, Night safari is a joke. very pricey for poor quality. None of the staff were friendly and no one spoke English. It is the nearest place to stay if you are doing an early morning fishing trip. They have you and your are at their mercy, High prices and rotten service.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank smalon372004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Director de Recepción at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear smalon372004
Your evaluation is greatly appreciated as well as your helpful observations, which have been taken into consideration with the Area Managers, to make sure we can offer in a future stay a quality service,
regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Let’s start by saying that the location of this hotel is absolutely stunning. It is unique in being in the rain forest and by the canal. No other hotel in Panama has such an amazing position. And that’s why it is such a shame that the hotel itself is terrible.

We last visited Gamboa in 2006 and it looks like not a single dollar has been spent on the hotel since. Quite simply it is run down. Fortunately we were only there for one night. Any longer would not have been very pleasant.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening where we had the buffet. It was of a very poor quality and unacceptable for a hotel which charges the prices it does. The desserts in particular where horrible.

All of the above could be forgiven (and I would have perhaps knocked a star or two off my review) if it wasn’t for the bar staff in the Monkey Bar. Lots of reviews have written how slow they are. I could put up with slowness but it was the breath taking rudeness of a couple of them which was unbelievable. I won’t go into the gory details here but it included ignoring, goading and basically taking the piss out of us. I pride myself on always being polite, considerate and patient with busy staff, so to be able to wind me up so much that I ended up shouting across the bar took some doing. For that reason alone I won’t be going back to Gamboa.

To the owners of this resort - it is time you sold it to an investor or hotel chain who is prepared to put some money into it.

To the manager of this resort - to have staff like you do in the Monkey Bar is a disgrace. Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and do something about it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank EricPDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Mr. EricPDC we are really sorry for the inconvenience that you had in our hotel and we also apreciate the review you made of all the areas of the hotel. We are getting in touch with the staff and we are going to do our best to improve the service. Again sorry for the bad experience. We hope in a further future you can come back and visit us again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

filthy rooms, poor service at the restaurants as well as check in. food quality very poor. for the prices just not acceptable. my recommendation: stay in the city and do a day trip to Gamboa Reaort to experience the great location

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pschom825913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Director de Recepción at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear pschom825913
Your evaluation is greatly appreciated as well as your helpful observations, which have been taken into consideration with the Area Managers, to make sure we can offer in a future stay a quality service
regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

3 Stars for the hotel - 5 stars for the incredible staff we met, Karla and Natalie who were our guides to Emberra and the Arial Tram and 1 star for the speed of service.
The hotel was just OK...its long past time for some updates and there were never enough people to handle core things like check in, check out, tour schedules, concierge etc. There didn't seem to be any management presence and core hotel stuff just wasn't being done in any sort of efficient manner.
Karla and Natalie - seriously awesome people. Karla took us up the aerial tram and was kind smart and fun to learn from. Natalie took us to the Embera tribe and really made the trip educational, interesting and you really felt the love she has for these people.
1 star for the service of the cafe on the main floor...this was awful. Slow orders, slow to get a menu, slow to get not so great food, slow bar and then....slow to get checked out to get out of there. It just was awful.
So much potential in the hotel...just needs to be better managed.

Room Tip: Go for the rainforest and the Embera but expect some bumps
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Director de Recepción at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Drew D
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property.
Thank you for all your compliments and hope to have you back in a near future
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The lobby is everything that a 5 star resort should look like. The view from the Monkey bar that overlooks the river is 5 stars. The pool area looks like it would be a 5 star pool area from the lobby, but once you are actually at the pool it is not the case. It needs to be cleaned regularly and you can tell it is not. The lounge chairs need to be cleaned daily with a brush and hosed down, they just look dirty. The rooms are more like a 3 star motel, not like the 5 star rates this "resort" charges. The rooms smell moldy and the air conditioners are very loud. Beds are servacible but not even close to 5 star standards. Furniture is sparse but room was clean. The food is expensive. For the price next time I'll stay down the road at the Raddison and just book tours as a non guest.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Juliegtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Director de Recepción at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Juliegtravels
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property; this will help us in order to improve our quality standards and to provide you with excellent customer service.
regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews