We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Nearby Hotels
DR Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastin Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$85
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olive Tree Hotel(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arena Residence(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TH Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$39
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$40
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OK Hotel(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lexis Suites Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$124
US$110
Lexis Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
210
275
87
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
275
87
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe club loungehotel shuttleshuttle servicebusiness tripswimming poolgolf clubnice hotelkoi pondrooms are largepremier roombatu ferringhiroom service isfree shuttlequiet locationnice poolfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The view of the ocean from our hotel room is simply majestic!!!
Room is excellent and definitely worth the price.
Food was great with wide range of menu and selection (during breakfast is my favorite time)

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fadli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Equatorial Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the true Hotel Equatorial hospitality as well as our culinary delights.

I truly appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Penang. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hagedoorn
Director of Operations
whagedoorn@pen.equatorial.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Apart from the fact that I think this hotel is better as a venue for business travelers (especially when you want to organize forums and conferences), it's also quite convenient if you want to take your clients out for a round of golf. There is an adjacent golf course and according to my golfer colleagues, it's pretty good. I'll just have to take their word for it.

The hotel, however, was a nice surprise. Reception was warm and check-in was swift. The design of the hotel draws one back into the 80s but upon entering the rooms, you will get updated finishings. Definitely spacious and comfortable. Good firm bed and amenities are pretty standard. Should you choose a room, try to get one of the higher floors if you don't want to be bothered by music coming up from the poolside band in the evenings.

As we had stayed there for three nights for our own company event, we had no problems with the hotel not having enough activities for us to do. Something a leisure traveler may want to consider. There is really not much else save for the swimming pool. It's not really a big setback unless you totally depend on the hotel to entertain you! My opinion though, the pool is situated in front of the coffee house so it's a little awkward...

In Room service was pretty quick and it's also best that you order the hotel specialty from the menu. The breakfast spread was quite ample and although the hotel was fully booked, we didn't feel crowded as the tables were well spread out and food was replenished promptly. We do recommend the Japanese restaurant as we had an awesome meal there. The Kampachi is quite well known for good quality food and we certainly weren't disappointed.

Nett nett, the hotel is great for business travelers but not so much as a holiday destination unless you're visiting friends or family in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Definitely higher floors for me.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbraCaBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Equatorial Penang.

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Hotel Equatorial Penang.

It is thanks to your feedback that we can focus on continuously improving our services and facilities for which we are renowned for and I thank you for sharing some of the highlights your experienced.

Once again I thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Equatorial Penang.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hagedoorn
Director of Operations
whagedoorn@pen.equatorial.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

I love everything about this Hotel. Been here for honeymoon last 4 years and came back just for a short holiday. The hospitality is improving so much. From friendly staff, to well maintain room, to superb breakfast spreads. Despite located in the middle of city, the hotel is nicely tuck and secluded on its own. Easily access by main road. The swimming pool is really nice as its not too chlorinated, its not too deep..just a nice depth for leisure and relaxing. I seriously love the breakfast spread as they taste better than any 5 star hotel i went.
The hotel rate is affordable and not overly price. The free latest movie streaming and free wifi. Will certainly staying here again everytime I am in Penang.

Room Tip: higher floor has better view and quieter
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Equatorial Penang!

We are very appreciative for the time you took to leave a review on Tripadvisor.

It gives us pride and great satisfaction to see that you enjoyed our hospitality so much. Our team at Hotel Equatorial Penang is always focused on delivering the highest level of service to all guests and it is therefore delightful to see we achieved a great experience. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team which will boost them even more to continue doing an excellent job.

We hope to welcome you and your husband back to the hotel to celebrate your anniversary for many years to come.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hagedoorn
Director of Operations
whagedoorn@pen.equatorial.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Rooms excellent, Restaurants excellent and over all friendly service with efficiency.
Food was great with a wide range of food types for all cultures.
The staff spoke English which made my stay extremely easy.

Room Tip: lots of people smoke so pick a NON-SMOKING room
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulmcwilliam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Equatorial Penang.

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see you had such a great stay and conference.
At Hotel Equatorial Penang we try to cater to all guests from different cultures and it is therefore wonderful to learn you enjoyed the wide variety of food.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hotel Equatorial Penang.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hagedoorn
Director of Operations
whagedoorn@pen.equatorial.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Had stayed in Equatorial before and it did not disappoint me.

The check in was fast and efficient even though the time was late at night.

The room was spacious and comfortable.

After discussing with colleagues staying, the best room are those not overlooking the swimming pool as the singing in the evening goes on and disturb the guests.

The only downside to the hotel is that it is on the hill with not many activities which other hotels with adjacent shopping malls, and the only options is the hotel restaurants.

Definitely a property to stay again.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank SayanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEP_Management, Manager at Hotel Equatorial Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Equatorial Penang.

We are very appreciative of the time you took to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Although we are located on the top of the hill (therefore boasting spectacular views) there is no shopping mall connected to the hotel. However, for our guests that wish to go out during the day or in the evening we do have a complimentary shuttle service available to the nearby Queensbay Shopping Mall. You might be interested in using this service on your next visit, please visit our website to have a look at the schedule under “Facilities” and “Transportation”.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to the honour of welcoming you back to Hotel Equatorial Penang.

Yours sincerely,

Willem Hagedoorn
Director of Operations
whagedoorn@pen.equatorial.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews