We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night in Jerejak”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jerejak Rainforest Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Night in Jerejak”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The place is quite unusual, as it faces one busy street in Queensbay Mall. But once you are in the island, it makes you get closer to nature. The staff are friendly and accomodating.

Our room was upgraded to a chalet and the room was beautiful. We had problems with the light in the toilet, but when I called the front desk, the electrician came to check it out. The one thing that I only didn't like is that the only available shows to watch are local channels, mostly in Bahasa Malaysia or Chinese, which for me is not really tourist friendly. If the channels have english ones or even a cable, then we don't mind staying in the hotel room mostly for the day. There was spider or some insect also, but this are understood since you are in a jungle. But I had a nice restful sleep, which is not ordinary if we are on a hotel.

There is not much choice n the breakfast buffett and it takes time for the eggs to be cooked since there is only 1 cook doing it. The BBQ dinner also didn't meet our expectation as only 1 kind of fish, chicken, lamb, hotdog are in the menu, together with the chicken and beef satay. Nothing much really.

After our activity (we did the suspension bridge and the flying fox), we walked behind the restaurant and the area where they put the trash is unkept, so I'd say better avoid that area.

It would have been a marvelous resort if the place is kept and the beach is made clean. I'd love to come back only if they have more to offer.

Room Tip: better to get chalets near the lobby building so you can just walk from the room to the main activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phurple0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    21
    24
    22
    20
See reviews for
18
30
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
PJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

i just went there last week. the room is nice and big. but the breakfast is room to improve.
the service of the front office is pretty good. it would be better if they can make their beach cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

You come here because you want a little bit more luruxy than you usually get? Us too and this is what we got:

1. A nice room, like wooden style cozy bed, covered in standard white sheet. a 21 inch old tv with malfunctioning remote control, water heater, and a spacious bath room. everything is fine, except for the curtain which was so dusty. we asked them to change it twice, since my husband has astma, but they did not. the second time a man came to wiped the curtain with some wet fabric.

2. average to poor service. I think the servants are not well trained to provide service. they dont know exactly the value of satisfied customers. when we came, we must wait 1 hour outside the room standed because the room boy got the wrong key and the house keeping was no where to be found. the room boy was very nice, but he was just a trainee.

3. extra extra cost. unless you got dinner and lunch vouchers, you must eat in their restaurant and they are not cheap. we ate in the city for 5-10 ringgit and we got our stomach full. here in this restaurant, we should join buffet which cost 50 ringgit. you can order ala carte, but more than half of the food in the menu were not available. so when you calculated how much you'll spend, include lunch and dinner for at least 20-50 ringgint more per person. the reason why you cant eat somewhere else is because this hotel is in an island. you can get food somewhere but you must take the boat for 10 min to the penang island and find restaurant there.

4. the games they provided can be pretty fun, if you like small challenge. they are suspension bridge, flying fox, cycling around the forest, climbing and the like. it cost 25 ringgit for 5 selected games. you can also choose to ride ATV, a bit more expensive..or just play bilyard and swim for free. they have good pool for kids max depth 1,2 m, and a small tent near the water where there was live music in good weather, every evening.

5. the alley, the construction, the maintenance of the whole hotel area is so bad. it chould have been a 3 or 4 star resort if they maintain the hotel well and provide good service. but it is now just a 2 star resort, i think. we discovered that this place is owned by the government and managed partly by the government. the malaysians use this place for government and company trainings, seminars and meetings. maybe that's why the service and maintenance is not very good. they do not really look for profit.

6. we have heard that the hotel manager is not a very professional nor amazingly kind person, and we have experienced it. when we came to him to say we mind paying 20 ringgit per person for the boat to go back to main land, we also told him about us having to wait for 1 hour outside the room waiting for the key to enter. and he only gave us 10 ringgit disount for the boat trip. nothing more.

7. the buffet food are much better than the a la carte food. when we were there, they provided attraction ..some men with fire games..which was cool and we enjoyed it very much.

8. it's good to come here with your family, small kids..i think it can be very good idea. but it is not a place for romance or pampering your self with good service.

We dont tell you not to come. we might come there again actually, maybe with kids or small cousins. but be prepared of what you're going to get. otherwise you wont enjoy the vacation and the money you have spent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IndonesianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bayan Lepas hotels

Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I spent 2 days at Jerejak with our 3 small children. We found the staff very accommodating and friendly. We booked a deluxe room and it was clean and spacious. Only problem was the mosquitoes. There were lots of mosquitoes in our room hiding in the sheets and curtains. Our children were covered in bites in the morning!
My husband and I did archery, and the flying fox which were both lots of fun. The suspension bridge was also a thrill which even our young children enjoyed.
The playground was very dirty, with long grass and puddles of water under the swings. It looked like it was never used. The kids playroom was quite dirty with many small odds and ends on the floor that are hazardous for small children. Another thing that could improve was the breakfast in the morning. We found that once certain foods were finished they were not replenished. We found this especially with the fruits that would go fast.
We weren't able to do many of the activites because of the ages of our children, but it looks like there is lots to do so you won't be bored coming to Jerejak! We will most likely stay again sometime in the future. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank besttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
237 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is not the place for those who seek luxury and outstanding service.

It is for those who cherish sports activities such as:-
ATV, bicycle riding, trekking, mountain climbing, billiards, archery.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHADIADNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayan Lepas
7.3 km away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
14.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
2.5 km away
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
#3 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Equatorial Penang
Hotel Equatorial Penang
#1 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
14.3 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerejak Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerejak Rainforest Resort

Property: Jerejak Rainforest Resort
Address: No. 1 Jalan Relau Mk 13 | Daerah Timur Laut, Pulau Jerejak, Bayan Lepas, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Bayan Lepas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bayan Lepas
Price range (per night): RM215 - RM279
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerejak Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful tropical island set amidst virgin jungle, Pulau Jerejak is every nature lover's dream come true! Coupled with her rich historical background, a holiday here promises to be refreshingly different.Relics and artifacts share a home with the rich flora and fauna of this island.Get ready for an adventure as you step into one of the few remaining rainforests of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Jerejak Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerejak Rainforest Hotel Bayan Lepas
Jerejak Hotel Penang
Jerejak Rainforest Resort Penang/Bayan Lepas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing