We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
U Hotel Penang
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Equatorial Penang(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Eastin Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$79
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roma 88(Bayan Lepas)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$44
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TH Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$33
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel EST(Bayan Lepas)
US$38
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$31
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lexis Suites Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$131
US$94
Lexis Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$174
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olive Tree Hotel(Bayan Lepas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
28
53
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
53
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelfront deskdecent amenitiesopen air car parkminimal toiletriesroom service offeredpasar malamwhite wallscafe locatedwooden furnishingswalking distanceelectric kettleironing board and ironnewly renovated hotelnice sizecozy roomfloor facing
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2015

U Hotel stands out from the outside and looks amazing on the inside. The quirky and cute artwork in the lobby sets the mood for a fun holiday for the entire family or a relaxed business trip for professionals. The rooms are compact yet spacious, thanks to clever architecture and modern contemporary design. There were also paintings by local homegrown artists that adorn the hallways and walls, which I thought was quite unique. It's a cozy boutique hotel, and not meant to be a full-serviced resort. It served its purpose, as I had a good rest and there were no noise coming from the outside, unlike some of the other hotels in Penang. There isn't a cafe within the hotel, though there are lots of food stalls and a Tesco next door. The location is a bit further out from town, but Uber and MyTeksi just launched in Penang and it was a 30-minute car ride into Georgetown.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uhotelpenang, General Manager at U Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Dear MarieCassandra

Thank you for taking time to review U Hotel Penang. We certainly appreciate the vote of confidence and will keep trying to outdo ourselves.

Regards
Sinju

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

It's a budget hotel, still new, very near to USM, lots of shops n restaurants around for convenience. Very comfortable for travelers who are out all day and just need good nite sleep and clean bathroom. Bed n pillows are comfortable. Room is quite small for 2 single beds. Not much space if you have lots of luggage. Ample parking.However, they don't have fridge to keep our drinks n snacks cool n fresh. They dont have cafe or restaurant, hence breakfast is not provided/ included.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank myzatul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

Plus point:
1. You can park just right in front of the hotel if you drive a car. There are plenty of parking space.
2. Tesco supermarket is just besides the hotel.
3. The opposite hokkien mee stall serve quite tasty hokkien mee for breakfast. You can also find ready packed nasi lemak and toast in the same coffee shop. You dont have to worry about where to have breakfast.
4. Very close to USM in case you are going there.

Downside:
1. There were bed bugs on my bed. I should have asked to change room but was too tired to do so in the middle of the night.
2. The main road is very busy during peak hours, so can be quite jam getting in and out during this period.
3. My room is facing the main road and it was so noisy and the sound proof of the room is quite bad. I could hear the noise of all vehicles that pass by throughout the night.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank CarolCCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uhotelpenang, Manager at U Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear CarolCCL,
We thank you for the comment. But to set the record straight, we check all our beds regularly for bed bugs and spring cleaning every week. We also have anti bed bug covers as well as weekly pest control to check and monitor the issues of bed bugs, house insects and others. With your complain, we immediately inspected the room and also checked with the guests if they had any bites.The guests had no problems.

We found that because our sheets are still new and stiff, it does cause some itchiness. Only after several wash will the sheets "soften" and is more comfortable. With bed bugs, we would normally find blood stains and 'eggs' hiding the in crevices of the mattress which was not the case. We thank you for the comment and will be more diligent in checking the mattresses.

We have noted on the noise level and will definitely look into this. Again, thank you for your comment and hope that you will come back to U hotel Penang soon.

Regards
Kamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

New hotel..nice lobby..practices non-smoking policy.

Located in between Tesco Extra (hypermarket) and shop lots (McDonald's, KFC, Nasi Kandar, Chinese /Malay food). Basically this area nearby University Sains Malaysia (lotsa students and lecturers) ..so food outlets are everywhere :p
It's not exactly at Bayan Lepas area (where the airport is)..it's actually more to Gelugor area.

As it was the holiday season, there were quite a number of guests checking in. Front office staff were trying their best to accomodate but it didn't help when they were having some key card system issues (Guest unable to access to room/ unable to switch the electricity on after key card was placed on the card slot to ignite electeicy power in the room). But front office staffs are still smilling and try to maintain their cool which is good.

Please take note that during check in, a deposit of RM 100 (refundable upon check out) is required.

Checked into the Queen bed room (Venus Queen) at 3rd floor.
My impressions of the room:
- Very hot & stuffy when I walked into the room, aircond unit takes quite some time to cool the room (in fact, the room gets only cooler the next morning - the whole night was quite stuffy)
- Room are quite smaller than expected. (Approx. 16 steps from the entrance to the end of the room and approx. 12 steps for the space from the bed to the wall across the bed) / can be a bit claustrophobic to those who are used to sleeping in bigger rooms
- Room and bathroom is clean and furnishings are quite nice & modern for a budget hotel
- Clothe hangers, safe deposit box, hair dryer and an extra pillow is available in room
- Iron & ironing board is available upon request (Housekeeping team respond is quite fast )
- Free wifi is available in room but having trouble connecting to it that I gave up entirely and used my own data plan

Suggestions:
- A note or label on the telephone to advise guest on the phone directory. Some guests may not know that by dialling '0' (zero) connects to the front desk.

It's a nice hotel but I would only book U Hotel again if there are no other hotels available around Bayan Baru area..

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VioletzAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uhotelpenang, Manager at U Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Dear VioletzAsh,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We appreciate your comments and have taken positive steps to rectify all the issues you have highlighted. We certainly apologise for the inconvenience and for any mistakes we have done as we have a new building and it poses its own issues.

Our goal is to provide functional and affordable rooms for our guests, thus we didn't provide too many amenities and frills. We do hope that you will give us another try and hope to see you soon.

Regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: เป็นโรงแรมที่อยู่ใจกลางเมือง มีรถเมล์ผ่าน เดินทางสะดวก ห้องพักโซนหลังจะเงียบ หลับสบาย
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uhotelpenang, General Manager at U Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews