We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Apple 1 Hotel(Bayan Lepas)
US$26
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Equatorial Penang(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Eastin Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$66
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul(Bayan Lepas)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TH Hotel Penang(Bayan Lepas)
US$41
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
B Hotel(Bayan Lepas)
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Econtel Hotel(Bayan Lepas)
US$26
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Farin Hotel(Bayan Lepas)
US$20
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
28
53
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
53
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelfront deskwalking distancedecent amenitiesopen air car parkminimal toiletriesroom service offeredpasar malamcafe locatedwooden furnishingselectric kettlewhite wallsnewly renovated hotelnice sizenight marketfree wifi is availablecheck in was easy
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

A very comfortable and a cosy hotel in bayan lepas. friendly staffs. The room is clean and tidy.. I had a comfortable 2 days n 1 night stay. Very nearby to eateries..plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby..just walking distance. Tesco is right beside the hotel. Ample car parks available.
Definitely worth a stay here.
Will visit again for sure.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeyjey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Friendly staff. I have encounter some problem regarding the electrical circuit that causes my room to be out of electric. The staff immediately came to the room and fix the problem within minutes. It was a Saturday, you can visit the night market opposite the road where you can find good food. Next to Tesco Extra within walking distance. The room and the toilet is quite spacious. Only that the sound proof was kinda bed, but luckily I took the room away from the main road.

Room Tip: Away from the road
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 3vilfr3akybabi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uhotelpenang, General Manager at U Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Dear 3vilfr3akybabi3,

Thank you for taking the time to review U Hotel Penang. We are so glad that you had a good stay with us and hope that you will come back again soon.

Regards
Sinju

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night (deluxe queen room). The room is clean and tidy. Spacious enough for two. Mineral water, hair dryer, safety box were provided. Room key is needed to use the lift hence the security is good. Though the basement car park only provided for staffs, there is a spacious parking lot behind the hotel and guarded by security at night. Guests were also allowed to park in front of the hotel by the roadside. Overall It was quite excellent for a boutique hotel. The price paid off! :)

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Hankhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

U hotel is a new hotel located near by the airport. I stay for 6 days in Jen Hotel and decided to stay at U hotel for last night in penang because near by to the airport easy for me catch a flight to Singapore early morning. I reserve a room by booking.com and the price also reasonable.Very clean room, good pillow and bed and the room arrangement is good.The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful most of them is Malay. and i trust this is Malay culture to treat guest feel comfortable and very nice spoken. They can speak english very well. The staff name is Zirman (correct me if i wrong about his name) check in, and check out me and arrange my transport to the airport.Good customer service( look him experience in hotel industry). Overall hotel and staff very good. No need to paid a thousand buck for staying 5 stars hotel, stay here and you will satisfied. Well done for management and staff!! i will stay here again. Malaysia truly Asia

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudia_sther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uhotelpenang, General Manager at U Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Dear Claudia-stehr,

Thank you for the kind review on U Hotel Penang. Man is certainly one of the many good staff that we have. We try our level best to give you an wonderful experience and hope that you will come back again soon.

Regards
Sinju

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

U Hotel stands out from the outside and looks amazing on the inside. The quirky and cute artwork in the lobby sets the mood for a fun holiday for the entire family or a relaxed business trip for professionals. The rooms are compact yet spacious, thanks to clever architecture and modern contemporary design. There were also paintings by local homegrown artists that adorn the hallways and walls, which I thought was quite unique. It's a cozy boutique hotel, and not meant to be a full-serviced resort. It served its purpose, as I had a good rest and there were no noise coming from the outside, unlike some of the other hotels in Penang. There isn't a cafe within the hotel, though there are lots of food stalls and a Tesco next door. The location is a bit further out from town, but Uber and MyTeksi just launched in Penang and it was a 30-minute car ride into Georgetown.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uhotelpenang, General Manager at U Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Dear MarieCassandra

Thank you for taking time to review U Hotel Penang. We certainly appreciate the vote of confidence and will keep trying to outdo ourselves.

Regards
Sinju

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews