We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gastehaus Waldeck(Grossgmain)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windhagerbauer(Grossgmain)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
31
25
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
25
9
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We decided to chose this place willing to be close to Salzburg but same time to be in a quiet place surrounded with nature.
We were heading from Munich, so it was on our way.
Surrounded with mountains you wake up in amazing mood.
The hotel is very nice and you find a very welcoming Germano-Austrain atmosphere wether during the breakfast or dinner.
The restaurant in the hotel (which is one of very few in town) serves amazing food. A must eat.

Room Tip: not over the restaurant but facing the mountains
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We've just spent three nights at this charming hotel whilst visiting Salzburg's Christmas Markets. We were welcomed by the restaurant staff as our early flight from UK got us to our location at 10am. We were able to check in and then start our holiday immediately. There is a very good bus service that runs to Salzburg on a regular basis (timetable from reception) it is extremely efficient and 3.50 euros one way. We returned tired and weary each night to a wonderful restaurant with efficient service and then an extremely comfortable bed. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the snow capped mountains. Only small negative was that we had no shower curtain but apart from that it was extremely good value for money .

Room Tip: Corner rooms and higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gdewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This quaint hotel is located right in the centre of the village (look for the church steeple) 200m from the German border and 20 minutes to both Salzburg and Hitlers mountain retreat at Burchtesgaden. We had a corner room (206) with stunning views. Attached pictures were taken from our windows and balcony.

The room was functional if a little dated. It was quiet at night but the shear curtains don't keep the light out. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. Food was average at best and prices seemed like 'city' prices to me. Breakfast was adequate and far from memorable. We were passing through the area and wish we had more time. We are resolved to visit again and will return to this hotel, requesting the same room!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnH910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We recently stayed 2 nights and was quite pleased with everything. Check-in was super simple and staff was friendly. The restaurant was fabulous. The potato soup is to die for. The rooms weren't anything fancy but exactly what we needed for a good nights rest.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a mountain view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night as part of our euro road trip. We arrived early and had no problems checking in as the room was ready. The lady on check in was very friendly and spoke good English, she gave us 4 passwords for the wifi. Our family room was on the top floor, it was extremely spacious in an L shape and had more of an apartment feel to it. Hand wash and shower gel were provided and there was nothing wrong with the towels we had. We spent a very comfortable night in our room after a long afternoon in Salzburg. The setting is just like in the pictures with stunning views. Breakfast was typical continental style, the cold meats and cheeses were delicious on the fresh bread. One of our favourite stops, thank you!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank jessnlivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews