We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safari Park Great, Water Park Average, Hotel Still Poor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bukit Gambang Resort City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bukit Gambang Resort City
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gambang
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Safari Park Great, Water Park Average, Hotel Still Poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017

This is the 2nd time I am here. The first one I was staying at the Carribean. With the low-grade facilities, this time round, we upgraded to the Arabian.

The room was clean, but the feel is like a budget hotel with a living room, especially the toilet. Therefore, overall the room is expensive for the price.

What was terrible was the 2 bed-room and 1 bed-room are situated at different blocks. There was nothing mentioning in the web-site (maybe I missed it). We were only told upon arrival. I did make a call few days before arrival to confirm my confirmation but no indication was given. THE SPLIT SPOILED THE TRIP.

The food for breakfast is ok but definitely nothing to shout about.

The water park is small but can be crowded during festivals period.

However, I must commend that the safari experience is definitely great because we get the safari feeling of seeing the animals right in front of us while we are inside the safari vehicle. The animals are roaming freely.

Room Tip: Room budget, but price mid-range
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at Bukit Gambang Resort City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your constructive comments on Tripadvisor.com. We sincerely regret your stay was marred by the fact that the 2 bedroom suites are situated away from the Studio suites as the situation could have been easily resolved by contacting our Front Office Manager.

We are happy to note that you have had a great time at Safari Park and we look forward to your next visit to Bukit Gambang Resort City. If I can be of personalized assistance, please feel free to contact me personally.

Thanks and best regards

Ian Chin
Resort Director
Bukit Gambang Resort City
Email : ianchin@bgrc.com.my
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    64
    127
    50
    36
See reviews for
223
9
Solo
0
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Came here for one night with our extended family. We booked two family suites and one studio deluxe. We paid extra money to have pool view for the family suites but there was no view. We were assigned to the Arabian resort. The rooms had ants crawling everywhere. The rooms are very basic. There was no shampoo or body wash. My husband took our 4 year old to the water park which was pretty sad... They gave us 20% discount because the water slides shut down but they should've given us at least 40-50% as there was only one ride operating (a mouldy one too). We went to this place during off peak so we were one of few travelers there. The buffet breakfast was ok but I think only have the roti canai (freshly made). Some foods were left out in the open with no cover do a lot of little bugs were hovering around.. Wasn't too appetizing. The staff were good.. Overall the place just feels so run down (our lift floor had broke tiles). Our bed sheets also had stains.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank snowie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at Bukit Gambang Resort City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your last vacation on Tripadvisor.com. We sincerely appreciated your constructive comments as this allows us to take corrective measures to improve our resort services leading to better customer's experience.

We sincerely hope you will grant us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future and you may contact me directly for personalized assistance.

Thanks and best regards

Ian Chin
Resort Director
Bukit Gambang Resort City
Email : ianchin@bgrc.com.my
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterworth, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We booked 3 family suites room on 25/12/16 at Caribbean Bay Resort. We reached at 2pm for check in, room not ready. We went to Safari park first while waiting for the room. After tiring day at Safari, we went back to hotel at 9 pm for check in but room still not ready! We were told there was a systems error. We got no choice but went out for dinner. We came back at 12pm , room still not ready! There is a crowd of guest waiting at the reception with a policeman. The hotel make a mess with the room booking! ( double booking). Finally we got our room! The nightmare begin. One of the room the lock is disassembled. The corridor is dark, no light and the floor is wet due to rain. I felt like just enter a haunted hotel ! The room that we stayed, OMG! speechless! Never stay in such a horrible hotel before, the room is empty and not clean, no toiletries and still have leftover rubbish from previous guest. The bedsheets got stain, the rooms is smelly! We did not sleep that night and check out early in the morning without taking out breakfast! The Safari park is fun. We didn't go to the water park. The other hotel , Arabian Resort look nice but not sure the conditions of the room. Definitely not going to come back again to this horrible place!!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at Bukit Gambang Resort City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Caribbean Bay Resort and we sincerely regret the inconvenience you and your family had to encounter during the stay. We sincerely hope you will grant us another opportunity to extend you the true hospitality you and your family deserve and when you are ready to place your bookings, please feel free to get in touch with me for personalized assistance.

Thank you and best regards

Ian Chin
Resort Director
Bukit Gambang Resort City
Email : ianchin@bgrc.com.my
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gambang hotels

Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I took our two young daughters there last week.

The Safari park was brilliant, the animals were healthy and staff friendly and knowledgeable and willing to do that little bit extra to keep the children interested. Food, as you would expect, was more expensive than outside but was okay.

The hotel, the Arabian, was a disappointment. No advice from the concierge when we arrived on where to park, help with luggage or anything like that. Checkin was quick but when we got to our room we realised we had not been given the access codes for wifi. In fact the wifi unit in the corridor was not working! We booked a room for two adults and two children and yet there were only enough pillows and bath towels for two people and the floor had not been cleaned since the last guest moved out. Housekeeping took the best part of two hours to supply pillows and bath towels but the face towels we requested were beyond their capability! After two hours the reception had still failed to sort out the wifi so we got hold of the operations manager who finally got face towels and the wifi sorted out! When on the third day the floor was still dirty we watched the girl from housekeeping following her mop around the room. If it picked up the dirt, great, if it did not, not her problem! Replacing used towels with the same number of clean ones was also too much to expect. There are only three power points in the room which in this connected world is not enough. The buffet breakfast in the coffee shop was adequate although the choice was a bit limited but what was on offer was reasonably well cooked. However my wife who rarely drinks tea switched to it after trying the coffee on the first morning, it was terrible!

The water park was a disaster, plenty of staff to separate you from your money at every opportunity but few interested in providing good service! About the only thing included in the entry price was the water in the pools. Resort guests had to pay for towels and lockers available to them free at the pool in their hotel. The main issues here were safety as a result of poorly trained/missing life guards, poor maintenence and inedible expensive food.

In pools clearly marked for children only and no inflatable rings allowed, one of my daughters injured herself trying to avoid an adult on a water slide right in front of a lifeguard. My five year old was knocked off her feet and pushed under the water by two adults coming down a slide into the children's pool again right in front of the life guard. You would get more reaction from a stone statue! The attractions in one of the other children's pools were also being used by adults but here there was no life guard there to stop them!

The water park is poorly maintained with rubbish everywhere and even a toilet door missing in the dirty women's toilets. As for the food, I would expect it to be more expensive than outside but it was not even edible! We bought some chicken with rice for lunch. The gravy on the chicken was unbelievably salty and the chicken itself was tougher than the leather on the sole of my shoe (a rip off)! They should close the Waterpark down until they can get enough properly trained life guards, some staff with basic cooking skills and sort out the maintenence issues.

The girls loved the safari park so we might visit again. Hopefully by then the hotel will have got its act together but the water park we will avoid.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at Bukit Gambang Resort City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing Bukit Gambang Resort City on Tripadvisor.com and for also meeting our Operations Manager during your stay to share your constructive feedback. We have immediately discussed your constructive comments with our departmental managers and have taken appropriate corrective measures to improve the overall customer experience.

We look forward to be of service again to you and your family in the near future.

Thank you and best regards

Ian Chin
Resort Director
Bukit Gambang Resort City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Very slow check in process n very long queue to check in during holidays. Been lining up for almost an hour just to check in. Killed the excitement.

Suggest to come early, but don't really know will it help.

They just have to improve or figure out a better check in system especially during peak times.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Addin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at Bukit Gambang Resort City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing Bukit Gambang Resort City on tripadvisor. We regret to hear of your unpleasant experiences with the check in process and sincerely hope that this has not marred your stay with us.

We sincerely hope you will grant us another opportunity to better serve you and your family in the near future.

Thank you and best regards

Ian Chin
Resort Director
Bukit Gambang Resort City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gambang
27.2 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
8.1 km away
Mangala Resort & Spa
Mangala Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Gambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
17.6 km away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
17.2 km away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#8 of 43 in Kuantan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
16.0 km away
Cempaka Beach Resort
Cempaka Beach Resort
#14 of 43 in Kuantan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukit Gambang Resort City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukit Gambang Resort City

Property: Bukit Gambang Resort City
Address: Jalan Gambang, Gambang 26300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Gambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gambang
Price range (per night): RM155 - RM292
Hotel Class:3 star — Bukit Gambang Resort City 3*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bukit Gambang Resort City (BGRC) is a premier integrated destination resort city with Multiple Attractions in One Location. Nestled within a natural environment sprawling across 727 acres of secondaru jungle, BGRC is strategically located 218km from Kuala Lumpur and 35km before Kuantan, Pahang. BGRC is easily accessible via the East Coast Exressway, and also by flight from Penang, Kuala Lumpur and Singapore to Kuantan Airport, a mere 27km to the resort. Accommodation at BGRC features two all-suites themed resorts; Arabian Bay Resort (546 Suites) and Caribbean Bay Resort (578 Suites) offer combined total of 1,866 rooms providing sufficient rooms to host leisure and business outings. BGRC M.I.C.E is about creating new experiences with unique venues. Our key features include : - Certified Largest Pillarless Ballroom in Malaysia seating up to 3,100 people for banquets (round table) - 210,000 sq.Ft. Dedicated M.I.C.E Centre - Over 30 choices of venues of meetings and events. Team Building at Active Academy Active Academy is the corporate teambuilding and outdoor recreation department of BGRC. It is approved training provider under the Ministry of Human Resources (Malaysia). The training fees and relevant cost are claimable under PSMB schemes. The teambuilding modules offer experiential activity based learning in teamwork to achieve organisational goals. Bukit Gambang Water Park Bukit Gambang Water Park is the award - winning Best Water Park in Malaysia. Set in a natural and conductive environment our tropical aqua wonderland spreads across 45.8 Acres of secondary jungle. Our key features include: - Longest Six Lanes Racer Slide with Digital Timer - Longest Family Raft Ride - Only Wave Pool in Malaysia with Eight Wave Patterns - Totally Cashless Transaction System for convenience - Suitable venue for private gatherings and banquets Safari Park Bukit Gambang Safari Park (BGSP) is the Largest Park in Malaysia. It aims to bring you countless exciting encounters, up-close and personal with exotic animals from around the world. There are over 300 animal species, many of them being first of its kind in Malaysia. Sprawling across 138 acres secondary jungle offering both the walking and drive through experience, BGSP ensures an inspiring outing for all your delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Bukit Gambang Resort City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukit Gambang Resort City Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing