We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bukit Gambang Resort City
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gambang
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Just came back from this hotel for a short Chinese New Year break. The hotel staff seems to be not trained to handle massive crowds due to the high influx of travellers during the festive period as well as a few company trips. Check in was a long wait, and check out was even worse!!! I had to wait for more than 30 mins just to check in and out. We stayed in a 2-bedroom family suite. It was faily large, with 4 single beds. However, all 4 beds were infested with dust mites!!! I have to give credit to the housekeeping and the reception staff as they were very accommodating and understanding. However all calls to the Duty Manager went unaswered. In the end, the staff manged to get us another room eventhough they were fully booked and in the new room, there were mites as well, albeit in lesser quantity than the first one. We had no other choice but to stay in the room as there are no more rooms available. The housekeeping staff went all out to change all the bedsheets again for us (it was already midnight), and for that I'm grateful. Breakfast and dinner was really not that enjoyable due to the crowd and at the entrance to the dining area, there was one staff (no name tag) who was really rude and was giving instructions to guests like we were little children who needed to be disciplined. All the other staff were very friendly and attentive, and this one particular man spoiled it all. All in all, I feel the hotel needs to improve more on its cleanliness.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msjojong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 339 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

This is a new resort which was opened last year. It has water park and outdoor activites like flying fox, paintball, 4 wheel biking etc. The water park is great which my family really loves it. It was very crowded in this holiday period but, we really enjoyed it very much. It has a few type of pools; kids, wave, and long slides. Well, we were really having fun there.

When checking in, it has many counters to serve. So, even very crowded with traveller, we did not have to wait too long. The staff were polite, helpful and informative. Once in the room, it was clean, spacious and comfortable. We were having the studio suite but they were some setback like, no hair dryer, phone was out, no laundry bag, room door could not be closed & opened easily, balcony's view was a quarry wall and only 2 pillow provided. Overall, it was fine.

We never had the dinner there and we went out to Gambang town for dinner. The town was pretty quiet and there were only a few of restaurant available. It is really a small town/village.

At night, the resort has provided a fun fair which kids loved them and a magic show too. Apart from this, it has gym (quite fully equipped), nice pool, arcade centre, ping pong table and sourvenir shopping venue. For the breakfast, the food was fine with normal expected serving. It could cater a huge crowd with enough seat and food. That's important.

We never gone for outdoor activities except only visted the animal farm. Well, it has very few animal there. Not worth visiting.

So, it is really not too bad at all. Worth visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

'it such a great resort city specially for children. Like my kids they like it very much due to we're live at the island. But The Caribean Restaurant need to improve more on food. there is limited choice of food at the buffet line. for house keeping please complete guest room with the amenities there is no hand and face towel, no shampoo and body lotion during my stay. Room cleanliness is ok. the staff there also nice and friendly. Hope my next trip will be different from my previous vacation. Hope you can improve more better due to you are the place which is suitable for family short vacation. Anyway I'm happy on my vacation there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueTiomanIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The 6 of us - 2 adults, 2 teens & 2 kids visited this newly opened resort during the Hari Raya break. Being a national public holiday, the resort was overcrowded with holidaymakers from all over the country. But check-in was efficient - I really like the "take a number" system (like in banks) that they have for the check-in. You can enjoy free drinks & crackers as you wait for your turn.

The studio room that we had was spacious & clean, though with very basic amenities. Don't expect hair-dryer or even shower caps or shampoo to be provided. There was just a dispenser of multipurpose liquid soap in the shower room. A mini pantry with sink & coffee making facilities sits in a corner of the room.

The swimming pool looked great but we did not use it as it was packed like sardines!Not a good time to have a relaxing swim without bumping into someone. There was also a big arcade room with loads of games plus karaoke cubicles for you to sing your heart out. At night after dinner, there was free movie showing at a hall ( great sound system) plus a magic show to entertain the crowd . Very enjoyable.

The main attraction - the water park - was just a short walk away from the resort or you can also take the tram or pony ride there for a small fee. The queue at the park was horrendous, not to mention the big crowd, so we decided to try again on the second day.
Which turned out to be a right decision as the kids enjoyed themselves at all the water slides without much queueing up. There was a special counter for hotel guests to purchase their tickets or redeem their vouchers. You have to load a prepaid amount into your wrist-tags as all the transactions in the park are "cashless". Balance amount not used will be refunded to you. Prices of food at the park were surprisingly reasonable & not too expensive. But this waterpark is quite small, so for those looking for more heart-stopping thrills & spills, the Sunway Lagoon waterpark in KL is a better choice.

All in all, a nice place to have a short break but just avoid peak seasons.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Went to this resort recently for a short holiday with my family.It's a great place to rest & relax coz it's cozy & quiet.There's a waterpark nearby but not many attractions coz the Resort is very new & still under development. The rooms are big and the hotel provides all the basic amenities.There's also a restaurant & their food is tasty & reasonable.If you feel bored,you can also ask the receptionist for free Board games.Overall,i would say is "value for money" & i would definately recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweet30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gambang
0.1 km away
Arabian Bay Resort
Arabian Bay Resort
#21 of 44 in Kuantan
17 reviews
7.8 km away
Mangala Resort & Spa
Mangala Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Gambang
118 reviews
33.0 km away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#8 of 44 in Kuantan
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
#19 of 44 in Kuantan
76 reviews
33.2 km away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#5 of 44 in Kuantan
87 reviews
7.8 km away
Hotel Gambang Selesa View
Hotel Gambang Selesa View
#29 of 78 in Kuantan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukit Gambang Resort City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukit Gambang Resort City

Address: Jalan Gambang, Gambang 26300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Gambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gambang
Price Range: RM150 - RM304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bukit Gambang Resort City 3*
Number of rooms: 1124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bukit Gambang Resort City (BGRC) is a premier integrated destination resort city with Multiple Attractions in One Location. Nestled within a natural environment sprawling across 727 acres of secondaru jungle, BGRC is strategically located 218km from Kuala Lumpur and 35km before Kuantan, Pahang. BGRC is easily accessible via the East Coast Exressway, and also by flight from Penang, Kuala Lumpur and Singapore to Kuantan Airport, a mere 27km to the resort. Accommodation at BGRC features two all-suites themed resorts; Arabian Bay Resort (546 Suites) and Caribbean Bay Resort (578 Suites) offer combined total of 1,866 rooms providing sufficient rooms to host leisure and business outings. BGRC M.I.C.E is about creating new experiences with unique venues. Our key features include : - Certified Largest Pillarless Ballroom in Malaysia seating up to 3,100 people for banquets (round table) - 210,000 sq.Ft. Dedicated M.I.C.E Centre - Over 30 choices of venues of meetings and events. Team Building at Active Academy Active Academy is the corporate teambuilding and outdoor recreation department of BGRC. It is approved training provider under the Ministry of Human Resources (Malaysia). The training fees and relevant cost are claimable under PSMB schemes. The teambuilding modules offer experiential activity based learning in teamwork to achieve organisational goals. Bukit Gambang Water Park Bukit Gambang Water Park is the award - winning Best Water Park in Malaysia. Set in a natural and conductive environment our tropical aqua wonderland spreads across 45.8 Acres of secondary jungle. Our key features include: - Longest Six Lanes Racer Slide with Digital Timer - Longest Family Raft Ride - Only Wave Pool in Malaysia with Eight Wave Patterns - Totally Cashless Transaction System for convenience - Suitable venue for private gatherings and banquets Safari Park Bukit Gambang Safari Park (BGSP) is the Largest Park in Malaysia. It aims to bring you countless exciting encounters, up-close and personal with exotic animals from around the world. There are over 300 animal species, many of them being first of its kind in Malaysia. Sprawling across 138 acres secondary jungle offering both the walking and drive through experience, BGSP ensures an inspiring outing for all your delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bukit Gambang Resort City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukit Gambang Resort City Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing