We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreathtaking viewsboat tripliving areatwo nightsin houseprivate infinity poolmenushitchnavarinosensesvillaluxurybirdsgoatreesnaturehospitality
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I stayed here recently for two nights with family. I cannot praise this beautiful place enough. Each of the four Balinese-style villas (all the furniture was handmade locally) had their own lounging area by the private pool and overlooking the sea. The bedrooms were huge and comfortable, with the best pillows I have ever slept upon, and the shower room had every toiletry you could possibly need. The management and staff could not do enough to make our stay just perfect and the choice of food was excellent and delicious. I could have stayed there forever!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank lynnelestergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoShambhala, Manager at Coco Shambhala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Lynn,

We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time with your family here. Your interest in the local community and the Coco Shambhala family has touched our hearts. It's been our absolute delight in hosting you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Our stay at Coco Shambala was spectacular. A calm and serene place. Lovely stretch of beach with clear waters and no one around ; Just us. The photos on the website did not do justice to the stunning interiors!
Sugandha was as sweet and accommodating as she was on the phone. And so was Suhas. They delivered more than they promised. All the staff was polite, attentive and the villas well equipped that will leave an indelible mark with us forever. The food quality was impeccable with everything made from scratch. It was a delightful experience and one we would definitely love to repeat!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Shilpisadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoShambhala, Manager at Coco Shambhala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Shilpi,
Thank you for your words of appreciation. We strive to make each holiday experience a memorable one and are very happy to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and the serene environs around here.

We witness true hospitality in every Indian home and that is what we strive to achieve in our open tropical villas. Nothing makes us happier than to realize that we have achieved somewhat in replicating the same here. Thank you for sharing this incredible space with us. We truly enjoyed hosting you and your entire group and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Coco Shambhala has a wonderful reputation, but we were a bit worried about coming here as this was a new location for them and we were concerned it was a bit remote..... well we needn’t have, because they have excelled themselves in every way . 4 stunning Villas perch on a hillside over looking the ocean, set in beautifully landscaped grounds. Our Villa had a contemporary feel to it , with an open lounge/kitchen area which led out to your own private infinity pool, with the drop dead gorgeous views of the Indian Ocean. The bedrooms sat either side of the living area, each with beautiful ensuite, and fantastic views.
The service we received by Coco Shambhala was exceptional, nothing was too much for them. The managers Navarino and Sugandha along with most of the staff greeted us at the gate when we first arrived, and from then on took care of us so we wanted for nothing. They were all so thoughtful, caring, and such a friendly bunch .
Before we arrived in India , we were contacted by the F&B manager, Suhas who noted our preferences and devised our menu for the week. Well, what a job he did, we were truly spoiled by the wonderful chefs ... our taste buds were given the most wonderful experience ever. Cant believe how much we ate!
Our days were spent walking the beautiful empty beach, taking a boat trip to another cove, visiting the local village, and resting by our beautiful infinity pool, watching and photographing the stunning scenery and local wildlife. We loved this place sooooo much we extended our stay!
We wish to thank you all at Coco Shambhala, Sindhudurg, for giving us both a holiday of a lifetime ..... we will be back xXx

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoShambhala, Owner at Coco Shambhala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your heartfelt review. We are glad to hear that we could live up to your needs and helped in making your holiday beautiful. And hopefully, you will come back soon to relive your Coco Shamabhala moments with us.

Thank you once again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We spent 5 wonderful days in Coco Shambhala in January. We could not have asked for more and loved every minute of our stay. The staff was very tentative and the food amazing with a lot of fresh seafood and fish in Indian style. We also got to taste Stingray for the first time. Had lovely walks through the local small village and to a fortress where a picnic lunch was arranged for us. Also just staying at the beautiful Villa admiring the view and the local wildlife was very relaxing. The beach is only 5 minutes walk away and is very clean and mostly empty. The staff made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed their insight and conversations about India we could not have asked for a better stay.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Jaana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoShambhala, Owner at Coco Shambhala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Jaana,

It was a pleasure hosting your beautiful family and you at Coco Shambhala. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us-- this is what we strive for the most in our work: to ensure that you relax and take back memories of a lifetime.

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and we hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

It is impossible to really describe what makes Coco Shambhala so special. It’s obvious that Giles, the owner, and his two managers, Navarino and Sughanda, have thought of every detail to create a perfect and luxurious stay, but there is something extra.
Coco Shambhala in Sindhudurg is simply incredible! The villas, with infinity pools, tropical plants and breath-taking views, are absolutely perfect. The food, prepared by expert local and international chefs, is stunning. The staff, who strike a perfect balance between professionalism and friendly service, deliver an experience that is unlike anywhere else you will ever stay.
Instead of writing a lengthy review, we’ve posted a collection of photos taken during our stay and have tried to capture the atmosphere as best as we can. There aren’t too many photos online of the area around Coco Shambhala in Sindhudurg, so we have uploaded a few of the local beach, Bhogwe, and the ruins of Nivti Fort, which is at the end of Bhogwe Beach (a 45 minute walk), and was the setting for the incredible picnic the team from Coco Shambhala hosted for us (see pictures).
I have also posted some pictures from the river boat trip, which is amazing if you want to see all the kingfishers and other tropical birds. Our boatman, Ganesh, took us right into the mangroves to get a close up view of the animals.
There are pictures of the local Friday market, where you can pick up spices, vegetables and fish if you want, or just enjoy all the sights, sounds and intense colours!
The early morning fish market is an absolute must! Watching the brightly coloured fishing boats return at dawn and then auction their catch is an amazing experience. Richard, the head chef, will take you there and help you choose your lunch!
Criminally, we constantly forgot to take photos of the fantastic food that Richard and Dilip, Coco Shambhala’s local food chef, prepared for us each day. Every meal we would be treated to dish after dish of vegetable curries, meat curries, fish curries, sambals, chutneys, freshly made breads, chapatis, rice breads, basmati rice, crushed rice, local rice and so on.
Staying at Coco Shambhala is an absolute delight for all the senses, and whether you want to be adventurous and go out and explore all that the area has to offer, or just relax and immerse yourself in the luxury and stunning scenery from the villa, there is something for everyone. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We thought that villas 2 & 4 have the best views!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ramsay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoShambhala, Manager at Coco Shambhala, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear John,

Thank you for reviewing us so beautifully. Watching you take such genuine interest in the local way of life and becoming a part of it so quickly has given us tremendous joy and encouragement in our efforts to balance the beauty of nature and the people here.

We believe in promoting the local way of living. And we truly felt that you imbibed every bit of it during your stay here. So thank you once again, for being such wonderful guests. The staff all remember you and we will all look forward to your next visit, if you decide to do so in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Coco Shambhala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews