We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish country house at the top of It's game”
Review of Coopershill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coopershill House
Ranked #1 of 1 Riverstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Everything that you see on their webpage is quite true. The tranquil setting is almost otherworldly. It maybe the O'Hara home but you are always treated as a guest with impeccable service and the food is exceptional. Beautifully presented local produce cooked to a very high standard without the current trendy obsession for presentation above all with next to no vegetables, Breakfasts are great too. You dine surrounded by paintings of the previous O Haras and the log fires add to the general ambiance. There's no TV but it would be an intrusion to the relaxing atmosphere. The acid test always is would you come again? Yes of course.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Triglyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2015

We are just back from a wonderful 4 days in Coopershill, My partner and I found the service outstanding with the welcome we received from Simon and Christinia really lovely and what an Irish welcome should be, The room was beautiful and i felt i was playing a part in Downton Abbey, I made sure to bring pretty clothes to compliment my surroundings. The food was beautiful and every night we couldnt wait to get to the dining room, our afternoon picnics also were a huge treat and terribly romantic. We were surrounded by beautiful, unspoilt grounds with nature in abundance. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is world weary and needs a hideaway in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

What a great place. Full of history and character, quiet, rural and pretty. Plenty of places to walk and relax.

Rooms were large and comfy, bathrooms equally so, shower only in ours but that was fine. The bed was comfy too.

Breakfast was great, plenty of choice, the "full Irish" was very well cooked. We had an evening meal one night and this was superb, everything locally produced, such a fresh and flavoursome treat.

The place is clearly well managed, plenty of staff, very clean. Wi Fi signal is very strong in all areas of the hotel including our room. No TV but not missed in any way.

We loved the place.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank mancmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

The gracious hospitality extended by Simon and Christina to all their guests is second to none. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay in their beautiful home.

It's difficult to pick out specific highlights as everything was just so perfect and all just seemed to fit together seamlessly. No detail was overlooked. They had thought of absolutely everything a guest might ever need.

The breakfasts and dinner were superb,served in their magnificent dining room. Every morsel of food was delicious and the service was warm, unpretentious and gracious .
Christina welcomed us on our arrival with delicious cake and tea.The next day, on our return from a great day exploring the many attractions of the vicinity,there was more delicious cake! All of this served in the elegant and welcoming drawing room.

I mustn't forget young Finn, their utterly adorable three and a half year old. He is a total gem and I really enjoyed some delightful chats with him :)
Coopershill House surpassed our expectations-which had already been raised high by all the very positive comments we'd seen in the reviews. I can now confirm that they are true.
We'll done, Simon and Christina, for offering guests an experience that is second to none.We absolutely loved our time in Coopershill.We'll be back!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank raphael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

As we drove across the old stone bridge past the fields and woods toward the Manor house I was enchanted by a magical sensation of time gone by. Deer scampered in the fields and as we grew closer to the house, the lawn and gardens full of flowers beckoned us to stay. The house itself is grand and worthy of itself even without the 500 acres of pastures and trails. We were greeted by Simon who took our bags and led us up to our bedroom on the third floor. We had a lovely bay window with seat and a grand view. The bathroom was spacious and gracious, supplying us with all that we needed and more. The drawing room was delicious, full of art and with a glowing fireplace and interesting guests to chat with. Dinner was a drum roll of charm and delightful courses of tastefully prepared food. It was the nights entertainment for us! We dined both nights and we were glad we did. One of the best parts was our walk with a hawk and a falconer on the grounds. If you stay at Coopershill I highly recommend Darren and his Harris Hawk named Sky. It was a tremendous thrill to walk down the path with a hawk on my arm. Simon had to come out and call us in for dinner, like mom used to do) we were having so much fun that the time got away from us.
I only wish we could have stayed longer and played croquet and tennis on the lawn and court! And I mustn't forget to mention Master Finn, he adds quite a fresh breath of air as only a child could do!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor but the rooms on the second floor looked just as lovely. The House is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverstown
6.8 km away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,278 reviews
16.3 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
541 reviews
18.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 km away
Lough Arrow Touring Park
Lough Arrow Touring Park
#1 of 3 in Riverstown
40 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Coopershill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopershill House

Address: Coopershill, Riverstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Riverstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riverstown
Price Range: RM966 - RM985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coopershill House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Georgian Mansion combines the spaciousness and elegance of an earlier age with the comfort and amenities of today. Most of the rooms have four poster or canopy beds, all rooms have private bathrooms. Candle-lit dinners, a wide choice of wines, open log fires and personal attention from the owners all help to create the atmosphere and hospitality that is special to Coopershill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coopershill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopershill House Hotel Riverstown
Coopershill Hotel Riverstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing