We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done REME”
Review of REME Museum

REME Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lyneham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wherever the British Army are, whatever the Unit is, there you will find REME REME Museum preserves the heritage of the Corps of the Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers. Formed in 1942, REME exists “to keep the punch in the Army’s fist” – Montgomery of El-Alamein. Following a major relocation and redesign, the Museum is now open to the public.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Nicely put together exhibition. Ideal for adults and children alike. Although small there are some interesting gems to see. Sadly, the RAF Lyneham exhibition was embarrassingly poor and had been my main reason for visiting. The REME Museum made up for this though.

1  Thank weasel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver_oliver2000, Public Relations Manager at REME Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for visiting and giving your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interactive activities"
in 2 reviews
"assault course"
in 2 reviews
"excellent cafe"
in 2 reviews
"military history"
in 2 reviews
"whole family"
in 2 reviews
"school holidays"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 2 reviews
"officers mess"
in 3 reviews
"armoured vehicles"
in 2 reviews
"real soldiers"
in 2 reviews
"army"
in 4 reviews
"crowns"
in 4 reviews
"weapons"
in 4 reviews
"tanks"
in 3 reviews
"regiment"
in 3 reviews
"raf"
in 9 reviews
"helicopter"
in 4 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I took my 3 year old grandson and found things that he could try and was able to go inside a tank. There were dressing up clothes and toys for him to build things with. He had great fun.
I didn’t know that there was a museum here until I drove past, it is worth publicising this museum as there are also evening talks that go on.
Very reasonably priced, cafe, shop.

Thank Charlie2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver_oliver2000, Public Relations Manager at REME Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for visiting and your feedback. Do do try to publicise as much as we can but as a charity, our budget is small. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Visited today with 6 year old grandson who really enjoyed the aircraft hunt that ran throughout the whole area. It is a small museum but kept us interested in the time that we were there.

Thank SBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver_oliver2000, Public Relations Manager at REME Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for visiting and your feedback. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Really great day out. very well presented, the staff are very helpful.
The whole family enjoyed it and we've been back several times.
can't recommend enough
Arte et Marte.

Thank shell1670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver_oliver2000, Public Relations Manager at REME Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for visiting. We hope to see you back here, in Lyneham, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

A very good welcome on the door, great little museum to have a look round, a look at was and used today, full of information, good to see. ever passing & can spare an hour or so, call in. Worth a visit

Thank Gaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver_oliver2000, Public Relations Manager at REME Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for visiting and your feedback. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed REME Museum also viewed

 

Been to REME Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing