We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nixtamal My top place to eat in Bacalar Quintana Roo Mexico”
Review of Nixtamal

Nixtamal
Ranked #7 of 154 Restaurants in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Description: Mexican Signature Cuisine: Creations on charcoal grill, wood ovens and "Lorena" stove (pre-Hispanic stove made of mud and sand). The owner, Rodrigo Ovidio is currently the Executive Chef at Centro Holistico Akalki, renowned for his creativity and talent on the grill, Nixtamal converges with harmony his experience with the essence and wisdom of ancestral cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Mexican Signature Cuisine: Creations on charcoal grill, wood ovens and "Lorena" stove (pre-Hispanic stove made of mud and sand). The owner, Rodrigo Ovidio is currently the Executive Chef at Centro Holistico Akalki, renowned for his creativity and talent on the grill, Nixtamal converges with harmony his experience with the essence and wisdom of ancestral cuisine.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to eat actually one of the best places in Balacalr Jesus gave us the tour and David the waitress capitan gave us the chef's recommendations, and can believe such a treasure could be found here

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank davidmD2422QK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Nixtamal randomly based on the good reviews and we were not disappointed! The place is really cosy, with a lovely garden and music. The food was delicious (appetizer, main dish and desserts)! The service was great, our waiter Mario suppprted us with anything we asked for and advised on the choice of dishes.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Skwiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021

Very nice place for special occasians. If you are looking for a fancy restaurant with tasty, elevated mexican food, look no further. Nixtamal serves a great variety of amazing food and offery a very unique experience with it's friendly and professional staff. Note, that this restaurant is way more expensive than it's surrounding competitors but it was totally worth it.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelFromFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

Amazing restaurant. Very very tasty traditional Mexican food, excellent atmosphere. Our waiter David was very kind and profesional. Dont miss out this place when you are in Bacalar

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Alba Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021

We made a reservation here as several people recommended it. When we arrived at 8, it was fairly empty and our table was right in front of the music. At least it was great music! Our waiter came and never asked us if we wanted drinks? At least there was water on the table. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and was told this was the best in Bacalar. We are allergic to goat and mushrooms, so the manager came over and explained in spanish to our waiter. They said no problem, even though almost everything on the menu either had goat cheese or mushrooms! both couples ordered rib eyes to share with veggies instead of stuffed mushrooms. One medium and one medium rare. About $350 each. They were delivered and the server seemed unsure as to who got which one, but it turned it it didn't matter. They were both rare! I couldn't even cut through the gristle of ours! Finally someone stopped by to ask if everything was ok and we said that we couldn't even eat ours. He offered another, or drinks or desserts, but by that time it was past 9:30 and we were just done. We didnt even eat the veggies as they were so flavored with spice and we couldn't even tell what they were. It wasn't even taken off the bill !

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Nixtamal also viewed

Bacalar, Quintana Roo
Bacalar, Quintana Roo
 
Bacalar, Quintana Roo
Bacalar, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Nixtamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.