We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$261
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kurumba Maldives(Vihamanafushi)
Book now, pay at stay
US$566
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
US$232
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradise Island Resort & Spa(Lankanfinolhu Island)
US$247
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baros Maldives(Baros Island)
US$696
US$575
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$666/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gili Lankanfushi(Lankanfushi)
US$1,184
US$1,120
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 52% below average rates

The price you found is 52% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$2,340/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$61
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Planktons Beach(Hulhumale)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,399)
Filter reviews
2,399 results
Traveller rating
1,255
809
217
69
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
809
217
69
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard roomgallery restaurantsand barsea breezehalf boardjacuzzi beach villafishsundowners barkids clubdive centreother islandsisland hoppingcurriesservice chargedolphin cruisereef sharksthai restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 2,399 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Family stay, recently modernised clean, spacious room. Chef at the Galary restaurant was very helpful, he specially made us some brilliant 5☆ Sri Lankan and Thai curry. Thank you him and his colleagues.

All-inclusive package but didn't really live up to expectations, it was very restricted. Overall not a 4☆ resort. It's 3☆. The holiday was mis sold to us as 5☆. Food variety and buffet presentation require improvement and many of the staff need fundamental hospitality traning. Overall not bad, but the management need to pull their socksup and make improvements.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bipins M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandosmv, General Manager at Bandos Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear Bipins M,

Thank you for commenting on our resort atmosphere, accommodation and Chefs, we are pleased that you enjoyed the resort atmosphere and dishes at the Gallery Restaurant.

We regret that the All Inclusive package was not as you expected. We urge our partners to share all possible information with our clients prior to booking the hotel, so that you know what is included in our packages. We also offer our All Inclusive details on our website for our clients' consideration.

Please note that we are a 4 star property. We continuously train our associates to ensure that we extend a warm welcome and offer a comfortable stay for our guests.

We have taken your comments into consideration and will strive, as always, to offer the best that we can to our esteemed guests.

Kind regards,
Ismail Rasheed
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The island is beautiful and the beaches were great with lots of local reef opportunities but the rooms in the deluxe category were just normal rooms, we got half board which included breakfast and dinner and it is buffet for all of that... If you would like to go to a specialty restaurant, you got a coupon for 20 bucks but the prices at the restaurants were expensive so the money they gave you didn't cover much.. If you get half board it should allow you to eat anywhere you want.. The over the water bungalows were beautiful but as a family of 5, they forced us to book another room as well even though all 5 of us stayed in the water bungalow.. There was even enough beds for the 5 of us but they said the occupancy was only 4... Definitely a money grab when you are already spending a fortune.. Just not the caliber of place I thought it was

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank sparky455007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandosmv, General Manager at Bandos Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Dear sparky455007,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It is great to hear that you appreciated our island and our beaches.

We regret that you did not find the Deluxe Rooms to be up to your standard and we were unable to accommodate 5 guests in our Water Villa. We maintain occupancy of the rooms to ensure that safety standards are met and that guests are accommodated comfortably. As per the hotel policy and standards approved by all our partners the maximum occupancy of the Water Villa is 04 people.

We offer Half Board to guests who want to dine at the Gallery Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Keeping that in mind, we offer a further discount off the food menu during dinner so guests can experience our other restaurants.

Once again, we would like to apologise as your holiday was not up to your standards.

Kind regards,
Ismail Rasheed
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed in Bandos for three days for our honeymoon during December 2015. We had picked Bandos after reviewing and consulting with a number of agencies and resorts in Maldives. Very happy that we selected Bandos for this special occasion of our life.
The whole Bandos experience was amazing, we did fishing trips, scuba diving, snorkeling and enjoyed the evening shows at the resort. Everything was taken care by the resort staff very well and they always made sure they are available.
Yes, will visit again!!!

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank unmaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandosmv, General Manager at Bandos Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear unmaad,

We hope you are keeping well! Thank you for your review from your trip in December 2015, we appreciate the time you have taken to write this.

It is our pleasure to have had you stay with us and it is lovely to hear that you chose us after careful considerations. We are happy that you chose Bandos for such a special time in your life and we wish you all the best!

We look forward to welcoming you again, and please do join our FootPrints Repeater Program.

Hope you have a great week ahead of you.

Kind regards,
Ismail Rasheed
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I visited Maldives and Bandos Island with my family and honestly it was better than what I expected. I have read different comments about this resort saying that the staff were not helpful, but honestly, what I saw was different. About the facilities, I have to say that every thing you need was prepared, though the prices were a little expensive. Snorkeling experience was awesome and Huvan restaurant of this island was where we loved more. To add more, this island has one of the best spots to watch the beautiful sunsets. Internet connection was OK, and the variety of food for HB, or ALL services, was acceptable enough.

Room Tip: Get Deluxe rooms, because they are big enough and so close to the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ali_Abbasi_Heidarloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife celebrating our wedding anniversary having visited the Maldives 10 years ago. (Different island). We are very disappointed overall with Bandos. It has not matched the expectations set by the 2 islands we've visited before. We made the mistake of thinking all Maldives resorts are top end and exceptional - but they are not.

PROS
- Good snorkelling
- Family friendly
- The view from Huvan Bar is great.
- Just a 10-15 minute boat ride from Male airport
- Rajesh the Barman in Sand Bar - only barman worthy of the title on the island. Seriously. I visited all the bars. If u want a cocktail, see Rajesh. Otherwise it's best you order a spirit with a chaser.
- If you're Muslim. There's a fairly new mosque on site where you are able to pray.
- The menu at The Sea Breeze (a la carte)
- Nice big 4 poster bed in our villa.
- Housekeeping visit your room twice daily.


CONS
- The biggest con is that somebody is charging 5* prices for a 3* service and food.

- You have to pay for the speed boat transfer ($90 a head)

- The beach is not expansive. It's a very very small beach area unlike the other islands we've visited which have stunning beaches.

- Most of The staff, although polite are not great customer service agents. They rarely greet you and only hover around you to ask if u want another (Paid for) drink. Note I say 'most'.

- The buffet food is really very basic and average. Hardly any variety and not well presented. We came half board and am thankful we didn't do all inclusive as people who did were eating the same average food. Not what u expect having paid £350 + a night for your room.

- The swimming pool is far too small for the number of guests present. Not enough loungers

- the bathroom in our room was dated and smelled a little.

- The buffet food is that bad that you will be forced at some point to visit one of the Ala carte restaurants just to give your taste buds a break.
But they are overpriced and the menus very limited (except for Sea Breeze)

- Evening entertainment is pretty poor but having visited 3 islands in the Maldives, this is common amongst them all. They did however show the same evening film twice in 3 nights and worse still, the film was from 2004 to cap it off.

- The cleaning staff are aggressive... We forgot to put the "do not disturb" sign on our door so housekeeping would come along and knock on the door very loudly. We would say several times "No thank u" but he would keep hammering on the door! We would have to get out of bed and answer the door where he would then ask quite gruffly when he should come back. It was as if he was doing us a favour!

We were unfortunate in that over the 5 days we were there - it rained heavily for 4 of them.
Apparently the weather in August can be like that. Rain for a few days - sunshine for a few days. Just so you're aware.

Lastly we've been told that Bandos is one of the oldest island resorts (42 years old) and so this may explain the dated design and lack of a wow factor.

Bandos is ok. I would give it 6.5 / 10 but the problem is they're charging for a 10/10 product.
The food is very bad considering what you've paid for and the staff are not that polished though it has to be said they are polite.
We wouldn't revisit.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews