We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star rating too generous”
Review of Abbots Thorn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbots Thorn
Ranked #2 of 4 Carlton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The owner of this B&B was very friendly and helpful, but the room (we stayed in the Lilac room) was disappointing. The decoration of the room was rather tired and old fashioned, but not in a quaint Yorkshire B&B way. There were white dog hairs from the previous occupant still all over the carpet, and cobwebs complete with resident spider adorning our en-suite. We brought our dog with us as the website stated they were dog-friendly, but on being asked to leave my dog in the car (this was July) instead of in our room when we came down for breakfast or if we went out, I would not consider it to be 'friendly' but simply tolerant of dogs.
Overall this was a pleasant stay but the price of £70 per night was not money well spent, and I wouldn't pay that price to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Abbots thorne is a very nice bed & breakfast. John & Pat maked my holiday so great. I was very warmed welcomed and the breakfast is fantastic! Carlton is centrale, so you're allways near to many places to go. The Yorkshire Dales are a wonderful place. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

John and Pat provide excellent traditional Dales accommodation and lovely breakfasts. My wife and I are extrmely fussy about where we stay and would recommend Abbots Thorn to anyonr wanting to visit the Dales. John and Pat make you feel at home and are happy to help in any way they can.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My son and I were visiting a friend in the area and had never been in the Yorkshire Dales before. John and Pat made us feel very welcome it was like a home away from home. John was a wealth of information about the area and getting around. The room was very comfortable and clean we even got a flask of fresh milk for the tea and coffee tray, the breakfast was delicious with a good choice of different items. There's a local Pub close by that does good evening meals, it's an ideal location for exploring the Dales. I'm looking forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Perfect place to stay if you want a very quiet & comfortable B&B with marvelous breakfast and hosts that were incredibly accommodating. John & Pat were very happy to meet any needs that we had and very flexible about everything - for example letting us store cheese in their fridge and take doggy bags when we couldn't finish the delicious and huge breakfasts!
Very clean and comfortable place to stay. I can thoroughly recommend this place as a perfect home while on holiday walking in the Dales.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippyp2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Abbots Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Thorn

Address: Carlton in Coverdale | Leyburn, Carlton, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range: RM 360 - RM 437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Thorn is a 200 year old Dales house situated in Carlton in the Yorkshire Dales National Park with stunning views over Coverdale. We offer a lovely place to stay convenient to so many places of interest including Middleham Castle, Bolton Castle Leyburn, Aysgarth, Reeth, Hawes to name but a few. You can play golf, fish, go bird watching, tour or just relax, a walk from the door for a 2 mile stroll to 12 mile hike. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing