We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Still excellent!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
West Witton, Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon P
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still excellent!!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owners put a lot of love and effort in this cottage. We have stayed in Myrtle Cottage before and gave it a great tripadvisor review. Well we would like to give it another great review. 12 months on and still the excellent standards throughout. Clean, warm, cosy. Decor & soft furnishings updated from last year and all in character of this delightful cottage. The wood burning stove is very warm and we even had Halloween candles left out for us. Neighbours very friendly and remembered us from last year. Local shop keeper was fantastic and reserved newspapers and bread for us on a daily basis. Local pub Fox & Hounds excellent value for money and the Proprietors very friendly & welcoming. The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant was a lovely holiday treat on our last night. The early bird menu great value for money. Our 14 year old son enjoyed table tennis at the village church hall. Lovely village and all welcoming. We will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for another lovely review! We are so pleased that you had a great holiday. The little touches like the candles and the daily newspapers really go a long way in making a holiday special don't they? We hope you visit us again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossy214
Cumbria, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfectly quaint; just what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It's a shame this place doesn't have more Trip Adviser reviews because the visitors book in the cottage is bursting with excellent reviews... and we added ours too. The cottage had everything we needed for us to enjoy a comfortable, relaxed break with our 9 month old baby and our dog. They've thought of everything! Shame the weather wasn't better so we could make use of the beautiful little flowery courtyard out back. If there was anything we'd forgotten, Leyburn was only a 5 min drive away with a Co-op that sold the essentials.

As mentioned, the weather didn't allow for much walking but the folder provided by the owner is full of info about walks in and around the area. You definitely wouldn't be stuck for things to do. All-in-all, this place come recommended if you need a little quiet place to base yourself while you explore a picturesque corner of Yorkshire.


Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice M
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Myrtle Cottage is a cosy, well situated cottage.”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is situated in the beautiful Dales, walking country in easy reach. There are interesting places to visit, such as Leyburn, Richmond, Fountains Abbey, Ripon, and many more.
There are local places to eat, which are dog(and people) friendly, such as The Hungry Heffer, and the pub on the green in West Burton. All very welcoming.
The scenery in the area is spectacular, with many beautiful waterfalls, and there are castles to visit, such as Bolton Castle..
We enjoyed our stay, even though it was wet!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay at Myrtle Cottage and would be delighted to welcome you back at any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean & comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The owners of this cottage should be proud of themselves. On arrival it was clean, warm and welcoming, with a lovely note and cake waiting for us. It was bigger than we expected and very well equipped, dont worry if you have forgotten anything because it is there, even a box of various mobile phone chargers. The back garden is lovely. The bedrooms were spacious, decorated lovely. The shower room complete with double shower and heated towel rail, plenty of hot water and clean towels. The kitchen has every utencil you need with a large fridge/freezer, excellent oven, washing machine and again plenty of hot water. The lounge is very cosy with its wood burning stove. The surrounding area is lovely with great views and plenty of walks to other lovely villages.
We would recommend this cottage to anyone and we will definately be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing