We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, thoughtful, and impecably clean”
other travellers have booked this property
Open Plan Living/Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open Plan Living/Dining Area
Lounge Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Open Plan Living/Dining Area
Lounge
Dining Area
Master bedroom with ensuite
2nd Bedroom
Deck off Master bedroom
Exterior
The Monument, Lake Manapouri
Pearl Harbour, Doubtful Sound departure point, Manapouri
Wilmot Pass looking into Doubtful Sound
Waiau River, Manapouri
Tui feeding on flax flowers
Lake Manapouri from Scenic Circle Track
Fur Seals Doubtful Sound
Fiordland Crested Penguins, Doubtful Sound
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Manapouri, Southland Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona L
Seaham, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable, thoughtful, and impecably clean”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There's alwasy one place where you wish you'd booked another few nights. This is one. Beuatifully decorated. You can lay back on the lounge or spead out at the table. It's also a place where you can get back into the kitchen after getting sick of 'eating out' for weeks whilst away from home. You can cook outdoor in the BBQ or stay inside. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and even has plastic wrap for the left overs. There is a small but wide range of books, games and videos if the weather closes in too. Its a short walk to the ferry terminal and a short walk to the coffee shop and a Thai restaurant. A bit longer walk along the lake to the tavern, but still nice to do for dinner. I'd have loved to stay longer and use it as a base to do more walking. Glad we stayed here rather than the very busy Te Anau.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thanks for the great feedback. We purpose built our two Motu-au Close Cottages (16 & 18) on individual sections and set them up so can feel like they are staying in a home. Glad you liked No 16 and love to see you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All the conveniences of home”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We only stayed one night- quite suitable - near the ferry parking area. The place would be more suited to a longer stay - very well appointed. friendly and helpful owner - suggested a good drive and walk.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thanks for your feedback and we welcome you back for a longer stay to enjoy the cottage and more of Fiordland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NETRA2016
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT COTTAGE”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

has a stop on the way back from Milford sound.Great place if you want one night break in Manapuri. Friendly Owner and the location of house is awesome.Only 1 thing Didn't like was there was no WiFi in the house anyway all good to manage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thanks for your feedback, yes we agree getting wi-fi into the cottage would be a great asset to guests and we are working on a solution currently.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, my sister, her partner and I stayed at this beautiful cottage for two nights from 11th to 13th October. The accommodation was tastefully furnished and as presented on the internet. It was ideal for two couples with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable and every amenity was provided. It was an ideal location to venture out on Doubtful Sound, the glow worm caves and trips to Te Anu and Invercargill. I was very impressed with the professionalism and helpfulness of Jess and really appreciated her timely responses to all emails. I look forward to returning in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thanks Helen for the great feedback and we look forward to having you stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamaletow...
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL place to stay - great kitchen, well equipped and spotless!”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely LOVED our stay in this great home! It is ideally set up for two couples, although we were only one couple staying! It is sunny, spacious and spotlessly clean. It was great to come off a multi-day hike, and be able to clean our clothes in the washer supplied (even with washing powder!).

Both bedrooms have their own bathroom, which is lovely. The bathrooms are small, but functional.

The kitchen was really the highlight. VERY well equipped, and utterly LOVED the fact that coffee beans and a grinder were supplied! (and a coffee plunger, too, of course). Also a good selection of spices, and even flour!

From here, we could just walk down to the jetty where we picked up our Doubtful Sound cruise, which was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing