We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path, other-wordly experience, worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madulkelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Absolutely incredible. Unfortunately we only stayed one night as we had to be back in Colombo. This place is other-worldly. Most beautiful place I've ever seen. Worth every second of the slightly harrowing trip up to Madulkelle. We arrived at night and the night sky is totally unspoiled- I felt like I was in a planetarium. Woke up to endless green valley and mountains with a cloud of mist snaking through the mountains. Had a lovely breakfast with the freshest tea possible (picked on site) with the same view in the impeccably designed and decorated lodge. Had a fabulous walk through the plantation and neighbouring village with a local man named Kumar. Kitsiri welcomed us with a smile when we arrived late at night. The next day he managed to arrange our travel from Madulkelle to Colombo through Kandy even though we changed our plans numerous times. Sunny, the driver who works with the transport service used by the hotel was excellent- driver-cum-naturalist, who was able to point all sorts of fruit and spice trees on our drive down.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 187 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2016

We rode up to the Madulkelle Eco Lodge later in afternoon. The reception and bar area are great with many vistas across the pool, gardens and tea plantation. We had set menu and did find the food pleasant but not exceptional for dinner or breakfast. Pork chops were very over done and would have been nicer with a thicker single one than 2 thin chops. Drinks are on high end of price range with tax's.

The eco lodge tents are very well appointed with a bathroom at rear of bed area. There is a switch for the lighting in the bathroom area but is up high and harder to find to make room dark. Bed was very comfortable but then I like firm bed. Each room has balcony and is very relaxing to just sit and look at views.

Staff are very polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Lower and higher room numbers can be a long walk to restaurant, etc. Only WIFI in bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter_B_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Due to a postponed visit we arrived late to the lodge which is a pity as it is an amazing place. We arrived on Valentine’s Day and were treated to an appropriately themed dinner; everything was heart shaped and the food and service were excellent.
Our tour around the plantation was informative and educative although my attempt at tea picking was less than successful. We also enjoyed the tea factory and subsequent tasting. We really enjoyed being here.
5*

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scroogeyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

This hotel is located at the top of the mountain, with amazing views at any corner of the hotel. The staffs are all warmly nice and friendly and the quality of the food is nice as well with reasonable price. I spent two nights at this hotel and wish I could be there for a bit longer, I didn't do anything when I was there but relaxed and enjoyed the view. Not far away from our room there was a waterfall, therefore every night the sound of the waterfall accompanied my dreams. It was an unforgettable experience for me and I sincerely wish I could visit there again in the short coming future.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Twiggy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

This place is absolutely adorable and beautiful. The staff - incredibly warm, helpful and nice - was perfect through and through as was the standard of the restaurant (almost) with very very reasonable prices and good quality food. This only seems fair though, as the climb up the mountain to this lodge takes between two and three hours (but only about an hour down) - who wants to make that trip once you are up there, only to have dinner? Not us anyway.
The grounds are placed in a heritage tee plantation with luxury tents as the only option of occomodation. This is charmingly old school and elegant (except for when there's no hot water) and the views is absolutely breathtaking (no comparison at all), but if you - as us - are not crazy about bugs and critter, do remember to close all of you bags etc. airtight shut as above will invade all of you belongings (trust me!). And don't forget your earplugs - otherwise the howls and cries of first stray dogs as well as other wild life and secondly nearby living chickens will respectively keep you up and wake you at the crack of dawn.
All in all we would highly recommend Madulkelle to everyone with the small reservation, that if being at one with nature (which at least we felt like we were in despite of the luxurious surroundings) isn't for you, you might want to limit your stay to one or two nights.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frk_Rasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madulkelle
13.1 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
570 reviews
3.8 km away
Amaya Hunas Falls
Amaya Hunas Falls
#2 of 3 in Elkaduwa
416 reviews
16.3 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Green View Holiday Resort
5.9 km away
Ashburnham Estate
Ashburnham Estate
#1 of 3 in Elkaduwa
203 reviews
14.7 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge

Address: Madulkelle 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Madulkelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madulkelle
Price Range: RM816 - RM1,338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing