We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$133
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$455
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green View Holiday Resort(Elkaduwa)(Great Value!)
US$26
US$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$18/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oruthota Chalets(Digana)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kandy House(Amunagama)
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Cliff Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
505
158
34
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
158
34
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity pooltea fieldstea factorymain buildingsri lankawatch the sunrisehour hikeknuckles mountain rangehoneymoon suitetea pickerslocal communitybreathtaking viewsset menuunique experienceroad leadingnature loversamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We rode up to the Madulkelle Eco Lodge later in afternoon. The reception and bar area are great with many vistas across the pool, gardens and tea plantation. We had set menu and did find the food pleasant but not exceptional for dinner or breakfast. Pork chops were very over done and would have been nicer with a thicker single one than 2 thin chops. Drinks are on high end of price range with tax's.

The eco lodge tents are very well appointed with a bathroom at rear of bed area. There is a switch for the lighting in the bathroom area but is up high and harder to find to make room dark. Bed was very comfortable but then I like firm bed. Each room has balcony and is very relaxing to just sit and look at views.

Staff are very polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Lower and higher room numbers can be a long walk to restaurant, etc. Only WIFI in bar area.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter_B_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Due to a postponed visit we arrived late to the lodge which is a pity as it is an amazing place. We arrived on Valentine’s Day and were treated to an appropriately themed dinner; everything was heart shaped and the food and service were excellent.
Our tour around the plantation was informative and educative although my attempt at tea picking was less than successful. We also enjoyed the tea factory and subsequent tasting. We really enjoyed being here.
5*

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scroogeyeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

This hotel is located at the top of the mountain, with amazing views at any corner of the hotel. The staffs are all warmly nice and friendly and the quality of the food is nice as well with reasonable price. I spent two nights at this hotel and wish I could be there for a bit longer, I didn't do anything when I was there but relaxed and enjoyed the view. Not far away from our room there was a waterfall, therefore every night the sound of the waterfall accompanied my dreams. It was an unforgettable experience for me and I sincerely wish I could visit there again in the short coming future.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Twiggy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

This place is absolutely adorable and beautiful. The staff - incredibly warm, helpful and nice - was perfect through and through as was the standard of the restaurant (almost) with very very reasonable prices and good quality food. This only seems fair though, as the climb up the mountain to this lodge takes between two and three hours (but only about an hour down) - who wants to make that trip once you are up there, only to have dinner? Not us anyway.
The grounds are placed in a heritage tee plantation with luxury tents as the only option of occomodation. This is charmingly old school and elegant (except for when there's no hot water) and the views is absolutely breathtaking (no comparison at all), but if you - as us - are not crazy about bugs and critter, do remember to close all of you bags etc. airtight shut as above will invade all of you belongings (trust me!). And don't forget your earplugs - otherwise the howls and cries of first stray dogs as well as other wild life and secondly nearby living chickens will respectively keep you up and wake you at the crack of dawn.
All in all we would highly recommend Madulkelle to everyone with the small reservation, that if being at one with nature (which at least we felt like we were in despite of the luxurious surroundings) isn't for you, you might want to limit your stay to one or two nights.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frk_Rasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the luxury tents and exquisite meals at this Tea & Eco Lodge. Our group of ten also arranged a cooking demonstration and took the Tea Tour and guided hike. All were superb. It did get windy at times during the night but I found listening to the roaring hill winds intriguing. Others in our party complained they got no sleep one night so maybe be prepared with earplugs or noise canceling headphones.
The altitude made for much more comfortable temperatures. A refreshing break from the near equatorial heat.
The chef provided us wonderful vegetarian curries and everything else on the menu was superb too.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank BonsaiBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews