We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural experience in pure nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais du Silence - Auberge Les Ecureuils
Ranked #1 of 1 Valcebollere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Auberge Les Ecureuils. The surrounding at the very end of a valley is exceptional. The village is very charming and consists of approx. 35 houses. A good place for nature and dog lovers (dogs are moving freely everywhere - hotel and village - and are welcome at the hotel as well).
The hotel itself is in need of a little renovation (rooms & toilets) and more attention to details. That also goes for the service, which is mainly provided by poorly skilled employees. It's a pitty especially for the restaurant as the food is quite good but due to the lack of attention and skills, it's not really a pleasant experience (e.g. it is not possible to order a glass of wine at the restaurant - only a bottle (!), although you can do so at the bar, which is approx. 30m further away. With half board there is no choice with your dinner menue. Either you like it, or you leave it.....). The problem is, that the owners are very little present & available for their guests since they work in the kitchen, or are busy with excursions. It is sadly to say that management and customer service are missing to make clients feel good and taken care of.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croquette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is very homely, and we got the sense the owners take great pride in it. The dining room is particularly nice, and the little lounges are also great for sitting and reading. The swimming pool looks great (didn't get time to use it) while the bedroom we stayed in was very comfortable. All our meals were wonderful, and we also had a great picnic provided by the hotel when we went off walking to a local Col. All in all very good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing south with a lovely four poster king sized bed (at no extra cost) which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Myself and my civil partner stayed here for 2 weeks(14 nights) this August, basing our walking in the entire area of the Pyrennees. The proprietor was not unfriendly, he was VERY busy. There was no hint of homophobia, there was no hint of discourtesy. Mr and Mrs Lafitte were very professional and the young staff were excellent. The hotel dogs were lovely and a part of the family. Mrs. Lafitte helped me arrange a surprise bottle of champage for my partner, and the dessert had candles on it, which I had not ordered. I can completely refute any negative reviews of this establishment, which had, to be honest, scared us off, but we WILL be back. Of note, the food was superb, and the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pomlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Just got back from a fabulous week staying at Les Ecureuils. This was my seventh visit and fifth New Year's Eve. We took our three daughters and their spouses and five grandchildren (aged 6 years to 16year old twins) Patricia and Etienne Lafitte were as always wonderful hosts and despite this year's lack of snow for cross country skiing we still managed snow-shoeing on raquettes and plenty of sunny walks around the village and mountains. As usual the New Year's Eve banquet was fabulous, smoked salmon and caviare, lobster tails, venison and the remarkable Gateau Montagne complete with fireworks plus cheese, sorbet, pineapple etc We were pleased that Etienne and Patricia now begin the banquet at 7:30 rather than the 9:30 start which would have been problematic with the kids. We had a great party and a wonderful holiday which we will all always remember. No doubt we'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This place is a dream! After reading so many other positive reports we decide to stay one night on the way to Spain. What a pity we didn´t arrange to stay for more!. The location , the hotel, and the food!!!! We stayed in room K, a large well furnished room with a lovely view. Apart from the friendly service by the owners, we can recommend it for anyone who is a gastronomic fanatic. The menu at Euros 30 is outstanding value. How they manage to prepare such exquisite food at that low price, in a place in the middle of nowhere is beyond me. The best thing is to go and try it; you wont be disappointed. A perfect location for anyone who loves peace and quiet, walking in the forests and eating great food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardtoplease002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Relais du Silence - Auberge Les Ecureuils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais du Silence - Auberge Les Ecureuils

Address: Carrer Gorro Blanc, 66340 Valcebollere, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Valcebollere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valcebollere
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais du Silence - Auberge Les Ecureuils 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Relais du Silence - Auberge Les Ecureuils reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing